Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Researchers' Library Guide

A guide to Library resources and services for research staff and graduate research students new to the University of Melbourne

 Preserve and Archive


Preserve and Archive your Research Outputs

Digital Stewardship Team: supporting research

The Digital Stewardship team at Melbourne provides support, services, training, advice and examples of good practice in:

  • Research data management.
  • Digital preservation.
  • Digital archives.
  • Non-traditional outputs publishing, including citation and retention.
  • Data forensics and recovery.
GO DIGITAL STEWARDSHIP

Quick Links


  • Digitisation

    The University Digitisation Centre (UDC) provides a range of services including:

    • Scanning of 2D and 3D research assets and collection items.
    • Consultations and training.
    • Self-service scanning options for staff working on University projects.

    GO TO DIGITISATION

  • Institutional Repository

    Learn how to deposit the full-text of your research outputs in the university's institutional repository: Minerva Access. The process only takes a couple of minutes and will help you to:

    • Comply with funder mandates and university policy.
    • Make your research more widely discoverable and accessible.

    GO TO RESEARCH OUTPUTS

  • Archival Services

    Expert advice on archiving and preservation is available from:

    The University of Melbourne Archives, which collects, manages and provides access to:

    • The historical records of the University.
    • Victorian business, trade unions and other labour organisations.
    • Community and cultural organisations.

    GO TO ARCHIVES

Further Support


Research Data Storage and Management Systems

The University provides many options to support your research data storage and management needs, including:

  • Network File Share (Research-NAS)
  • CloudStor
  • Figshare
  • Omeka
  • Minerva Access

The systems are available to all University staff and graduate researchers. These systems are recommended by the University as they will help you meet your research data obligations. Many allow for collaboration with external users and have features to protect your research data from loss and unintended access.

Contact research-data@unimelb.edu.au with any questions.

Records Services

Records Services staff can provide information and advice on:

  • Record-keeping,
  • Record management policy and procedures, and
  • Record retention and disposal procedures.

Contact the Records Services team.