Library Guides: Biomedical Research Translation: Databases

Biomedical and Science Resources

Australian Webinar from Cortellis. This webinar was recorded on 24th August 2021 for Australian customers of Cortellis Drug Discovery Intelligence and Drug Research Advisor.
- Accelerating the Drug Discovery Pipeline with the Cortellis Suite (42 min)
- Cortellis suite of products (01:00)
- New product features (09:45)
- Demonstration of Drug Research Advisor (11:00)
- Demonstration of Drug Discovery Intelligence (19:50)
- Summary of product features and uses (34:10)
- Roadmap for future features (37:30)
- Q & A (39:00)

Cortellis Competitive Intelligence
Requires registration. Cortellis provides information on thousands of drugs, patents and deals from pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies, industry news, conference coverages, clinical trials and regulatory information. Disease briefings gives market size estimates for 1,500 disease categories as well as information on the current therapeutic options. The University has access to the Competitive Intelligence, Disease Briefings and Regulatory Intelligence modules.
Cortellis Drug Discovery Intelligence
Integrates biological, chemical and pharmacological data from various sources for drug discovery purposes
Drug Research Advisor
Integrates drug, biological, experimental and competitive intelligence into a single search tool to assist target identification. Note this product requires registration. Details for registering are on the database record.
Reaxys
Reaxys incorporates three databases, Crossfire Beilstein (organic chemistry), Crossfire Gmelin (inorganic chemistry) and Patent Chemistry, to form a single, fully integrated chemical workflow solution.

SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder-n includes: MethodsNow Synthesis which contains more than 5 million fully described synthesis methods and procedures, giving you step-by-step instructions on how to make the compounds important to your research; PatentPak which allows you to search through millions of patents sourced from more than 30 patent offices and instantly locate the chemistry within; Formulations information; Retrosynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities; Additional structure/reaction editor.

Business Resources

IBISWorld
Australia’s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Mintel Academic
Compiles and assesses critical market trends and developments in specific regions and industries
Mintel GNPD
Monitors product innovation and retail success in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide
Mintel Market Sizes
Market data for consumer industries across the world, including Australia and New Zealand
Passport
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
MarketLine Advantage
Access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world.
Fitch Connect
Industry and company intelligence covering global markets and 24 industry sectors.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest)
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries
Factiva
Access to the latest business and industry news. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.

Statistics and Markets

Drug Information

General Databases

Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.