Lessons from Grenfell Tower: The new building safety regime (Charlson and Dimka) - under General Texts or Access via the catalogue
Outcome-based Cooperation: In communities, business, regulation, and dispute resolution (Hodges) - under Project Procurement or Access via the catalogue
Contracts for Infrastructure Projects: An International Guide to Application (Loots and Charrett) Access via the catalogue
The International Compendium of Construction Contracts: A country by chapter review (edited by Greenham) - under International Projects or Access via the catalogue
Residential Construction Law (Britton and Bell) - under General Texts or Access via the catalogue
Construction Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution (Nazzini) - under Associated Issues or Access via the catalogue
Innovating Construction Law (Mason) - under Associated Issues or Access via the catalogue
Contract Administration for Construction Professionals - under General Texts or Access via the catalogue
Contracts for Construction and Engineering Projects (Charrett) - under Standard Form Contracts or Access via the catalogue.
FIDIC Contracts in Asia Pacific: A Practical Guide to Application (edited by Charrett) - under Standard Form Contracts or Access via the catalogue
Australian Standards - under Standards, Codes & Contract Forms or Access via the catalogue (see record for information about preregistration and FileOpen plugin that is required for this resource).
| Commentary and precedents & Construction Law Handbook. Access directly from the catalogue and from within Lexis+ Australia. | |
| Building and Construction Contracts in Australia (Dorter and Sharkey) | Online commentary on construction contracts. Access directly from the catalogue and from within Westlaw Australia. |
| Building Law in New Zealand | Up-to-date analysis of the law governing building and construction in New Zealand. Access directly from the catalogue and from within Westlaw Region: New Zealand. |
| Construction Law Made Easy (Minter Ellison) | Online encyclopaedia and 'constructionary' of construction law terms. |
| LexisPSL Construction |
Includes practice notes, checklists, precedents, cases, and access to certain FIDIC, JCT and other internationally used forms. |
i-law is the portal for the Informa suite of construction law products and includes:
Julian Bailey’s text Construction Law
Roger and Camilla ter Haar’s Remedies in Construction Law
Nicholas Gould and Victoria Russell’s Construction Law and Management
Building Law Reports
Construction Industry Law Letter
International Construction Law Review
Due to a platform upgrade at the end of 2023, there is a two-step process to access i-law resources. You need to login twice (first with UniMelb login, then i-law login) and then navigate (via the menu on the left-hand side) to the resources:
Login issues: Close the i-law tab, delete your browser cookies and clear the cache. Try logging in as above. If you still cannot login, email law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au
Please note: The library is working with the vendor to try to provide direct link access to individual titles.
| Australian Construction Law Bulletin |
| Australian Construction Law Newsletter |
| Building and Construction Law Journal |
| Buildlaw |
| Building Dispute Practitioners Society Newsletter - check the catalogue for availability. |
| Building Law Reports (on iLaw - once you have clicked on the link, you will need register first with your unimelb.edu.au email address, then you can login to access content) |
| Construction Industry Law Letter (on iLaw - once you have clicked on the link, you will need register first with your unimelb.edu.au email address, then you can login to access content) |
| Construction Law International (CLInt) (on Hein - searchable database with full text until most recent 2 years which is indexed with abstracts. For recent full text visit CLInt home page and follow Latest Issue and Previous Issues hyperlinks) |
| Construction, Economics and Building (formerly Australasian Journal of Construction, Economics and Building) |
| The Construction Lawyer |
| Construction Law Journal via Westlaw UK (No direct link to this title. When you have connected to Westlaw UK, search for the journal using the journal title in the search box at the top of the screen) |
| International Construction Law Review (on iLaw - once you have clicked on the link, you will need register first with your unimelb.edu.au email address, then you can login to access content) |
| International Journal of Law in the Built Environment (since 2018, the journal has been renamed ‘Journal of Property, Planning and Environmental Law’ and it has lesser coverage of construction law) |
