Skip to main content

Japanese Studies and Language

Resources for study and research in Japanese, including books, journals, and more.

Introduction

Welcome to the Japanese Studies Subject Research Guide

Your subject librarians have designed this guide to highlight online resources at the University of Melbourne Library that are relevant to Japanese Studies. 

This guide is intended to be a starting point for your research. For a more comprehensive list of Library resources for this subject please visit the A-Z eJournals and Databases website.

Quick start

Searching tips

Tips on how to search for Japanese resources:

When using the UniMelb library catalogue:

  • search using either Romanised Japanese or in Japanese text. If using Romanisation, follow the Modified Hepburn Romanization System and don't include long vowels. For example, type in "benkyo" rather than "benkyou" or "benkyoo". For more information, check the Hepburn Romanization chart (this will open in a new window).
  • use a keyword search for preference.
  • type in Japanese characters.

There are more specific search tips under each of the sections of this guide. 

Japanese Language Learning

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Journal Articles

Core Arts and Humanities databases (try these first):

The databases below are multidisciplinary so you can expect lots of results from different subject areas.

Japanese Studies-specific journal databases:
For more focused results try searching in one of these subject-specific databases.

Finding articles in Japanese

It is rare to find full text articles in Japanese. The best way to obtain articles is to search the following indexes; please note that the full-text may not be available for all articles. If a full-text link is not included, you may be able to request the article via Inter-Library Loan (this will open in a new window). Please type in Romanization for the Japanese language input details.

 
Why are there so few full text Japanese articles online?

Good question! It is possibly because the Japanese publishing industry is very conservative. There is more open sharing in academia, primarily science and technology fields but it is still nowhere near as open as the Western publishing industries. You can start your search by visiting CiNii Articles, which offers a useful index of academic papers with some available as full-text.


Print journals

The library also holds Japanese periodicals (or journals) in print as part of the East Asian Collection at the ERC, including:

Browse eJournals on Browzine:

Click on the button below to view a selection of online Japanese Studies eJournals that the Library holds (this will open in a new window). For a complete list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page.

Books

The Library Catalogue can help you find books
 

To find books on a particular subject, use a keyword search on the Library Catalogue. For example:

 

Meiji Restoration

Japanese media

Shintoism

legal reform

 

Keyword searching often retrieves a large number of results. These four techniques can help you focus your search:

 

AND

Narrows your search

E.g. Japanese AND media

OR

Expands your search

E.g. legal OR law OR judicial

 

" "

Searches for an exact phrase

E.g. "Meiji Restoration"

*

searches for variant endings

E.g. Shinto* = Shinto, Shintoism, Shintoist

 

The video below (3:47 mins) explains how you can use these advanced search techniques to quickly find relevant books and ebooks in the catalogue:

 

You can also find books on similar topics through the subject headings in item records. Click on  these headings to view related subjects around your area and the all the books that the library has related to that subject. The image below shows where you can find subject headings.

 

 

Screenshot of how to use subject headings in the library catalogue

Looking for a book but we don't have it or it's not on our shelves?

 

Logo of BONUS+

Request books from other universities through the BONUS+ catalogue and collect them from any Unimelb branch library.

Visit the BONUS+ webpage for more info.

Inter-library Loans

University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s inter-library loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms.

 

Logo of CAVAL

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other Unis and TAFES. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card.

You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.

 

Japanese print books in the East Asian Collection

Japanese language materials are spread over several libraries, and most are kept in the East Asian Collectionwhich consists of both print and electronic research materials in Chinese, Japanese and Korean languages. This collection mainly covers the areas of arts and humanities, social sciences and architectural history. Print materials are kept on the 4th floor of the Eastern Resource Centre (ERC) Library.

Architecture, Building and Planning Library

Books on Japanese architecture

ERC Library

Media Collection: DVDs, videos

Giblin Eunson Library

Japanese language teaching books, DVDs and other resources

Law Library

Books on Japanese law

Government Documents

Newspapers

Primary Sources

Websites

General advice on looking for websites

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Citing and referencing

Need help with your referencing? Click on the button below:
How to reference Japanese resources

There are some standard principles for referencing Japanese language resources, whichever referencing style you might be asked to use. The following examples will be based on the APA referencing style, which is most commonly used style in Arts and Humanities studies. You can get further help by contacting your subject librarian.

APA referencing style example: American Psychological Association (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington D.C: Author.

 

 

Example of how to reference a Japanese language book in APA style. Main difference: Japanese book title in Romanization and italicized, capitalizing the first word, full stop. Then the translation of the book title in English in square brackets, full stop. Refer to Re:Cite for more on APA referencing style.

 

 

Example of how to reference a book section or chapter in a Japanese language book in the APA style. Main differences: Japanese book section or chapter title in Romanization and italicized, capitalizing the first word, full stop. Then the translation of the title in English in square brackets, full stop. Add the word "In" followed by the editor/s' names per APA convention, comma, title of the book in Romanization and italicized, capitalizing the first word. Refer to Re:Cite for more on APA referencing style.

 

 

Referencing Japanese language journal articles: Romanise the title of the article capitalising the first word and adding its translation in English in square brackets afterwards. Then romanise the title of the journal or publication, italicising it and capitalising all the words except connecting words. Refer to Re:Cite for more on APA referencing style.

Learn how reference management software can help you with referencing:

JAPN20009/30010

Click the link below to view a list of available resources for the JAPN20009/30010 classes:

Contact us

Contact your subject librarian

Ayako Rankins

Japanese Studies

ayako.rankins@unimelb.edu.au


Talk to a Librarian, Academic Skills adviser, or get help with Maths and Stats at a Study and Learning drop-in session:

Ask a question on Library Chat

Visit us on social media