Databases
Which database should you use? Explore a selection of the available databases according to function.
- Core Education Databases
- Humanities Education Databases
- Cited reference searching databases
- Search tools for specific information needs and formats
Options for finding more databases.
- Are you looking for a database which focuses on a specific area of teaching e.g. Humanities Education?
Explore the full list of library guides for education, our learning area guides contain subject focussed database lists. - Find more titles by searching or browsing the A-Z ejournals and databases list
Core education databases (try these first)
The Education Library team has developed a core list of databases for locating journal articles and other sources for educational topics.
- Education Database (ProQuest)This easy-to-navigate education database covers primary-, secondary-, and higher education. It also covers special- and adult education. It includes more than 1000 top educational publications (800 in full text). About 75% of the publications covered are scholarly journals.
- Education Source (EBSCO)Education Source (replaces Education Research Complete) with improved coverage. Subject areas include early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, education policy, funding and social issues relating to education are covered. includes 2,095 active indexed and abstracted journals. 1,857 of them are peer-reviewed. This includes 56 active full-text journals from the Australia & New Zealand. This product also includes more than 4,100 full-text education-related conference papers and a collection of more than 390 videos from SimpleK12 to provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
- ERIC (EBSCO)ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (US department of education). Included is education research literature from journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses, book chapters and class programs (lesson plans and models).
- A+ Education (Informit)A strong Australian education research focus including educational policy, administration, curriculum, educational psychology. Sources include published and unpublished material, theses, book chapters, conference papers, journal articles. Indexing started from 1989 and full-text coverage started in 2000.
- AEI-ATSIS - Australian Education Index – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset (Informit)Australian Education Index includes materials in all levels of education. Journal articles, books, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, and web page information are provided. This is the subset of information relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.
Humanities education databases
Use these databases to locate journal articles and other sources relevant to your topic.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit)This Australian collection provides access to journals, books, conference proceedings and reports in arts, humanities and social sciences starting from 1940.
- Indigenous CollectionThis Australian database provides a multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary and global focus on both historical and current topical issues relating to Indigenous studies. It covers anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education and many other areas relevant to educational researchers.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCHOhost)This is a well-known global sociology database which overs more than 1300 core journals. Areas such as gender studies, social development, social psychology, sociological theory and many more are covered.
- SAGE - Science and Geography Education (Informit)Science And Geography Education (SAGE), produced by RMIT Publishing, is a bibliographic database that indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. SAGE covers practically all disciplines of knowledge, though the scientific ones are most heavily represented.
- JSTORThis database provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books and numerous seminal primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)Australian content APA-FT provides full text coverage of selected scholarly articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences and is produced by the National Library of Australia.
Cited reference searching
Citation tracking allows you to examine research trails and determine the number of times an article has been cited in other papers. It can also reveal connections between authors and other patterns of publication.
- Scopus (Elsevier)Scopus is a multidisciplinary database indexing peer-reviewed research literature, trade publications and book series. Coverage includes science, medicine, the social sciences, arts and humanities. Specialist features include cited reference searching.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science is another important interdisciplinary resource with 12,000 leading journals in the sciences and social sciences. Included sources are journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and access peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar offers cited reference searching.
Tools for specific information needs
Streamed videos and media
These databases have a specialist focus or provide access to a particular format of information, such as streamed media.
- Education in Video (Alexander Street Press)Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The video titles with hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- EduTV (Informit)This database provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia. Download is permitted for educational, research and personal use.
- Kanopy (Kanopy)Streamed video Kanopy provides streamed educational video at optimal quality to University of Melbourne staff and students.
- VideativesThe Videatives platform supports principles of child development and early childhood education. It provides short observational videos of children and accompanying text to create an integrated viewing experience (video + narrative = videative). The purpose of the platform is to make children's thinking visible and to capture what children know and how teachers can build from children's knowledge, to allow the mapping of theory to practice and the generation of theory from practice. You can find relevant videos by exploring: age categories (infants to 7 years); subjects headings; descriptive tags; and a search box.
Comparative education data
- OECD iLibraryThe online library of the OECD provides a gateway to its periodicals, books, working papers, policy papers, statistical databases and tables. The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) dataset forms a prominent part of this database.
Research resources
Including resources for research design, methods, proposals, project management.
- SAGE Research MethodsThis database offers research methods support to students learning to conduct research and to faculty while conducting research for publication. It offers more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles and videos to guide researchers. The Methods Map can help you find the best technique for your research.
- SAGE KnowledgeSAGE Knowledge offers a range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.