Introduction
Welcome to the Statistical and Mathematical Software Guide
Training at the University of Melbourne
- The Statistical Consulting Centre runs courses and provides a broad range of support resources. Check for upcoming training
- Library's Research Training offers a range of sessions.
Access to Programs
- Check the list of programs currently available on library computers. Some programs are only available in some of our libraries. These are listed on our software in specific locations site
- Staff may download programs from the Software Centre (Windows) or via Self Service (Mac)
- Staff and students may use MyUniApps to access programs (see section below for further information)
Choosing a Program
To ensure that you use the program that is most appropriate for your research, it is recommended that you ask your lecturer or supervisor and explore the literature available. Considerations may include:
- Functionality required
- Type of data (qualitative or quantitative)
- Analytical functions required
- Compatability with other tools used
- Industry standards
See also:
Statistical Consulting Centre
The Statistical Consulting Centre at the University of Melbourne provides a range of services to members of the academic community. The Melbourne Statistical Consulting Platform allows eligible post-graduate students 10 free hours of statistical consulting.
- The emphasis in the statistical advice will be on education and training
- If you need help beyond 10 hours, this will be on a fee-paying basis
- You must be currently enrolled
- You will need to bring a copy of the "Statistical consulting service to post-graduate students" form signed by your supervisor to your first consultation. Please visit their website for the current documentation.The consultants may decline to provide statistical assistance without a signed form
The Statistical Consulting Centre offers advice, statistical consulting and data analysis to staff and postgraduate students within the University and others outside the University.
myUniApps
MyUniApps provides University of Melbourne staff and students with easy, online access to a broad range of software packages. The following applications are currently available to all students: AMOS, ArcGIS Desktop, EndNote*, GIMP, iMindQ, Mathematica, MATLAB*, Minitab, Notepad++, NVIVO*, Office Professional Plus 2013, R, Rstudio, Sample Power, SAS, SPSS. Further apps are available to students based on their area of study.
For the most up-to-date information, please check the list of apps available in "Applications" section of the FAQs.
IT Licensing & Procurement
Site Licenses
A number of statistical packages are included in the University of Melbourne site license program. A site license will offer university departments products which are centrally funded and can be deployed on University assets at no additional cost. Please see the licensing availability information listed in this guide. For other programs, search the IT Knowledge Base (staff only).
Bulk Purchase Programs
Software that is not available in a site license, are available through bulk purchase programs. This offers departments, affiliated institutions and respective staff and students a way to purchase centrally-managed low cost software.
Information about bulk purchase programs
For further advice and support, call the IT service desk on 8344 0888
Further Reading
30 Essential Skills for the Qualitative Researcher by
30 Essential Skills for the Qualitative Researcher fills a gap in introductory literature on qualitative inquiry by providing practical "how-to" information for beginning researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Creswell defines what a skill is, and acknowledges that while there may be more than 30 that an individual will use and perfect, the skills presented in this book are crucial for a new qualitative researcher starting a qualitative project.
ISBN: 9781452216867Publication Date: 2015The Digital Research Skills Cookbook by Welcome to the world of the Research Bazaar! We are a global campaign, community and conference of support for those interested in learning how to use and teach digital research tools.The Digital Research Skills Cookbook provides an introduction to all aspects of the Research Bazaar, including: a brief history of ResBaz; how to run a dynamic research community; curriculum for teaching and learning digital tools; and how to start a community of support around current digital research tools. Inside this book you'll find step-by-step, visual introductions to learning and using a wide range of digital tools such as Python, R, Matlab,Tinkercad, and Omeka. Each chapter includes both introductory information and 'challenges,' with material organized to facilitate practical application and to encourage learning by doing.Best of all, this book is written by researchers for researchers, each contributing a recipe of their own. Think of the chapters as 'tasters' - tickling your taste buds with how particular digital tools can help your research. In this way, this book will help you to make decisions about which tools work best with your research data. And, like most cookbooks, feel free to add your own personal flavour to taste! This is our story. Go ahead and start your own ...
ISBN: 9781549698521Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by
A proven bestseller, ESSENTIALS OF STATISTICS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 9th Edition gives you straightforward instruction, unrivaled accuracy, built-in learning aids, and plenty of real-world examples to help you understand statistical concepts. The authors take time to fully explain statistical procedures so that you can go beyond memorizing formulas and begin gaining a conceptual understanding of statistics. They also take care to show you how having an understanding of statistical procedures will help you comprehend published findings -- ultimately leading you to become a savvy consumer of information. In addition, a complete supplements package -- including the MindTap digital learning experience -- helps you maximize your course success.
