Introduction
The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the collective name for four countries, England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, which have been united under a single Parliament through a series of Acts of Union. The United Kingdom has recently undergone a period of devolution with the creation of the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Scottish Parliament and the National Assembly for Wales (see separate tabs for information on these specific jurisdictions).
The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy (a government that is established under a constitution but retains a monarch as the head of state). The duties, functions and powers of the monarch are conscribed by convention. The constitution does not exist in a single written document but consists of statute law, case law and parliamentary conventions.
The parliament is bicameral, with the first chamber, the House of Commons, directly elected. The second chamber, the House of Lords, consists of elected hereditary peers, life peers, Law Lords and bishops, most of whom are appointed on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.
See further sources below.
- University College London Constitution UnitThe House of Lords is in the process of being reformed (for more information on this reform)
- Globalex byPublication Date: 2009From Home Page, select 'Foreign Law Research', scroll through the alphabetical list, until you see 'United Kingdom : A Guide to the UK Legal System'
- United Kingdom - Library of Congress Guide- executive powers
- government
- judicial powers
- judiciary
- law
- law library
- legal guides
- legal research
- legislative powers
- supreme court
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law by Publication Date: 2012Discusses comparative law and different areas of law, including Competition Law in EU and the U.S. and the legal system of various countries.
United Kingdom Country Information
The following resources include general country information and statistics - history, demographics, economy, politics and government etc.
- CIA - The World Factbook(free online)
- US State Department Background Notes(free online)
- UK Country ReviewUniMelb staff & student access. An annually updated detailed report of demographic, social, political, economic, business, investment, cultural and environmental information. This is an excellent an up to date source of information on the history and government of the UK, and includes information on freedoms, human rights etc.
- Europa World Plus(UniMelb access only)
A great place to start your legal research
- Halsbury's Laws of EnglandHalsbury's Laws of England on Lexis + Australia is a good starting point for your research into any aspect of UK law. This encyclopedia is arranged alphabetically by topic and provides up to date commentary and links to relevant caselaw and legislation.
Introduction to the UK Legal System
Print books on the English and UK legal system are shelved at KL 11 on Level 5 of the Law Library. Check the Library catalogue for more print and e-books.
Introduction to the English Legal System 2018-19 by Call Number: KL 11 PARTPublication Date: OUP, 13th ed, 2018
English Legal System: the Fundamentals by Call Number: KL 11 BOYLPublication Date: Sweet & Maxwell, 4th ed, 2017
Walker and Walker's English Legal System by Call Number: KL 11 WARDPublication Date: Oxford University Press, 2011
UK Legal Research Books
Legal Research: A Practitioner's Handbook by Call Number: KL 155 A1 ALLBPublication Date: Wildy, 3rd ed, 2019
Glanville Williams: learning the law by Call Number: UniM Law KL 131 WILLPublication Date: Sweet & Maxwell/Thomson Reuters, 2016
Butterworths Legal Research Guide by Call Number: Law High Use KL 155 HOLBPublication Date: OUP, 2005
Latest UK Legal News from the Inner Temple Library
Daily legal news feed from the Inner Temple Library
Other UK Legal Research Guides
- Foreign Law Guide (Brill)The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Broad in content and global in scope, the FLG is an indispensable resource for comparative law research and a fundamental tool for developing a foreign and comparative law collection. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systemically covered and updated by a global team of experts.
- Oxford University LibGuide: United Kingdom Law (Oxford)written by librarians at the Bodleian Law Library