Skip to main content

Aerial Photography Resources

A guide to aerial photography resources for Melbourne and Victoria.

This guide is intended for use by The University of Melbourne students and research staff.  All hardcopy resources held by the Library Map Collection are viewable within the Map Collection.  

Requests for duplication or copying services from University of Melbourne staff or students - for research and/or teaching purposes only - should be discussed with Map Collection staff.

Duplication/copy services are not available to members of the public.

Aerial Photography Library
57 Cherry Lane
Laverton 3028
Victoria, Australia
Phone: (+61 3) 8368 5432
Opening hours: 8.30am to 4.00pm
Monday to Friday

(Melway Ref 54 A2) 

Historical Aerial photography links

Pre 2000 Aerial Photography held in the Map Collection

All hard copy maps and aerial photographs are held in the Map Collection on the 4th floor in the ERC Library and can be accessed on request. You cannot borrow items held in the Map Collection and copying is tightly restricted by copyright for most material.

Melbourne 1945.  Scale 1:5,660. B&W

  • The Map Collection holds, what is believed to be, the only set left of original photomaps of 1945 Melbourne.
  • These photomaps are orthorectified and annotated with main street, river and suburb names.
  • While the original aerial photography still survives these photomaps have been altered to resemble map sheets.
  • These maps have been digitised (and are now out of copyright restrictions) and placed online in jpeg format for easy access.
  • Index.

Victorian 1945-1969  Scale 1:15,840. B&W

  • While not all of Victoria is covered, this set is very useful for looking at built area and vegetation coverage.
  • Many of the sheets are still within copyright so will not be digitised in the foreseeable future.
  • Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy, as the sheets are old and fragile.
  • Call no.: ERC MAPS S 820 bf (16) 1945-
  • Index.

Melbourne 1970.  1:10,000, B&W

  • The Map Collection holds a full set of aerial photographs covering Melbourne.
  • While sheet numbers don't match the index, Map Collection staff can use the run numbers to locate individual sheets.
  • This may take a while if there are no handle landmarks.
  • Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy as the sheets are old and fragile.
  • Call no.: ERC MAPS Z AIR 820.9536 br (10) 1970
  • Index Sheets : NorthSouth.

Melbourne 1982. 1:25,000, B&W

  • This is a good set of aerial photographs that cover large areas of Melbourne in moderate detail.
  • No index is presently available so Map Collection staff may take a while to find the area you require
  • No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions.  The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
  • Call no. ERC Z AIR 820.953 br (25) 1982

Melbourne 1989. 1:15,000. Colour

  • This series of aerial photography was the last major set purchased in hard copy by the Map Collection.
  • It covers most of urban Melbourne and some of the rural area on the edges.  At a scale of 1:15 it provides moderate detail, in full colour.
  • Indexes are indicative of run numbers only provide an estimate of sheet numbers for Map Collection staff to look up.
  • Stereo pairs and a single scope are available for use in the Map Collection.
  • No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions.  The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
  • Call no. Z AIR 821br (15) 1989
  • Index Sheets : North WestNorth EastSouth WestSouth East.