| Journal of Legal Affairs and Dispute Resolution in Engineering and Construction The University catalogue links out through to the American Society of Civil Engineers Journals articles available from 2009 |
| Journal of the American College of Construction Lawyers via Westlaw - (no direct link to this title, once in Westlaw, select Secondary Sources. Under the heading 'By Topic' select 'Construction Law' and then select 'Journal of the American College of Construction Lawyers'. Use the search bar at the top of the screen to search this journal. |
| Journal of the Canadian College of Construction Lawyers via Westlaw and Westlaw Next Canada (no direct link to this title, when you have connected to Westlaw, search for the journal using the journal-title in the search box at the top of the screen) |
| Lloyds Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly (on iLaw - once you have clicked on the link, you will need register first with your unimelb.edu.au email address, then you can login to access content) |
| Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Management, Procurement and Law |
| American College of Construction Lawyers |  |
Journal access, information for members, general and events information. |
| Building Dispute Practitioners Society, Australia |  |
Event information, news, links/resources and member services. |
| Canadian College of Construction Law |  |
Information about the college, industry news and articles. |
| Society of Construction Law, Australia | |
News, member services, resources and information. |
| Society of Construction Law, Hong Kong |  |
Industry papers, information for members, general and events information. |
| Society of Construction Law, New Zealand |  |
News, member services, presentation papers, SCL rules. |
| Society of Construction Law, North America |
|
News, member services, resources and information. |
| Society of Construction Law, United Kingdom |  |
Papers, events, news, member services and information. Those studying or teaching at academic institutions can access papers for free. This webpage has more information about access for students and teachers. |
| Technology and Construction Court, England and Wales | |
Court forms, daily list and judgments. |
i-law has eBook versions of:
|
Construction Law by Julian Bailey |
Remedies in Construction Law by Roger and Camilla ter Haar
|
|
Construction Law and Management by Keith Pickavance
|
Construction Contract Variations by Michael Sergeant and Max Wieliczko
|
Once you have clicked on the link to the i-law publication, you will need to login with your unimelb.edu.au email address. For instructions on how to do this, go to the Commentary page of this guide.
Lessons from Grenfell Tower: The new building safety regime by
As a consequence of the Grenfell Tower fire, a building safety revolution is underway for construction and property professionals. This book analyses prior significant building fires and explains the new building safety regime including the Building Safety Act 2022 and the Building Safety Regulator.
Show Me the Bodies: How we let Grenfell happen by
Peter Apps exposes how a steady stream of deregulation, corporate greed and institutional indifference caused this tragedy. It is the story of a grieving community forsaken by our government, a community still waiting for change.
Hudson's building and engineering contracts by 
Construction claims by
This book is a valuable plain English guide for everyone in the construction industry, commercial or residential, lawyers, consultants, adjudicators and students.
Understanding construction law (2nd edition) by
This text will also be a valuable reference for individuals working in the construction industry. It illustrates how legal principles are applied in transactions, covering all Australian jurisdictions and including information on construction industry and practice. The author team combines in-depth experience in the construction industry, legal practice and academia to present an authoritative but readable and practical text with no assumed knowledge of law
The construction and performance of commercial contracts by
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Look for full text
Search Discovery
Search Trove
Add record to RefWorks
Cover Art
PRINTED BOOKS
Author Christensen, Sharon, 1966- author.
Title The construction and performance of commercial contracts / S A Christensen, W D Duncan.
Published Leichhardt, NSW : The Federation Press, 2018.
Location Call No. Status
UniM Law KN 10 K1 CHRI DUE 21-05-20
Edition 2nd editon.
Physical description lxv, 605 pages ; 25 cm
Notes Previous edition: 2014.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Other author Duncan, W. D. (William David), author.
Subject Contracts -- Australia.
Commercial law -- Australia.
