Fiction and non-fiction for learning activities

The board books are located at the north end of level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library near the Australian Indigenous Knowledges Collection we have shelved them together for easy browsing. 
In the Library catalogue you can limit results to the board book collection (part of the curriculum collections). You will also find some board books in the Australian Indigenous Knowledges Collection.

What are board books?

Board books are a type of durable, thick-paged book designed for very young children, typically from infancy to toddlerhood. The pages are made from stiff cardboard making them easier for little hands to handle and less prone to tearing compared to traditional paper books.
Board books support early literacy development, this format is designed for:

• Durability: Board books mostly withstand being chewed, dropped, or torn, allowing young readers to explore books physically without damaging them (too much).
• Simple content: Board books usually contain simple, easy-to-understand content, with minimal text and engaging pictures.
• Interactive features: Many board books include interactive elements like flaps to lift, textures to feel, or even simple moving parts, making them engaging and encouraging sensory development.
• Introducing books: board books help establish early familiarity with reading, contributing to early language development and literacy skills. The combination of pictures and simple text encourages vocabulary building, pattern recognition, and comprehension.
• Promoting parent-child interaction: Reading board books together fosters bonding between caregivers and children, and the repetitive language patterns, rhymes, and rhythms common in board books support language acquisition.

More keyword search examples

• ("board book" or "board books") and family
• ("board book" or "board books") and (counting or numbers)
• ("board book" or "board books") and (indigenous)
• ("board book" or "board books") and (koala* or kangaroo*)
• ("board book" or "board books") and (Australia* and animal*)

Enter your topic keywords.  You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection, Picture Books, Junior fiction collection or Kits collection.

Note: the Junior fiction collection is aimed at readers ages 8-18 - select this option if you want to find Young Adult fiction