Library Guides: Teaching (Primary): Classroom learning resources (physical items)

Where to find the curriculum and media collections

The Education Curriculum and Media Collections can be found on Level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.

Discover a range of resources to support your assessment tasks and placements: 3D-objects, models, toys, games, big books, board books, picture books, young adult fiction, DVDs, CDs, charts, pictures and multi-piece sets.

This guide also features streamed videos and digital resources you can access online and use within your teaching.

Library catalogue search for curriculum resources

Enter your topic keywords. You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection, Picture Books, Junior fiction collection or Kits collection.

Note: the Junior fiction collection is aimed at readers ages 8-18 - select this option if you want to find Young Adult fiction

Kits for Primary education

The education curriculum collections incorporate a broad range of kits which provide learning resources to support lesson planning and classroom activities. The following resources represent a sample of the items available in these collections:

Literacy resources:

Reading to learn : accelerating learning and closing the gap. [Teacher resource package] / [book design by Andrew Rose]. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 428.4 READ

Brave tales : developing literacy through storytelling / Will Coleman.UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 428.007 COLE

Read across the universe : art activities based on the theme, short listed early childhood & picture books / theme research and text by Dani Chak ; edited by Jan Roker ; theme illustrations by Juliet Dawson & Deanne Clark. UniM Giblin Eunson TB 809.9 CHAK

Numeracy resources:

Learn to count [kit] UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 513 LEAR

How do you measure a dinosaur? [kit] / by Trish Puharich and Room CI, Island Bay School ; illustrated by Philip Webb. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 428.6 PUHA

Differentiating math instruction [videorecording] : strategies that work for K-8 classrooms : a multimedia kit for professional development / William N. Bender.
UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 510.7 DIFF

Robotics kits for the classroom

The library provides access to a small range of robotics kits for use in the classroom. To facilitate equitable access to the robotics kits, please contact the Education Library team stating the title, call number and planned teaching date.

Robotics kits

Bee-Bot: programmable floor robot/ TTS Group Ltd./ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 BEEB Bee-Bot's simple and child friendly layout is a perfect starting point for teaching control, directional language and programming. With a wide range of cross curricular mats to program with, and fun accessories to personalise, Bee-Bot is the must have programming resource for any KS1 classroom. Bee-Bot can accurately move in steps of 15cm, turn in 90° turns, and remembers up to 40 steps! Bee-Bot features include: Sounds and flashing eyes confirm your instructions. Memory of up to 40 steps For ages 3+
Dash robot/ Wonder Workshop/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 688.725 DASH Dash is a real robot, charged and ready to play out of the box. Responding to voice, navigating objects, dancing, and singing, Dash is the robot you always dreamed of having. Use Wonder, Blockly, and other apps to create new behaviors for Dash - doing more with robotics than ever possible. For ages 6+
Ozobot bit classroom kit/ Ozobot, Evollve/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 OZOB Ozobot bits are tiny robots. This kit is designed for any grade K-12. Supporting apps, flexible programming environment and lesson plans make it easy to integrate Ozobots into any curriculum - STEM and beyond.

Robotics resources

More search tips

Search the catalogue by Title, Author or Subject. Use the drop menus to sort results by date, title, author and location (Giblin Eunson Library).
Try these Subject Headings:

Holiday opening hours

Teaching (Primary)