Skip to Main Content

European Union Law

EU Treaties

The European Union is based on the rule of law. Every action taken by the EU is founded on treaties that have been approved voluntarily and democratically by all EU member countries. EU treaties are binding agreements between EU member countries. They include founding treaties, amending and accession treaties, and protocols. Treaties set out EU objectives, rules for EU institutions, how decisions are made and the relationship between the EU and its member countries. Every action taken by the EU is founded on treaties. Under the treaties, EU institutions can adopt legislation, which the member countries then implement. 


Founding Treaties

International Agreements


This collection includes:

  • Agreements concluded by the European Union with non-member countries or with international organisations in their specific areas of responsibility.
  • Agreements concluded jointly by the Member States and the European Union in areas of shared responsibility (‘mixed type’ agreements).
  • Decisions of joint committees set up pursuant to an international agreement and comprising representatives of the signatories for the purpose of administering the agreement.

Recent articles on EU Treaties

Open-access full text on SSRN

Library Twitter

Library Instagram

Library Blogs

Library Contacts