What is International Investment Law?
International investment law is an instrument of public international law. It governs foreign direct investment and the resolution of disputes between foreign investors and sovereign States. This guide will recommend the best resources for locating primary and secondary resources to research international investment law.
For a good introduction to the topic, see the following book:
One Stop Research Databases
The following UniMelb subscription databases include arbitration awards and decisions, bilateral investment treaties, multilateral treaties, journal articles, books, and selected domestic arbitration laws. All have different content and are searched in different ways, so to research comprehensively you may need to use several.
- Oxford Investment Claims(Oxford University Press) - contains arbitration awards and decisions, over 1500 bilateral investment treaties, several multilateral treaties, journal articles, and books
- Kluwer Arbitrationalthough not focus only on international investment arbitration, this database includes the full texts of bilateral investment treaties, domestic legislation (in the ICCA Handbook on Commercial Arbitration), as well as arbitral decisions and awards issued in investor-state disputes. It also provides access to secondary sources, including over 100 e-books and 11 arbitration journals.
ICCA International Handbook on Commercial Arbitration by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Looseleaf - continually updated- Transnational Dispute Management (TDM)includes a database of bilateral investment treaties, arbitral decisions and awards, and national legislation governing foreign investment. It also includes a journal featuring articles about investor-state disputes and other transnational commercial disputes.
Bibliographies - a good place to start your research
The following Oxford Bibliographies Online contains very useful lists of books, journals and journal articles, as well as some primary sources, and are an excellent place to start your research into international investment law. These Bibliographies are all in the Oxford Bibliographies International Law module.
- Foreign Investment - by Nicolas Angelet & Mathilde Rousseau
- Investment Protection Treaties - by Silvina Gonzalez Napolitano
- International Investment Arbitration - by C.L. Lim & Jean Ho
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineOxford Bibliographies Online helps researchers and students find reliable sources of information to aid their research from within the enormous amount of print and online material available to them.
The Library has access to selected modules only: African studies, Atlantic history, Art history, Biblical studies, Childhood studies, Classics, Criminology, Education, International law, International relations, Islamic studies, Jewish studies, Linguistics, Management, Music, Philosophy, Political science, Psychology, Renaissance and reformation, Sociology.
Other Research Guides
Reference Books
Handbook of International Investment Law and Policy by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Springer, 2020
Research Handbook on Foreign Direct Investment by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2019
