Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Researchers' Library Guide

A guide to Library resources and services for research staff and graduate research students new to the University of Melbourne

  About Us


Researcher@Library

Make the most of Library Support

The University of Melbourne Library is a hub of people, resources, spaces, and services. We support graduate students, early-career and experienced researchers, through the complete research lifecycle. We provide:

  • High-quality collections
  • Specialised research support services
  • One-on-one research consultations
GO TO THE LIBRARY

Quick Links


  • Researcher@Library

    Details of library services specifically aimed at graduate research students and researchers.

    RESEARCHER@LIBRARY

  • Book a Research Consultation

    Make an appointment to discuss your research support needs with a specialist librarian online.

    BOOK A CONSULTATION

  • Contact your Faculty or School Librarian

    Contact your faculty or school library liaison team.

    GO TO LIBRARIANS

Library Spaces


Libraries

Did you know the University of Melbourne has 11 libraries? Find the libraries that hold collections in your specific areas of research.

Library Opening Hours

University library services continue to be offered through virtual delivery, with libraries re-opening for University of Melbourne staff and students, only.

Specialist Library Research Support Teams


Archives, Cultural and Special Collections

The University of Melbourne’s archives, cultural and special collections play an intrinsic role in teaching and learning, research and engagement activities. See the following for more details of the collections and services available to University of Melbourne researchers:

Copyright Office

The University Copyright Office works with staff and students to maximise the permitted uses of copyright material for education and research. In so doing, we seek to ensure that the University community complies with copyright obligations. Copyright Office staff provide:

  • Online information and resources,
  • Assistance with queries,
  • Training and awareness sessions.

Digital Stewardship Research Team

The Digital Stewardship Research team provides a range of services that enable researchers to manage data in line with national guidelines and standards. The team also drives University-wide activities including:

  • Advancing Digital Preservation.
  • Managing the institutional data repository.
  • Advancing institutional stewardship.
  • Advancing Open research practices and systems .

Scholarly Communications Team:

The Scholarly Communications team oversees the collection of data on research outputs published by staff and students at the university. See the Research Outputs webpage for:

  • The process for managing research outputs in the university via Elements.
  • The process for making your research outputs Open Access via Minerva Access.
  • Support materials.
  • Submitting a request for support.

University Digitisation Centre

The University Digitisation Centre is located at 158 Bouverie St Carlton and has been digitising university collections for 10 years to assist with teaching, research, publications, exhibitions and dissemination of scholarly information at The University of Melbourne. The UDC has a range of services to offer researchers at the University of Melbourne, including:

  • Scan and Send: an on-demand digitisation service for accessing materials held by the University of Melbourne’s Archives and Special Collections, including theses.
  • Research consults: one-on-one appointments for researchers looking for advice on digitisation as part of their research projects.
  • Self-service scanning: guidance for staff and students to undertake digitisation using UDC equipment including: scanning of documents, books, negatives, slides or photographs.