Library Guides: Humanities Education: Media and curriculum resources

Where to find the curriculum and media collections

The Education Curriculum and Media Collections can be found on Level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.

Discover a range of resources to support your assessment tasks and placements: 3D-objects, models, toys, games, big books, board books, picture books, young adult fiction, DVDs, CDs, charts, pictures and multi-piece sets.

This guide also features streamed videos and digital resources you can access online and use within your teaching.

Library catalogue search for curriculum resources

Enter your topic keywords. You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection, Picture Books, Junior fiction collection or Kits collection.

Note: the Junior fiction collection is aimed at readers ages 8-18 - select this option if you want to find Young Adult fiction

Booking media collections and kits

Academics can book materials to be used in teaching for specific dates

To organise, please contact Fransie at fnaude@unimelb.edu.au

For more information regarding bookings or the types of media available refer to the Media Collections for Education library guide.

Streamed video for the classroom

Streamed videos from the Library can be incorporated into your lessons during placement or used for your own learning. The videos play immediately and are accessible 24/7

How to find streamed videos

Search the Library catalogue and limit results to online videos
Alternatively, search these databases for streamed videos:

Kanopy This platform provides diverse streamed video content including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading distributors and film-makers. It includes content suitable for K-12 lessons and teacher education development resources.
Education in Video (Alexander Street Press) is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Alexander Street Video offers video, audio and text-based resources covering an extensive range of subjects. This site allows users to cross-search the content purchased by the University of Melbourne Library (including Education in Video).
EduTV provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia.

New to streaming media?

Want to know how to create short clips for your classroom?