Australian Indigenous Knowledges Collection
About the collection
This print-based collection makes it easy to access works by Australian First Nations authors to support embedding Indigenous knowledges and perspectives in the curriculum. The collection contains more than 500 titles including: theoretical titles; non-fiction; as well as fiction and picture books suitable for the classroom and early learning settings.
The items in this collection have either been authored by Indigenous Australians or Indigenous Australians have contributed to the development of resource content.
The collection is located at the north end of level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.
How to explore the collection
- Search the collection (using the suggested techniques below)
- Access our themed booklist guide - to browse booklists for the Indigenous Knowledges Collection - there are suggested titles for readers of all ages from early childhood to secondary students
- Recommendations for new items can be sent to Educ-librarians@unimelb.edu.au
Library Catalogue: Searching for resources by First Nations Australians
Add your search terms and try filtering to different collection options using the drop-down menu
1. the Australian Indigenous Knowledges Collection (print only).
2. search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections (this will find material in the Australian Indigenous Knowledges Collection and resources in other formats that may be in the kit collection)
3. searching the entire collection will locate material in ebook or streamed video formats, and allows you to locate specific titles.
4. for early childhood and primary school aged readers, Storybox Library, offers a wide range of digital storybooks by Australian authors, search for First Nations to access over 46 titles such as 'Welcome to Country' read by Aunty Joy Murphy
Indigenous Australian Knowledges & Perspectives
When view library catalogue records you will see a range of signposts that indicate that the material has been written or illustrated by Indigenous Australians and offers First Nations perspectives
-
information about creators of the work including their Country
-
acknowledgement within the title, e.g. Turtle Dreaming: a story from Maningrida Community / Ndjebbana people with Liz Thompson
-
published by Indigenous publishing house e.g. Magabala Books
-
Descriptive summaries: e.g. Counting our Country in Arnhem Land. This is a bilingual counting book from Jill Daniels, an Indigenous artist who lives in SE Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory. Jill's paintings of animals found on her country celebrate her distinctive style and playful use of colour. Children will love counting the animals from 1 to 10. Each page features the name of the animal in Ritharrngu, Jill's Aboriginal language, and in English. A guide on 'How to pronounce the Ritharrnu animal names' appears at the back of the book and encourages readers and young children to see if they can say them. Counting our Country recognises the value of developing cultural literary by introducing Indigenous language and art in the early years. It will be loved in homes and libraries throughout Australia.
-
Language descriptors in subject headings: eg Ritharrngu / Ridharrngu language group (N104) (NT SD53-07)
-
Notes: includes a guide on 'How to pronounce the Ritharrnu animal names' at the back of the book.
If more clarity is needed you can explore the shelves and examine a book to check for signposts
Magabala Books
Magabala Books is the oldest Indigenous publishing house in Australia. It is a highly respected publishing house, which preserves and promotes Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures through a variety of genres.
Further reading about Magabala Books: Indigenous picture books offering windows into worlds by Ambelin Kwaymullina
Click here to view all Magabala titles available for loan from our Library Curriculum Collections.