MATLAB, which stands for MATrix LABoratory, is an interactive mathematical software program for numerical computation and data visualisation. MATLAB, the language of technical computing, is a programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numeric computation. Simulink is a graphical environment for simulation and Model-Based Design of multidomain dynamic and embedded systems. MathWorks produces nearly 100 additional products for specialized tasks such as data analysis and image processing.
MATLAB works with programs in other languages including C, C++, C#, Java, Fortran and Python. It is used extensively in academia and industry, primarily in the disciplines of engineering, science and mathematical economics.
The University of Melbourne has a Campus-Wide License for MATLAB, Simulink, and add-on products. Faculty, researchers, and students may use these products for teaching, research, and learning. The license allows individuals to install the products on university-owned equipment, as well as personally owned computers. MATLAB is installed on Library and StudentIT lab computers and may be available in some Faculty and Graduate School labs.
MATLAB is available through StudentIT.
Researcher Connect offers free digital skills training. Check for upcoming training
The MathWorks support site includes MATLAB and Simulink tutorials, examples and documentation. If you need further assistance please contact the Service Centre on 8344 0888.
Smart Antennas with MATLAB, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most complete, current guide to smart antenna design and performance Featuring new coverage of reconfigurable antennas, vector antennas, and direction-finding antennas, this up-to-date resource offers a rigorous review of the basic electromagnetic principles that drive smart antenna design and deployment. Case studies and worked examples using MATLAB are provided. End-of-chapter assignments reinforce the concepts presented. Thoroughly revised to reflect recent developments and the latest technologies, this is a comprehensive reference for all professionals, students, and researchers in the field of smart antennas. Smart Antennas with MATLAB, Second Edition, covers: Fundamentals of electromagnetic fields Antenna fundamentals Array fundamentals Principles of random variables and processes Propagation channel characteristics Angle-of-arrival estimation Smart antennas Direction finding Electromagnetic vector sensors Smart antenna design and optimization
Numerical and Analytical Methods with MATLAB for Electrical Engineers by
Combining academic and practical approaches to this important topic, Numerical and Analytical Methods with MATLAB® for Electrical Engineers is the ideal resource for electrical and computer engineering students. Based on a previous edition that was geared toward mechanical engineering students, this book expands many of the concepts presented in that book and replaces the original projects with new ones intended specifically for electrical engineering students. This book includes: An introduction to the MATLAB programming environment Mathematical techniques for matrix algebra, root finding, integration, and differential equations More advanced topics, including transform methods, signal processing, curve fitting, and optimization An introduction to the MATLAB graphical design environment, Simulink Exploring the numerical methods that electrical engineers use for design analysis and testing, this book comprises standalone chapters outlining a course that also introduces students to computational methods and programming skills, using MATLAB as the programming environment. Helping engineering students to develop a feel for structural programming--not just button-pushing with a software program--the illustrative examples and extensive assignments in this resource enable them to develop the necessary skills and then apply them to practical electrical engineering problems and cases.
Essential MATLAB by
The fifth edition of Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. The essentials of MATLAB are illustrated throughout, featuring complete coverage of the software's windows and menus. Program design and algorithm development are presented clearly and intuitively, along with many examples from a wide range of familiar scientific and engineering areas. This is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB, as well as a self-learning tutorial for professionals and students expected to learn and apply MATLAB.
Statistics in MATLAB by
Fulfilling the need for a practical user's guide, Statistics in MATLAB: A Primer provides an accessible introduction to the latest version of MATLAB® and its extensive functionality for statistics. Assuming a basic knowledge of statistics and probability as well as a fundamental understanding of linear algebra concepts, this book: Covers capabilities in the main MATLAB package, the Statistics Toolbox, and the student version of MATLAB Presents examples of how MATLAB can be used to analyze data Offers access to a companion website with data sets and additional examples Contains figures and visual aids to assist in application of the software Explains how to determine what method should be used for analysis Statistics in MATLAB: A Primer is an ideal reference for undergraduate and graduate students in engineering, mathematics, statistics, economics, biostatistics, and computer science. It is also appropriate for a diverse professional market, making it a valuable addition to the libraries of researchers in statistics, computer science, data mining, machine learning, image analysis, signal processing, and engineering.
An Introduction to MATLAB® Programming and Numerical Methods for Engineers by
Assuming no prior background in linear algebra or real analysis, An Introduction to MATLAB® Programming and Numerical Methods for Engineers enables you to develop good computational problem solving techniques through the use of numerical methods and the MATLAB® programming environment. Part One introduces fundamental programming concepts, using simple examples to put new concepts quickly into practice. Part Two covers the fundamentals of algorithms and numerical analysis at a level allowing you to quickly apply results in practical settings.
MATLAB with Applications to Engineering, Physics and Finance by 