ISBN: 9781337098120Publication Date: 2017Handling Qualitative Data by Lecturers, click here to request an e-inspection copy of this text This new edition of Lyn Richards′ best-selling book provides an accessible introduction to qualitative research for students and practitioners. Recognizing that for many new researchers dealing with data is the main point of departure, this book helps them to acquire a progressive understanding of the skills and methodological issues that are central to qualitative research. Lyn Richards provides clear and pragmatic guidance on how to handle, reflect on and get results from small amounts of data, while at the same time showing how a consideration of methods and their philosophical underpinnings informs how we should best handle our data. This book also covers all the processes of making, meeting, sorting, coding, documenting and exploring qualitative data, smoothly integrating software use and the discussion of the main challenges that readers are likely to encounter. It guides novice researchers to achieve valid and useful outcomes from qualitative analysis, and to ensure they do justice to their data. This second edition features: - Increased coverage of issues about the researcher′s relation to their data and ethical implications - An expanded section on preparing for data collection and reflecting on the nature of data. There is also a brand new website, offering: - Live, detailed case studies of qualitative methods in practice, linking to publications and illustrative material. Researchers tell the stories of projects, from design, through what was actually done with the data, to how analysis was achieved and reported; - A software guide with links to information and tutorials in several products.
ISBN: 1848602170Publication Date: 2009
Introduction to the Practice of Statistics by
Create and evaluate data from real-world contexts as Introduction to the Practice of Statistics gets you practicing data gathering and analysis in the same way real statisticians do.
ISBN: 9781319013387Publication Date: 2016
Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences by
See how interesting experimental and nonexperimental research can be with RESEARCH METHODS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 6th Edition. Inviting and conversational, the text leads you through the research process from start to finish -- using a step-by-step approach that emphasizes the decisions researchers make at each stage. Current research examples are selected to be of particular interest to students like you, and learning objectives help you focus on what's important. Chapter after chapter, the authors' "lecture in a book" style delivers clear explanations of topics that make this text easy to read and understand.
ISBN: 9781337613316Publication Date: 2018
Statistical Methods in Epidemiologic Research by
With the many advances in the control of infectious disease over the last 100 years, the role of Epidemiology in Public Health has transformed significantly. Epidemiologic research now includes the study of acute and chronic disease, as well as the events, behaviors, and conditions associated with health.From seasoned author, Ray Merrill, this text explores how epidemiologic methods are conducted and interpreted. In four sections, Methods in Epidemiologic Research covers basic concepts in epidemiology and statistics, study designs, statistical techniques and applications, and special topics.
ISBN: 9781284050202Publication Date: 2015
Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by
Statistics is one of the most practical and essential courses that you will take, and a primary goal of this popular text is to make the task of learning statistics as simple as possible. Straightforward instruction, built-in learning aids, and real-world examples have made STATISTICS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES, 10th Edition the text selected most often by instructors for their students in the behavioral and social sciences. The authors provide a conceptual context that makes it easier to learn formulas and procedures, explaining why procedures were developed and when they should be used. This text will also instill the basic principles of objectivity and logic that are essential for science and valuable in everyday life, making it a useful reference long after you complete the course.
ISBN: 9781305504912Publication Date: 2017Using software in qualitative research : a step-by-step guide by
ISBN: 9781473906907Publication Date: 2014
Research Handbook in Data Science and Law by
The use of data in society has seen an exponential growth in recent years. Data science, the field of research concerned with understanding and analyzing data, aims to find ways to operationalize data so that it can be beneficially used in society, for example in health applications, urban governance or smart household devices. The legal questions that accompany the rise of new, data-driven technologies however are underexplored. This book is the first volume that seeks to map the legal implications of the emergence of data science. It discusses the possibilities and limitations imposed by the current legal framework, considers whether regulation is needed to respond to problems raised by data science, and which ethical problems occur in relation to the use of data. It also considers the emergence of Data Science and Law as a new legal discipline.
ISBN: 9781788111300Publication Date: 2018
Modeling Binary Correlated Responses Using SAS, SPSS and R by
Statistical tools to analyze correlated binary data are spread out in the existing literature. This book makes these tools accessible to practitioners in a single volume. Chapters cover recently developed statistical tools and statistical packages that are tailored to analyzing correlated binary data. The authors showcase both traditional and new methods for application to health-related research. Data and computer programs will be publicly available in order for readers to replicate model development, but learning a new statistical language is not necessary with this book. The inclusion of code for R, SAS, and SPSS allows for easy implementation by readers. For readers interested in learning more about the languages, though, there are short tutorials in the appendix. Accompanying data sets are available for download through the book s website. Data analysis presented in each chapter will provide step-by-step instructions so these new methods can be readily applied to projects. Researchers and graduate students in Statistics, Epidemiology, and Public Health will find this book particularly useful.
ISBN: 9783319238050Publication Date: 2015
