Library Guides: Medicine: Journals

Journals

The library subscribes to a rich collection of medical and life science journals to support research and teaching in the faculty. Virtually all of these journals are now available through the Internet and growing archives of back issues are being added.

Journal Articles

Inter-library loans are available for graduate students and staff for items not held within the University of Melbourne library.

E-Journal List Find journals by title or subject. You can search for titles by the full title or PubMed abbreviation.

Journal Searching

Many alternative search engines can be used for locating journal articles, all with links to full articles where available.

Discovery
The Discovery service combines a wide variety of search engines with the library catalogue to enable searching of books, articles, news reports and other formats. There are multiple refinement options available, results are sorted by relevance and advanced searching is available. Many items link directly to full articles and e-resources.

Web of Science
Link is to Web of Science Core Collection. Provides access to a number of discrete search engines including Web of Science Core Collection, Medline, Global Health and Current Contents. The search engines can be searched together as All Databases, with some loss of search functionality, or separately. Result pages give advanced refinement options and links to similar articles, cited and citing references. In the Medline search engine, detailed subject searches can be performed with the MeSH subject headings.
Scopus (Elsevier)
The Scopus search engine covers over 14,000 journals, web search and patent search. Includes the full content of PubMed/Medline and Embase. Results pages include various refinement options, advanced author searching and links to similar articles, cited and citing references.
PubMed
PubMed provides a public interface for the Medline database of over 12 million articles since 1950. Search using an easy interface which matches your terms to appropriate subject headings and automatically identifies author and journal names or search specifically with the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) system. Although PubMed can be searched at it's public site, this link includes article links to the Library SourceIt system and searching is performed on the University's authentication server so that links to subscription only content will open easily.
Ovid (Ovid)
Hundreds of journals and e-books. Search Medline, Embase and HAPI.
EMBASE
This links to the Ovid service in the Embase file. Medline can also be added or searched separately using the Ovid service. Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database .
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is searchable through the University's authentication server via this link. It brings together items from a variety of academic sources and includes the PubMed database as one of it's sources. Results are sorted according to Google's relevancy criteria which incorporates citation counts and the location of terms in the item.
Health Collection (Informit)
Australian specific full article database containing articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and case studies. Over 60,000 items available from 200 sources.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete
It provides over 7000 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. . Click Choose Databases from the search screen to add additional searchable content including CINAHL, Medline with Full Text, Psychology & Behavioural Sciences and SPORTDiscus with Full Text.

Medicine

Journals

Journal Articles

Key Journals