Finding Reported Cases
Find reported cases
Reported Cases
This is a list of some of the report series available through the Law Library. For a complete list, check the Library catalogue.
The Law Reports (Appeal Cases, Kings Bench, Queens Bench, Family Chancery, Probate, etc.), published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, should be cited where available. (AGLC4 Rule 24.1.2)
* = authorised report series
All England Reports
- All England Law Reports ONLINEOnline copy available through Lexis+ Australia
British Company Law Cases
- Westlaw UKOnline copy (1990 to current)
Home > Cases > Law Reports and Transcripts > British Company Cases
Butterworths Company Law Cases
- Butterworths Company Law Cases ONLINEOnline (1983 to current) available on Lexis+ Australia
Criminal Appeal Reports
- Westlaw UKOnline copy (1909 to current) available
Home > Cases > Law Reports and Transcripts > Criminal Appeal Reports
Entertainment and Media Law Reports
- Hard Copy and Online versions for EMLR**Be mindful of the green notice in this link for the online collection.
Family Court Report
- Lexis+ AustraliaOnline copy (2009 to current) available through Lexis+ Australia (UniMelb access). Please note that, as of 1 June 2018, access to this report series is not working. It will be rectified as soon as possible by Lexis.
Family Law Reports
- Family Law Reports ONLINEOnline on Jordan Publishing Family Law
Fleet Street Reports
- Westlaw UKOnline (1966 to current) available
Home > Cases > Law Reports and Transcripts > Fleet Street Reports
Industrial Cases Reports
- Westlaw UKOnline copy (1966 to current) available
Home > Cases > Law Reports and Transcripts > Industrial Cases Reports
Lloyd's Law Reports
- Lloyd's Law Reports Hard Copy and ONLINE VersionHard copy in Law Library - 1968 to current
Online on the i-law.com database - 1919 to current.
Please note that a separate login & password is required to access this database - password details are available via this link.
Reports of Patent, Design and Trade Mark Cases
- Catalogue RecordsHard copy in Law Library
Online copy available through OUP Journals Current (1977-)
Reports of Tax Cases
- Reports of Tax CasesCall Number: UniM Law REPHard copy in Law Library.
Reported under the direction of the Board of Inland Revenue (with notes of argument supplied by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting)
Revised Reports
- The Revised Reports - Hard Copy byCall Number: UniM Law REPPublication Date: 1785-1866Hard Copy in Law Library.
Being a republication of such cases in the English Courts of Common Law and Equity, from the year 1785, as are still of practical utility - The Revised Reports byOnline copy available through HeinOnline
Simon's Tax Cases
- Lexis+ AustraliaOnline copy available (1972 to current) through Lexis+ Australia
Please note that, as of 1 June 2018, access to this report series is not working. It will be rectified as soon as possible by Lexis
*The English Reports (contains reprints of the Nominate Reports)
- The English Reports - Hard CopyCall Number: UniM Law REPHard copy of the entire series in Law Library
- English Reports - CommonLIIOnline Access
*The Law Reports (Appeal Cases, Kings Bench, Queens Bench, Family Chancery, Probate, etc.)
- The Law Reports - Hard CopyHard copy in Law Library
- ICLR OnlineOnline copy only available on ICLR.
Note: you cannot access the Law Reports from Westlaw UK, although the database makes it look as though you can.
The Weekly Law Reports
- ICLR OnlineOnline copy only available through ICLR.
Note: you cannot access the Weekly Law Reports from Westlaw UK, although the database makes it look as though you can.
Times Law Reports
- vLex JustisOnline copy (1990 to current) available through JUSTIS.
Home > Cases > Data Sources > All Cases > The Times Law Reports. This will open a search screen to add eg: parties, citation, year etc.
Find unreported judgments
Find unreported judgments
Unreported judgments are cases that have been heard in the courts that have been published but have not been reported in a law report series. Unreported cases are available faster than reports. Unreported cases may be subsequently reported.
Unreported Judgments are available through:
- BAILLIUnreported cases including Court of Appeal (from 1998), Crown Court (from 2000), Fair Employment Industrial Tribunals (from 1998), High Court (from 1998) and Social Security Commissioners Decisions (from 1994) (Public access)
- Westlaw UKWestlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.
- vLex JustisvLex Justis contains the full text of current and historical reported and unreported cases from the UK dating back to 1163 (including State Trials, Times Law Reports and the English Reports) and all UK legislation ever passed (from 1235 to the present). Irish and EU cases (including decisions from the European Court of Human Rights 1961+) are also included, as well as the International Law Reports (1902+). Cases available as printable PDF images replicating the original print.
Find cases on a topic
Find cases on a topic
To find cases on a particular topic, use the following tools:
- Westlaw UKWestlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.
- vLex JustisvLex Justis contains the full text of current and historical reported and unreported cases from the UK dating back to 1163 (including State Trials, Times Law Reports and the English Reports) and all UK legislation ever passed (from 1235 to the present). Irish and EU cases (including decisions from the European Court of Human Rights 1961+) are also included, as well as the International Law Reports (1902+). Cases available as printable PDF images replicating the original print.
- The Law Reports Consolidated IndexThe Red Index, available in hard copy