ISBN 9781760021757
Summary
This book analyses the principles underlying the construction and application of a number of boilerplate and other clauses commonly included in commercial contracts.The second edition fully updates all case and statute law since publication of the first edition in 2014. Several chapters have been extensively revised and updated to incorporate analysis of significant High Court and superior court decisions concerning the construction of contracts, penalties and liquidated damages, and unfair terms. This edition adopts the same chapters and internal format as the first edition so as to maintain easy reader accessibility. The authors have endeavoured to maintain the high standard of legal analysis, extensive referencing and practical relevance favourably commented upon by a reviewer of the first edition in the Australian Business Law Review.This excellent new work provides substantial practical guidance for both general issues of construction of contracts but more particularly, to issues that arise in relation to the construction of specific clauses frequently encountered in commercial contracts.Key Features of the New EditionChapter 2 which explains the general principles and approach to contract construction has been considerably revised following the High Court's 2015 decision in Mount Bruce Mining Pty Ltd v Wright Prospecting Pty Ltd and subsequent seminal cases, including Simic v New South Wales Land and Housing Corporation (2016), Ecosse Property Holdings Pty Ltd v Gee Dee Nominees Pty Ltd (2017), Victoria v Tatts Group Ltd (2016), WIN Corporation Pty Ltd v Nine Network Australia Pty Ltd (2016) and Cherry v Steele-Park (2017). The key impacts of these decisions for contract interpretation and the use of extrinsic evidence are analysed and explained in detail.The material in each chapter relating to unfair contract terms has been significantly revised following the amendment of the Australian Consumer Law to prohibit unfair contract terms in small business contracts. Case law since 2014 examining the interpretive approach to unfair terms and application to small business contracts has been incorporated.Chapter 4 on liquidated damages and penalties has been extensively rewritten to take account of the High Court decision in Paciocco v Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (2016) with analysis of further case law and commentaries that have applied the principles in Andrews v Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited.The commentary on consumer guarantees has been updated to incorporate an analysis of the Federal Court decision in Valve Corporation v Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (2017) and a more extensive analysis of proportionate liability.Chapter 12 on notices has been extensively revised particularly taking into account the increasing body of case law about the sending and receipt of notices by electronic communication.
Construction Law in Australia by
Construction Law in Australia is an authoritative and accessible text on the law relating to building and construction in Australia and now appears in its fourth edition. Ian Bailey SC, working with a team of experienced practitioners, provides succinct, yet accurate, legal statements which explain the legal and practical context in which the industry operates. Key topics include: The Australian legal system Understanding the law Regulation of construction Participants in the industry Contract law Tort law Property law Procurement methodologies Key issues in construction contracts Standard forms Professional liability NEW - Insuring risk in construction projects Dispute avoidance, management and resolution Conduct of construction disputes In addition, the book outlines a wealth of resources to help readers understand the latest developments in each area. This highly respected title provides a comprehensive overview of the law and is an invaluable resource for students, legal practitioners and construction professionals including engineers, architects and builders.
Construction law, costs, and contemporary developments : drawing the threads together by 
Construction law : law and practice relating to the construction industry by 
Dictionary of Construction Terms by
The Dictionary of Construction Terms offers clear and concise explanations of the most commonly encountered legal and technical terms, phrases and abbreviations used throughout the construction industry. It will save valuable time when searching for an authoritative explanation of a frequently used term and will become a practical reference for construction lawyers, practitioners and students, as well as those in related industries including planning, property and insurance. Why you should buy this book: There is no other all-inclusive collection of legal and technical terms available at present Convenient source of information for lawyers, practitioners and students Includes a list of common technical acronyms (ie. DPC, DPM, FFL) Lists acronyms of common institutions such as the ICE, JCT and ACE Examples of definitions: Modular construction A modern construction method whereby the building is constructed using prefabricated or pre-assembled building sections or modules. The three-dimensional building sections are typically fabricated and assembled in an enclosed factory environment and then delivered to site, ready for installation. Modular construction is aimed at minimising construction time by standardising design components, providing consistent quality and allowing site preparation and building activities to commence concurrently with the construction of the factory-made modules. Snagging The process of formally inspecting the construction works to identify any incomplete works or defects in completed works. A snagging list (or 'punch list') is a schedule of defects resulting from this inspection. These items typically need to be rectified prior to the issuing of a completion certificate or handing-over of the works although in some cases a completion certificate will be issued with a snagging list attached.
