Library Guides: Music Theatre: Video Streaming & DVDs

Video Streaming databases

The Alexander Street Press video streaming collections are extensive. The following links will take you to each video streaming database directly. You can also search individual titles in the Library catalogue.

Kanopy (Kanopy)
The Kanopy Streaming Service is the leading supplier of streamed videos to global academic institutions. The service utilises sophisticated platform and delivery technology to offer a new world of online engagement that empowers University of Melbourne Library to stream on demand video at optimal quality to their registered staff and students.

Explore the catalogue of over 20,000 videos from the world’s most prominent filmmakers and production houses. Specially curated collections cover a wide range educational disciplines including literacy, mathematics, history and issues in society. Kanopy also offers a hosting service allowing for DVDs to be uploaded and streamed online provided digital rights is obtained. Kanopy offers a large range of Australian content and videos can be searched using the library catalogue.

EduTV
A video streaming service of over 50,000 programs from free-to-air (NITV, SBS, SBS World Movies, SBS Viceland, ABC) and pay TV channels (Premiere, Fox Classics, Fox Showcase, BBC First, National Geographic, BBC World News, CNN) in Australia. Coverage commences with 2006 and includes over 20,000 TV and documentary clips and over 5000 films.

Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre+ collaborates with with world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners and scholars to provide access to a growing collection of full-length theatre productions and educational resources. The database contains recordings of hundreds of live captured performances across theatre, ballet, opera and classical music; interviews with actors, directors, and backstage crew providing an often unseen insight into the workings of a theatre and what it takes to stage a play; study guides accompanying curricula mapped plays, written by leading academics to help students get to grip with dramatic texts; relationship maps, plot summaries, theme and context analysis, glossaries and much, much more.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Brecht's Berliner Ensemble. Performances from the 40s and 50s will cover works by William Saroyan, Thornton Wilder, Maxwell Anderson etc.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection (Alexander Street Press)
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers, for the first time online, more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Open Culture - Free Movies Online
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.

Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video contains the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
medici.tv
Producing and broadcasting over 100 live concerts each year and 1300 programs, in collaboration with orchestras and concert halls around the world. Includes concerts, archives, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles.
Digital Concert Hall
Hundreds of concert recordings from the Berliner Philharmoniker, including concerts, symphonies and vocal works from all periods. New concerts added weekly. Also features artist interviews, documentaries and concert introductions.
NOTE: Individual registration is required to use this database. The registration process MUST be completed using an on-campus University of Melbourne computer. Use the link above to access Digital Concert Hall then follow the instructions in the pop-up window to create a new user account. (If you don't see the pop-up window please contact queries for assistance).
After registering / logging in, all concerts, films and interviews in the Digital Concert Hall will be viewable free of charge. Once registered content is viewable off campus by using your login details. Users are required to verify their account every 4 weeks by logging in via an on-campus computer to maintain access via the institutional subscription. Once registered you can access the database off-campus by following the LOGIN link on the database homepage.
Registered Institutional users may screen the streaming services within the Institution for educational purposes and for the purpose of lectures (this does not include public screenings).

Dance in Video
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
UbuWeb
Large educational resource of avant-garde material in the fields of visual, concrete and sound poetry. It also includes film and sound archives.

Archive & Museum Film Collections

Australian National Film & Sound Archive
The nation’s living archive – collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage. Includes an indigenous collection.
ACMI Australian Centre for the Moving Image- Collection Data Explorer
This search tool provides experimental access to what used to be ACMI’s lending collection. It contains roughly 38,000 items dating back to the 1890s across a wide range of styles – feature films, shorts, documentaries, student works, instructional and experimental films.

Find DVDs

The easiest way to find DVDs/Videos in the Library Catalogue is to do a keyword search. You can also search using title, author or subject. Limit to DVD Collections.

Each catalogue record contains information about the DVD/Video. To find similar material, click the links for subject headings, directors or actors etc.

You can also do an Advanced Keyword search to enter more details.

Finding Media

Finding Media for the Visual and Performing Arts