Library Guides: Teaching (Early Childhood): Early learning resources (digital)

Digital resources for young learners

Are you designing learning activities?

The following digital resources are provided by the Library and are suitable for young children

Our teacher librarians have created a guide for each resource to enable you to quickly integrate them into your learning designs.

Tumblebook library premium
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which assist in teaching early learners reading in an online media format. This comprehensive library of online books comes with lesson resources and interactive activities to accompany each story.

Tumblebook Library quick start guide

Story Box Library
Imagine the best stories being read aloud to you by our favourite storytellers – well that's Story Box Library! We get kids excited about reading, inspire their imaginations and let them have fun with stories, improving their language and literacy skills along the way. With an ever-growing library, suitable for preschool and primary aged children, it really is Storytime, Anytime!

Story box user guides and promotional resources

Streamed video for the classroom

Streamed videos from the Library can be incorporated into your lessons during placement or used for your own learning. The videos play immediately and are accessible 24/7

How to find streamed videos

Search the Library catalogue and limit results to online videos
Alternatively, search these databases for streamed videos:

Kanopy This platform provides diverse streamed video content including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading distributors and film-makers. It includes content suitable for K-12 lessons and teacher education development resources.
Education in Video (Alexander Street Press) is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Alexander Street Video offers video, audio and text-based resources covering an extensive range of subjects. This site allows users to cross-search the content purchased by the University of Melbourne Library (including Education in Video).
EduTV provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia.

New to streaming media?

Want to know how to create short clips for your classroom?