Library Guides: Biomedical Research Translation: Patents

Patent Databases - Openly Accessible

AusPat - Australian Patent Office
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
Espacenet patent search
Espacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. The worldwide database contains information on published patent applications and granted patents from over 90 patent-granting authorities.

For information on how to use Espacenet go to the Espacenet help page
Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 87 million patent publications from 17 patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books.
USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
World Intellectual Property Organisation
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).

Dimensions
Dimensions is a linked research data platform. It includes global information about publications, grants, patents, clinical trials and policy documents. Dimensions can help anyone involved in research to get better knowledge about what is going on in their research area, and how this is changing over time.

SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder-n includes: MethodsNow Synthesis which contains more than 5 million fully described synthesis methods and procedures, giving you step-by-step instructions on how to make the compounds important to your research; PatentPak which allows you to search through millions of patents sourced from more than 30 patent offices and instantly locate the chemistry within; Formulations information; Retrosynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities; Additional structure/reaction editor.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.