Legal Aspects of Architecture, Engineering and the Construction Process by
The primary focus of this text is to provide a bridge for students between the academic world and the real world. This bridge is built through an understanding of what is law, how law is created, how law affects almost every activity of human conduct, and how legal institutions operate. Intended mainly for architectural and engineering students, but increasingly for those in business schools and law schools, this text features a clear, concise, and jargon-free presentation. It probes beneath the surface of legal rules and uncovers why these rules developed as they did, outlines arguments for and against these rules, and examines how they work in practice. Updated with the most recent developments in the legal aspects of architectural, engineering, and the construction processes, this text is also a valuable reference for practitioners and has been cited in over twenty-five court decisions. A new 2017 Update includes the latest changes regarding relevant industry associations, regulations, and codes of ethics. The supplement includes hard copies of AIA B101-2017; A101-2017; A101-2017, Exhibit A; and A201-2017. The book�s website has AIA A401-2017; EJCC C-520, C-700, and E-500; and the American Arbitration Association (AAA) Construction Industry Arbitration Rules.
Architects, engineers and the law by
Constructing a building is a complex legal as well as technical project. Consequently, architectural and engineering practice increasingly demands a sound understanding of planning and commercial law issues.Architects, Engineers and the Law has become the standard reference for architects, engineers and lawyers on the legal aspects of day-to-day architectural and engineering practice. J R Cooke provides clear concise explanations of the legal responsibilities of architects and engineers, and the consequences of the many legal processes and relationships part of the construction process.Twenty-six chapters coverContracts Tenders Employment relationships Budgets and estimates Progress certificates Statutory planning and building control Restrictions on land use Consent authorities and planning appeal tribunals Moral rights legislation Standards of professional conduct and care Consequences of breaches of professional duty and care. Architects, Engineers and the Law will enable you to proceed confident that you understand the legal responsibilities and consequences of your practice.
Building Law Encyclopaedia by
Building Law Encyclopaedia is a concise and authoritative reference, providing information in reasonable depth on an extensive number of legal terms, principles, phrases and issues that are commonly encountered in the construction industry. Most standard contracts are referred to, including the current suite of JCT Contracts, SBC, IC, ICD, MW, MWD, as well as ACA, PPC 2000, GC/Works/1 and NEC. In addition, some contracts which are theoretically out of date, but which are still in common use, are also covered. With over 1050 entries and numerous cross references, it will be an invaluable reference for architects, quantity surveyors, project managers and contractors. With detailed reference to appropriate case law and legislation, construction lawyers will also find it of considerable value in the course of their work.
Construction Law and Management by
Access through i-law. Construction Law and Management explains the state of design information appropriate to a given procurement route, and the need to identify risks and strategies for managing them. This handy desk side reference offers a comprehensive guide to construction law and management and is essential reading for anyone in the construction, architecture and engineering industries.
Building and construction claims and disputes by Construction contracts : principles and policies in tort and contract by 
Alliancing : a participant's guide : real life experiences for constructors, designers, facilitators and clients by 
The Application of Contracts in Developing Offshore Oil and Gas Projects by 
The Application of Contracts in Engineering and Construction Projects by 
Assessing the Performance Advantage of Public-Private Partnerships: A Comparative Perspective by
This timely book questions the premise that Public-Private Partnerships (PPPs) have a performance advantage over traditionally procured projects, an assumption that motivates policymakers worldwide to enter into such contracts. Taking stock of novel research comparing the differences in performance between PPP and traditionally procured infrastructure projects and services, the chapters in this book thoughtfully scrutinise this supposed advantage.
