Print & eBooks on Chinese Law
Chinese Conflicts of Law: A Restatement and Legisprudence Proposal by Call Number: KC 2030 C54 ZHUPublication Date: Wildy, 2018
Chinese Constitutionalism in a Global Context by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Taylor & Francis, 2018
Chinese Law and Legal Research by
Chinese Law Series Volume 19
Call Number: KL 155 LUOPublication Date: William S Hein & Co., 2023
Chinese Perspectives on Human Rights and Good Governance by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Brill Nijhoff, 2016
Corporate Governance in China: the structure and management of foreign-invested enterprises under Chinese law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Springer, 2017
The Futility of Law and Development: China and the dangers of exporting American law by Call Number: KT 4226 KRONPublication Date: OUP, 2016
Governance of Intellectual Property Rights in China and Europe by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2016
The Internet, Social Media, and a Changing China by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2016
Urban Crime and Social Disorganization in China : a case study of three communities in Guangzhou by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Springer, 2016
Finding Journal Articles in English on Chinese Law
Journal article databases allow you to search hundreds of journal titles at the same time and is the most effective way to find relevant articles. These databases can provide indexes/abstracts and / or full text articles.
Articles on Chinese law are not only written in Chinese journals - so we recommend you use:
- Multijurisdictional legal databases - these contain mostly journals from 'western' common law jurisdictions such as the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, but include much written about Chinese law. These databases include content from thousands of journals and are the most effective research tool for journal articles from all jurisdictions.
- Chinese legal journal databases - these include far fewer journals than the major western journal databases, and often only titles and abstracts are accessible in English.
- Chinese academic journal databases - these contain not only legal journals but are a good resource for articles on Chinese law. They include far fewer journals than the major western journal databases.
1. Multijurisdictional Journal Article Databases
- Asian Law Online (open access)Created and maintained by the Melbourne Law School Asian law Centre. Searchable database of citations.
- AustLII Journals (Australasian)Open access.
- HeinOnline Law Journals (multijurisdictional) (UniMelb staff & student access)This database contains full text articles from thousands of journals, all back to the first issue. It is the best source to use if you want to find older articles.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (on HEIN Online) (UniMelb staff & student access)Multilingual index of articles appearing in legal journals published in jurisdictions other than the USA, the UK, Canada, and Australia.
- INFORMITINFORMIT platform (Australasian and Asian) - includes AGIS (law) (UniMelb staff & student access)
- LegalTrac (UniMelb staff & student access)Provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Article title index only - no abstracts
- SSRN (multijurisdictional) (open access)This database includes university research papers, and forthcoming articles and book chapters accepted for publication, and is the best source of very recent scholarship.
- Westlaw UK (UK and EU journals) (UniMelb staff & student access)Includes:
• Legal Journals Index- an index to over half a million more article abstracts from hundreds of journals
• 110 full-text legal journals
2. Chinese Legal Journal Databases (UniMelb staff & student access)
- PKU LawThe Law Journals database provides searching and table of contents browsing of leading Chinese law journals. In the English version of this database, only titles are provided, not full text articles.
3. Chinese Academic Journal Article Databases (UniMelb staff & student access)
- China Academic Journals Full-text DatabaseChina Academic Journals Full-text Database (CJFD) is the largest Chinese journal database in the world, containing the content of around 8500 journals. It is regularly updated and covers 10 major topic areas, including politics/military/law. Content is from 1951 onward, with some journals back to the first issue. In many cases, only abstracts and titles are in English - with the full text of the articles being in Chinese.
Finding Journal Articles in Chinese on Chinese Law
Chinese Legal Journal Databases (UniMelb staff & student access)
- PKU LawThe Beida Fabao – China Law Journal Database is a specialised and continuously updated full text Chinese law journal article database containing over 100,000 articles. All issues of 35 domestic law journals and all tables of content of 6 core law journals are included.
- China Academic Journals Full-text DatabaseChina Academic Journals Full-text Database (CJFD) is the largest Chinese journal database in the world, containing the content of around 8500 journals. It is regularly updated and covers 10 major topic areas, including politics/military/law. Content is from 1951 onward, with some journals back to the first issue. In many cases, only abstracts and titles are in English - with the full text of the articles being in Chinese.
Books on Chinese Law in Kluwer Law Online
- Kluwer Law OnlineCheck Kluwer’s International Encyclopaedia of Laws for books on various legal topics for selected jurisdictions, including China. Please note that publication dates for books vary.
Theses
- China Doctoral Dissertations Full Text DatabaseA comprehensive database of doctoral dissertations and theses in China. The dissertations and theses are from over 300 doctoral training institutions across China, from 1999 onwards. This database includes law theses.
- China Master's Dissertations Full Text DatabaseA comprehensive and continuously updated master theses database. It collects theses from over 600 master degree grantors across China, from 1984 onwards. This database includes law theses.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis database has the world's most comprehensive collection of higher degree theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the theses added since 1997.
- ThesesFor more information on finding higher degree theses from Chinese Universities, see the University of Melbourne Chinese Studies Research Guide Theses page.
- Finding Theses Research GuideFor more information on finding higher degree theses on Chinese law from Universities outside China, use the University of Melbourne Finding Theses Research Guide.
Individual Journal and E-journal Titles
Below is a selection of other Chinese law print and e-journals journals held by the University Libraries. Print journals are located on Level 4 of the Law Library. To search for other specific titles, use the catalogue.
- China Law and PracticeCall Number: e-journal
Print: vol 1(1987) - 26 (2012)
E-journal: Jan 1999 to current - China Law ReviewE-journal: vol 1 (2014) to current
- The Chinese Journal of Comparative LawE-journal: vol 1 (2013) to current
- Chinese Journal of International Lawe-journal: vol 1 (2002) to current
- Chinese Law and GovernmentE-journal: vol 1 (1968) to current
- East Asia Law ReviewE-journal: vol 1 (2005) - vol 10 (2014/15). Ceased publication
- Frontiers of Law in Chinavol 1 (2006) - current
- Tsinghua China Law ReviewE-journal: vol 1 (2009) to current
Bibliography of Books & Articles on Chinese Law
- Foreign Law Guide (UniMelb staff & student access)The Foreign Law Guide provides an alphabetical list of Chinese laws by topic - each topic includes a useful annotated bibliography of books and articles on the topic.