Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Get set up and connected with the Library

Essential information to get you set up and connected with the Library and its online resources

Welcome new students!

Hello!

Welcome to the Get Set up and Connected Library Guide

 

This guide contains essential information for new students to connect with the Library's online services and resources.

 

Our Libraries

Visit the Library website to discover our collections of online resources, including eBooks and journal articles, and get help from Library staff.

 

Visit our Library online

 

Did you know the University of Melbourne has 11 libraries for students? Find the libraries that specialise in your specific areas of study on the Library below.

 

Architecture Library

Architecture, Building and Planning

Architecture Library

Baillieu Library

Arts and Humanities

Baillieu Library

Browless Biomedical Library

Health and Life Sciences

Brownless Biomedical Library

Burnley, Creswick and Dookie libraries

Plant, Ecosystem and Forest Sciences

Burnley and Creswick

Eastern Resources Centre

Sciences and Engineering

Eastern Resource Centre

Giblin Eunson Library

Business, Economics and Education

Giblin Eunson Library

Law Library

Law

Law Library

Southbank Library

Fine Arts and Music

Southbank Library

Veterinary and Agricultural Science Libraries

Veterinary and Agricultural Science Libraries

Find eBooks with the Library Catalogue

Two ways to find eBooks held by the Library:

 

eBooks via the Library Catalogue

When you use the catalogue, eBooks will be included in the results of an ordinary search, but the method below limits your search to eBooks.

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue
  2. Enter your search terms and select Online Books from the drop-down menu, then Submit

 

 

       4. In your results, click on the "Connect to eBook" (University of Melbourne only) link to access the ebook online

 

Top tip: Using the Library Catalogue to search for eBooks will ensure you have easy access to full-text through your University of Melbourne login. Alternatives such as visiting a publisher’s website or searching an eBook platform directly will not give you access to the full-text of a book.   

 

eBooks via Discovery

You can also find eBooks by filtering your search results in Discovery by following the steps below. 

  1. Do a search using Discovery
  • Go to the Library website
  • Enter your search terms in the Discovery search box
  • Login using your University username and password, if you are prompted to do so

 

  1. Refine your results to eBooks
  • In the Refine your results section to the left, tick the full-text checkbox and click the 'Update' button
  • In the Source Types section, tick the checkboxes: 'Books' and 'eBooks' and click the 'Update' button
  • Any eBooks that match your search query will be listed in the search results

 

  1. Read or download ebooks

To access the full-text of an e-book, click the link in each result, which may appear as a:

  • PDF full-textDownload (Offline), HTML full-text, or 'View this record from...' link
  • Find it @ unimelb link
  • See Library Catalogue link

If you would like  more information on how to find and use eBooks please visit our eBooks Library Guide.

 

Develop your researching and writing skills

Develop your researching and writing skills with the resources below:

 

Research Essentials

Level up your researching skills, including tips and tricks on how to get the most out of your time when searching, reading, and writing.

Academic Skills Hub

Academic Skills can help you develop your reading, writing and referencing skills with their range of helpful online resources.

Find the best resources for your area of study

Library Guides are made by our subject Librarians to point you to the most useful search tools and research resources for your assignments.

 

Explore the Library links in your LMS

Click on the Library tab in Canvas to view a handy list of quick links to Library resources.
 
These links are great for when you're working on an assignment and need an eBook for information on your topic, or to quickly check your referencing.

Get tech support from Student IT

Student IT can help you with software and Uniapps, setting up the VPN, cloud-based services, LMS accounts and more.

 

Get to know your Librarians

Our Librarians are experts in finding resources for your area of study and can give you advice via email on the best place to look for your research, expert tips on searching and help with referencing.
 

undefined

 

Please note: the images above show just a few of our Librarians. For the full list of subject Librarians, and the study and research areas they can help you with, please click the button below.

Tools to save you time when researching

Find resources quickly by using Lean Library and Google Scholar.

 

 

 

 

Try Discovery to find full-text

Use Discovery to quickly find full-text, peer-reviewed articles.

 

undefined

 

You can find Discovery on the Library website.

 

undefined

 

Find your readings on the LMS (Canvas)

Find your subject readings by clicking on the Readings Online tab in your subject LMS (Canvas).

 

undefined

 

Learn how to reference

Re:cite, the Library's referencing website, shows you easy-to-follow examples and style notes of the key referencing styles used at the University of Melbourne.

 

undefined

 

Contact us

Contact the Library, or ask a question on Library chat

 

Visit us on social media

 

Facebook iconfacebook.com/unilibrary

Twitter icontwitter.com/unilibrary


     Instagram iconinstagram.com/unilibrary