School Level Textbooks

The Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) is the certificate that the majority of students in Victoria receive on satisfactory completion of their secondary education. The VCE provides diverse pathways to further study or training at university or TAFE and to employment. It is managed by VCAA.

Some schools offer the IB as an alternative to VCE

VCE VET programs are VET qualifications approved by the VCAA following consultation with schools, industry and training providers.

The Victorian Pathways Certificate (VPC) is an inclusive Year 11 and 12 certificate designed to meet the needs of students who require a more individualised and flexible program for their last two years of secondary schooling.

Fifteen senior secondary subjects across English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography have been endorsed by the council of federal, state and territory education ministers as the agreed and common base for the development of state and territory senior secondary courses. State and territory curriculum, assessment and certification authorities are responsible for determining how the Australian Curriculum content and achievement standards are to be integrated into their courses.

A comprehensive guide to Australian plants, fungi, and animals. Contains photos, descriptions, distribution maps and observations. Users can view maps showing species distribution of their local area.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library provides students and scientists with a wide range of biodiversity information.

Biology Online, information in the life sciences in the form of tutorials, references and an online dictionary of biology terms. A great resource for students from Year 7-12.

Biology Online, information in the life sciences in the form of tutorials, references and an online dictionary of biology terms. A great resource for students from Year 7-12.

This US based site is designed as a VCE Level resource about biology. It has learning and teaching resources.

This US based site is designed as a VCE Level resource about biology. It has learning and teaching resources.

Doc Brown's chemistry clinic for online chemistry revision. Although this site centres around UK science courses, the study notes and revision quizzes should prove useful for chemistry revision of any science course taken by 11-18 year old school students. This page, in particular, has advanced level chemistry revision notes and exercises (suitable for Year 11-12 students).

This site is the gateway to what is happening in chemistry in Australia. RAC is both the qualifying body in Australia for professional chemists and a learned society promoting the science and practice of chemistry in all its branches.

Cool Australia is a leading not-for-profit dedicated to supporting teachers with high quality teaching tools, resources and professional development courses.

Information on environmental issues including climate change, deforestation, nuclear power, overfishing and more. Includes video, audio and photo stories.

Lesson plans and activities

AllPsych Online is one of the largest and most comprehensive psychology websites on the Internet. The main sections of the site are psychology texts, reference, psychiatric disorders, journals, tests, research and games.

Find psychology articles, student resources, and psychology study guides. Explore psychology terms and theories. Learn more about the history of psychology from biographies of major thinkers and timelines.

A comprehensive and up to date website devoted to all things physics related.

Contains a collection of workshops, lessons and online activities in Physics. Includes some public access areas as well as members only areas.