Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Map Resources of Victoria

A guide to Victorian spatial map resources

Guide Introduction

The guide lists and discribes many useful spatial/map resources for education, study and research.  This includes the highly authoritative resources available from the Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment and the Victorian Department of Primary Industries.

For further assistance please contact the Map collections staff.

University library services are now available through virtual delivery. In-person services at library buildings across all campuses are closed from midnight Tuesday 24 March until further notice.

Victorian Land Channel Interactive tool

Victoria

GIS material of Victoria

Additional UniMelb related services

Some historical maps in the Library Map Collection
This is not an exhaustive list and these maps are not online, but are hardcopy only located for use in the Map Collection.  For further assistance contact the Map Collection

Environmental Mapping of Victoria

Weather

Most weather data and information is recorded and processed by the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM). Other government departments that conduct specialised research use weather data.

Weather observations from the roof of McCoy Building, School of Earth Sciences

Historical

This is not an exhaustive list and these maps are not online, but are hardcopy only located for use in the Map Collection.  For further assistance contact the Map Collection

Historical Maps of Melbourne

Statistics & Environment

Maps from ABS

University of Melbourne

Maps of the University of Melbourne

Additional UniMelb campus related services

Cartographic referencing and citation

Need help with referencing and citing cartographic material? Visit our Cartographic Citation Guide below:

Contact Us

David Jones's picture
David Jones
Contact:
UniMelb Library Map Collection
8344 8416
Website