Print and eBooks on New Zealand Law
Waking the taniwha : Māori governance in the 21st century by Call Number: KM 208.431 L1 WAKIPublication Date: 2021
Redefining Citizenship in Australia, Canada, and Aotearoa New Zealand by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: International Academic Publishers, 2019
International Human Rights Law in Aotearoa New Zealand by Call Number: KM 228 INTEPublication Date: Thomson Reuters, 2017
New treaty, new tradition: reconciling New Zealand and Māori law by Call Number: KM 208.432 L1 JONEPublication Date: Victoria University Press, 2016
The principle of legality in Australia and New Zealand by Call Number: KL 35.1 K3 PRINPublication Date: Federation Press, 2017
The New Zealand Bill of Rights Act: A Commentary by Call Number: KM 201.2 L1 BUTLPublication Date: Lexis Nexis, 2nd ed, 2015- Environmental Law in New Zealand by Call Number: KN 94 L1 REEVPublication Date: Wolters Kluwer, 2015
Sentencing law and practice by Call Number: KM 587 L1 HALLPublication Date: Wellington LexisNexis NZ Limited, 2014.
Immigration and Refugee Law by Call Number: KM 176 L1 TENNPublication Date: LexisNexis NZ, 2nd ed, 2014
Indexes to articles in New Zealand Law Journals
When searching for journal articles on a particular topic, it is recommended that you start by searching indexing and abstracting services, followed by searches of full-text databases which contain many journals. Using these will locate articles on a particular topic, case or legislative provision, irrespective of in which journals the articles are published.
Indexes/Abstracts (UniMelb staff and student access only)
- Westlaw AustraliaThe New Zealand Legal Writing Index on Westlaw Au indexes all NZ law journals from the first issue. The index began in 1933, so is the best place to find older articles.
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit)AGIS Plus Text indexes NZ law journals from 1975 onwards. The list of journals indexed by AGIS is here. Alternatively, search all INFORMIT databases at once - journals on other databases often contain relevant New Zealand content. Go to INFORMIT and select all databases.
- The Index to Legal PeriodicalsIndex to Legal Periodicals indexes NZ law journals. Coverage begins in the 1980s. The list of journals indexed and their coverage is here.
Full-Text Articles
- SSRN eLibrarycovers all jurisdictions but has many articles and book chapters on New Zealand law. It is the best source of very recent scholarship.
- InformitThe New Zealand Collection on INFORMIT (UniMelb staff and student access) covers a range of subjects within a multidisciplinary context including business, education, humanities, Indigenous studies, law and social sciences. This full-text Collection contains journals of relevance to New Zealand and the Pacific region.
- NZLIIcontains open access full-text articles from all New Zealand law journals - these can be searched simultaneously or individually.
Yearbooks
The New Zealand yearbook of international law
- HeinOnlinevol 1 Jan 2004 +
- NZLIIvol 1 2004 + (open access)
Yearbook of New Zealand jurisprudence
- Gale OneFile: LegalTrac2008, 2010 & 2017
- New Zealand Collection (Informit)from 2007 volume: 10 until (and including) 2012 volume: 14
New Zealand Law Journals
The following is a selection of NZ law journals held by the Law Library. [Note: Unless otherwise stated access is available to Melbourne University students only].
Auckland University Law Review
- vol 1 1967 + on HeinOnline
- vol 9, 2002 + on AGIS Plus-Text (this database is the most up to date)
- 1968-1987; 2003 on NZLII (free online)
Australian and New Zealand Maritime Law Journal
- vol 1, 1983 + on HeinOnline (this database is the most up to date)
- vol 1, 1983 + AustLII (free online)
Canterbury Law Review
- 1980 + NZLII (free online)
Maori Law Review
- 1993 + on HeinOnline.
New Zealand Armed Forces Law Review
-
2001-2004, Vols. 5-9 (2001-2009) on HeinOnline (ceased publication)
New Zealand business law quarterly
- vol 1, 1995 + on Westlaw AU
New Zealand Journal of Employment Relations
- vol 29(2), 2004 + on AGIS Plus-Text;
- vol 25(3) 2003 + on the Journal's website (free online)
New Zealand Journal of Environmental Law
- vol 1 1997 + on HeinOnline
- vol 1 1997 + on AGIS Plus-Text.
- in print on level 4 of the Law Library (1997-2005)
New Zealand Journal of Public and International Law
- vol 1, 2003 + on HeinOnline
- vol 1, 2003 + Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
New Zealand Journal of Taxation Law and Policy
- vol 12, 2006 + on Westlaw International
- in print on level 4 of the Law Library (vol 14(1) - 22(4) 2008-2016)
New Zealand Law Journal
- vol 1, 1925 + on Lexis + Australia
- vol 4 (1928) - 2010 in print copy on level 4 of the Law Library.
New Zealand Law Review
- 1989 + on HeinOnline
- 2001 + AGIS Plus-Text.
New Zealand Universities Law Review
- in print on level 4 of the Law Library (vols 1-17; 1963-1997)
- vol 22(2) 2006 to current online on EBSCO
- vol 17 (1997) to current online on Westlaw International.
Otago Law Review
- vol 1, 1965 to current on HeinOnline
- vol 1 (1965) to vol 14 (2016) on NZLII (open access)
Te Wharenga: New Zealand Criminal Law Review (open access)
- Began in 2016. Published quarterly No volume numbering. All issues are available in full text on the journal website. Includes case notes and comments on legislation.
Victoria University of Wellington Law Review
- vol 1 1953 + on HeinOnline
- v.33, 2002 + on the Victoria University of Wellington Faculty of Law site (open access) (this database is the most up to date)
- 1998 + on NZLII (free online)
Waikato Law Review
- vol 1 1993 + on HeinOnline (this database is the most up to date)
- v.2, 1994 + on NZLII (free online)
- AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
- Victoria University of Wellington Faculty of LawVictoria University of Wellington Law Review
- New Zealand Universities Law Review (NZULR)Call Number: UniM Law Phard copy in the Law Library - Level 4
- New Zealand Journal of Employment RelationsWelcome to the New Zealand Journal of Employment Relations. This site is to act as an online resouce site and forum in which you can find up to date information on employment relations both within New Zealand and overseas.
The Journal is the essential guide to Employment Relations as it is in New Zealand and covers such topics as employment law and human resource management so it is a must for academics, students, researchers and policy makers.