Collaborative Construction Procurement and Improved Value by 
EPC contracts and major projects : a guide to construction and other project contracts by 
Outcome-Based Cooperation by
How do we cooperate - in social, local, business, and state communities? This book proposes an Outcome-Based Cooperative Model, in which all stakeholders work together on the basis of trust and respect to achieve shared aims and outcomes. The Outcome-Based Cooperative Model is built up from an extensive analysis of behavioural and social psychology, genetic anthropology, research into behaviour and culture in societies, organisations, regulation, and enforcement. The starting point is acceptance that humanity is facing ever larger risks, which are now systemic and even existential. To overcome the challenges, humans need to cooperate more, rather than compete, alienate, or draw apart. Answering how we do that requires basing ourselves, our institutions, and systems on relationships that are built on trust. Trust is based on evidence that we can be trusted to behave well (ethically), built up over time. We should aim to agree common goals and outcomes, moderating those that conflict, produce evidence that we can be trusted, and examine our performance in achieving the right outcomes, rather than harmful ones. The implications are that we need to do more in rebasing our relationships in local groupings, business organisations, regulation, and dispute resolution. The book examines recent systems and developments in all these areas, and makes proposals of profound importance for reform. This is a new blueprint for liberty, solidarity, performance, and achievement.
Understanding and negotiating turnkey and EPC contracts by
This work is a practical commentary on the FIDIC standard turnkey contract widely used in the international construction industry.The provisions of this standard contract have recently been redrawn, necessitating a revision of popular text.It provides clause-by-clause analysis of the contract, accompanied by practical guidance on its application in specific projects. It also reproduces the contract in full as an appendix.
Engineering and construction contract : an NEC document. by 
FIDIC Plant and Design-Build Form of Contract Illustrated by Keating on NEC contracts Second edition by 
Understanding Australian construction contracts by 
Understanding the FIDIC red book : a clause by clause commentary by 
Construction Law in the United Arab Emirates and the Gulf by 
FIDIC Contracts in Asia Pacific A Practical Guide to Application by 
Cornes and Lupton's Design Liability in the Construction Industry by 
Delay and Disruption in Construction Contracts 5th edition by 
Extra-contractual Recoveries: For construction and engineering work by 
A Practical Guide to Disruption and Productivity Loss on Construction and Engineering Projects by 
Quantification of Delay and Disruption in Construction and Engineering Projects by 
Security of Payment in the Australian Building and Construction Industry 5th edition by Alternative Dispute Resolution in the Construction Industry in Canada by 
Australian Insurance Law: A first reference 4th edition by 
Best Practice in Construction Disputes by
Best Practice in Construction Disputes takes a holistic approach to construction disputes in an effort to identify and examine their genesis and life cycle. It examines the factors that contribute to a high incidence of disputes on major construction projects, including the adversarial culture of the construction industry, the high degree of uncertainty surrounding projects, the inevitably of conflict between contracting parties and the role of the construction contract in facilitating such conflict.
Construction Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution by 
Decoding International Arbitration: Ninety-Nine Propositions by 
The History of the Technology and Construction Court on its 150th Anniversary: Rewriting the Rules by | Expert Determination Chambers | Selection of published construction law papers from 2009 onwards. |
| Infrastructure Australia | Infrastructure Australia publication links. |
| The IBQC is hosted by the University of Canberra. Its focus is on ‘best practice’ in building regulatory systems. | |
| MTECC Papers | Publications and papers from the leading specialist counsel at the Victorian Bar dealing with technology, engineering and construction law. |
| TransLex-Principles | The TransLex-Principles are a systematic online collection of principles and rules of transnational commercial law. |
The Australian Guide to Legal Citation, 4th Edition is the referencing style for subjects in the Melbourne Law School.
For assistance with referencing in AGLC and Zotero reference management software, please contact Law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au
This Research Guide is created and maintained by the Law Library, Melbourne Law School.
Please contact us at Law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au with corrections, suggestions or comments about the Guide.
