Skip to main content

China & Hong Kong Legal Research Guide: Books, Journals & Theses

Recent Print & E-books on Chinese Law

Finding Journal Articles in English on Chinese Law

Journal article databases allow you to search hundreds of journal titles at the same time and is the most effective way to find relevant articles. These databases can provide indexes/abstracts and / or full text articles.

Articles on Chinese law are not only written in Chinese journals - so we recommend you use:

  1. Multijurisdictional legal databases - these contain mostly journals from 'western' common law jurisdictions such as the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, but include much written about Chinese law. These databases include content from thousands of journals and are the most effective research tool for journal articles from all jurisdictions.
  2. Chinese legal journal databases - these include far fewer journals than the major western journal databases, and often only titles and abstracts are accessible in English.
  3. Chinese academic journal databases - these contain not only legal journals, but are a good resource for articles on Chinese law. They include far fewer journals than the major western journal databases.

1. MULTIJURISDICTIONAL JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES 

  • INFORMIT platform (Australasian and Asian) - includes AGIS (law) (UniMelb staff & student access)
  • Legal Source (multijurisdictional) (UniMelb staff & student access) - combines the Index to Legal Periodicals with over 1,200 full text journals to provide coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals from the US, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
  • SSRN (multijurisdictional) (open access) - this database includes university research papers, and forthcoming articles and book chapters accepted for publication, and is the best source of very recent scholarship.
  • Westlaw UK (UK and EU journals) (UniMelb staff & student access) - includes:
    • Legal Journals Index- an index to over half a million more article abstracts from hundreds of journals 
    • 110 full-text legal journals
  • HEIN Online Law Journals (multijurisdictional) (UniMelb staff & student access) - this database contains full text articles from thousands of journals, all back to the first issue. It is the best source to use if you want to find older articles.
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (on HEIN Online) (UniMelb staff & student access) - multilingual index of articles appearing in legal journals published in jurisdictions other than the USA, the UK, Canada, and Australia. 
  • Asian Law Online (open access) - created and maintained by the Melbourne Law School Asian law Centre. Searchable database of citations. 
  • LegalTrac (UniMelb staff & student access) - provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Article title index only - no abstracts.

 

2. CHINESE LEGAL JOURNAL DATABASES (UniMelb staff & student access)

Westlaw China has over 2500 up to date articles in English written by judges and legal practitioners. Select Articles from the top menu bar. The database can be searched or browsed by topic.

PKU Law - the Law Journals database provides searching and table of contents browsing of leading Chinese law journals. In the English version of this database, only titles are provided, not full text articles.
 

3. CHINESE ACADEMIC JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES (UniMelb staff & student access)

China Academic Journals Full-text Database (CJFD) is the largest Chinese journal database in the world, containing the content of over 9000 journals. It is regularly updated and covers 10 major topic areas, including politics/military/law. Content is from 1951 onward, with some journals back to the first issue. In many cases, only abstracts and titles are in English - with the full text of the articles being in Chinese.                         

Finding Journal Articles in Chinese on Chinese Law

CHINESE LEGAL JOURNAL DATABASES (UniMelb staff & student access)

PKU Law - the Beida Fabao – China Law Journal Database is a specialised and continuously updated full text Chinese law journal article database containing over 100,000 articles. All issues of 35 domestic law journals and all tables of content of 6 core law journals are included. More on the Chinese version of the PKU Journals database. 

Westlaw China has over 5000 up to date articles in Chinese written by judges and legal practitioners. Select Articles from the top menu bar. The database can be searched or browsed by topic.
 

CHINESE ACADEMIC JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES  (UniMelb staff & student access)

China Academic Journals Full-text Database (CJFD) is the largest Chinese journal database in the world, containing the content of over 9000 journals. It is regularly updated and covers 10 major topic areas, including politics/military/law. Content is from 1951 onward, with some journals back to the first issue. In many cases, only abstracts and titles are in English - with the full text of the articles being in Chinese.  

Books on Chinese Law in Kluwer Law Online

Kluwer Law Online provides full text access to English content on Chinese law in the following subject areas:

Theses

  • China Doctoral Dissertations Full Text Database - a comprehensive database of doctoral dissertations and theses in China. The dissertations and theses are from over 300 doctoral training institutions across China, from 1999 onwards. This database includes law theses.
  • China Master's Dissertations Full Text Database - a comprehensive and continuously updated master theses database. It collects theses from over 600 master degree grantors across China, from 1984 onwards. This database includes law theses.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global - this database has the world's most comprehensive collection of higher degree theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the theses added since 1997.
 
For more information on finding higher degree theses from Chinese Universities, see the University of Melbourne Chinese Studies Research Guide Theses page.
 
For more information on finding higher degree theses on Chinese law from Universities outside China, use the University of Melbourne Finding Theses Research Guide.  
 

Individual Journal and E-journal Titles

Westlaw China has three full text journals in English

  • Journal of WTO and China - 2015 issues only
  • China Law - 1994-2011
  • China Oceans Law Review - 2010-2014

Below is a selection of other Chinese law print and e-journals journals held by the University Libraries. Print journals are located on Level 4 of the Law Library. To search for other specific titles, use the catalogue.

Bibliography of Books & Articles on Chinese Law

The Foreign Law Guide (UniMelb staff & student access) provides an alphabetical list of Chinese laws by topic - each topic includes a useful annotated bibliography of books and articles on the topic.