Humanities Education

The Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) is the certificate that the majority of students in Victoria receive on satisfactory completion of their secondary education. The VCE provides diverse pathways to further study or training at university or TAFE and to employment. It is managed by VCAA.

Some schools offer the IB as an alternative to VCE

VCE VET programs are VET qualifications approved by the VCAA following consultation with schools, industry and training providers.

The Victorian Pathways Certificate (VPC) is an inclusive Year 11 and 12 certificate designed to meet the needs of students who require a more individualised and flexible program for their last two years of secondary schooling.

Fifteen senior secondary subjects across English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography have been endorsed by the council of federal, state and territory education ministers as the agreed and common base for the development of state and territory senior secondary courses. State and territory curriculum, assessment and certification authorities are responsible for determining how the Australian Curriculum content and achievement standards are to be integrated into their courses.

Online episodes, clips, transcripts and teacher materials to support the ABC television show.

The Civics and Citizenship Education website contains resources, information, activities and links for teachers, students and parents involved in civics and citizenship education.

Provides relevant and engaging information about the three pillars of sustainability: social, economic and environmental.

The Geography Teachers' Association of Victoria (GTAV) provides links to various F - 12 geography resources. Perservice teachers can become GTAV members for free.

The Foodprint Melbourne research team has worked with the Geography Teachers' Association of Victoria to develop a set of teaching resources to support the 'Biomes and food security' unit of the Year 9 geography curriculum.

The website for the History Channel in the USA. Features episodes of various programs available online about historical events throughout Europe and America.

History Teachers' Association of Victoria (HTAV) provides links to various F-12 history resources via its member section. Perservice teachers can become HTAV members for free.

MoneyMinded is a financial education program which helps people make informed decisions about the use and management of their money.

The My Place is where students can explore one place on earth and the kids who have lived there since time began.

This website is maintained by John Larkin, who teaches history to secondary school students in New South Wales. There are resources for topics such as: The Vietnam War, Communism & Menzies, Aboriginal History and much more.

The Parliamentary Education Office (PEO) educates Australians about, and inspires their enthusiasm for, Australia’s parliamentary democracy. Through accessible, immersive, experiential programs and resources we foster informed, engaged and active citizens of all ages. Located in Australia’s Parliament House, we are leaders in civics and citizenship education.

Get support to teach about the Australian Parliament in your classroom with Parliamentary Education Office resources. We have printed publications, news for teachers, and videos and quizzes which support the Australian Civics and Citizenship Curriculum.

The Racism. No way! project aims to assist Australian school communities and education systems to recognise and address racism in the learning environment.

An advocate for social, political, civics and citizenship education.

Free resources to use in your classroom relating to the Sovereign Hill outdoor museum.

This page from the State Library of Victoria supports the teaching and learning of history from Levels 7 to 12. It has a range of resources, including activities and worksheets, as well as dedicated resource kits (units). Students can also delve into the ‘Explore history' section, which tells the stories of Victoria's social, political and cultural development with original documents and images that they can use in assignments.

Contains free UK history resources, devised by teachers, for teachers and teaching assistants in primary and secondary education for many subjects.

Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in more than 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

Official website for the federal government department responsible for Australia's international relations.

A comprehensive guide to global people-powered politics and decision-making.

A website dedicated to providing students with information and interdisciplinary learning opportunities on this complex phenomenon

The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community

This is an online workspace designed to serve the needs of elected officials, candidates, political party leaders and members, researchers, students and other practitioners interested in advancing women in politics.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) is an international, independent, medical humanitarian organisation that delivers emergency aid to people affected by armed conflict, epidemics, healthcare exclusion and natural or man-made disasters.

Homepage for the United Nations.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an organization that intends to supervise and liberalize international trade.

This section of the WWW Virtual Library system is an Internet directory of over 2000 selected, annotated links to content-rich and gateway sites in many international affairs, international relations, and international studies topics.

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organisation to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. This is a peer-reviewed academic resource.

This site is intended as a resource for students and teachers of Texts and Traditions.