About R
R provides access to a variety of statistical and graphical techniques including linear and non-linear modelling, classical statistical tests, time-series analysis, classification and clustering. Functionally, the program is considered comparable to SAS. However, R has the advantage of being open source and thus freely available.
Access
About R on Campus
R for Windows is installed on all Library and StudentIT lab computers. It may also be available in some Faculty and Graduate School labs.
Obtain R Software
Obtain R Software
R can be downloaded from the publisher's website.
Additional enhancements of R have been created by RStudio. A range of products are listed on their website including related support services specific to the products.
Training and Support
Researcher Connect offers free digital skills training. Check for upcoming training.
The producers of R provide support including a Manual, FAQs and a Getting Help page.
There is also a Facebook group for users of R.
Further Reading
Advanced R 4 Data Programming and the Cloud by
Program for data analysis using R and learn practical skills to make your work more efficient. This revised book explores how to automate running code and the creation of reports to share your results, as well as writing functions and packages. It includes key R 4 features such as a new color palette for charts, an enhanced reference counting system, and normalization of matrix and array types where matrix objects now formally inherit from the array class, eliminating inconsistencies. Advanced R 4 Data Programming and the Cloud is not designed to teach advanced R programming nor to teach the theory behind statistical procedures. Rather, it is designed to be a practical guide moving beyond merely using R; it shows you how to program in R to automate tasks. This book will teach you how to manipulate data in modern R structures and includes connecting R to databases such as PostgreSQL, cloud services such as Amazon Web Services (AWS), and digital dashboards such as Shiny. Each chapter also includes a detailed bibliography with references to research articles and other resources that cover relevant conceptual and theoretical topics. What You Will Learn Write and document R functions using R 4 Make an R package and share it via GitHub or privately Add tests to R code to ensure it works as intended Use R to talk directly to databases and do complex data management Run R in the Amazon cloud Deploy a Shiny digital dashboard Generate presentation-ready tables and reports using R Who This Book Is For Working professionals, researchers, and students who are familiar with R and basic statistical techniques such as linear regression and who want to learn how to take their R coding and programming to the next level.
ISBN: 9781484259733Publication Date: 2020-07-17
Applied Hierarchical Modeling in Ecology by
Applied Hierarchical Modeling in Ecology: Distribution, Abundance, Species Richness offers a new synthesis of the state-of-the-art of hierarchical models for plant and animal distribution, abundance, and community characteristics such as species richness using data collected in metapopulation designs. These types of data are extremely widespread in ecology and its applications in such areas as biodiversity monitoring and fisheries and wildlife management. This first volume explains static models/procedures in the context of hierarchical models that collectively represent a unified approach to ecological research, taking the reader from design, through data collection, and into analyses using a very powerful class of models. Applied Hierarchical Modeling in Ecology, Volume 1 serves as an indispensable manual for practicing field biologists, and as a graduate-level text for students in ecology, conservation biology, fisheries/wildlife management, and related fields.
ISBN: 9780128013786Publication Date: 2015-11-27
Automated Trading with R by
Learn to trade algorithmically with your existing brokerage, from data management, to strategy optimization, to order execution, using free and publicly available data. Connect to your brokerage's API, and the source code is plug-and-play. Automated Trading with R explains automated trading, starting with its mathematics and moving to its computation and execution. You will gain a unique insight into the mechanics and computational considerations taken in building a back-tester, strategy optimizer, and fully functional trading platform. The platform built in this book can serve as a complete replacement for commercially available platforms used by retail traders and small funds. Software components are strictly decoupled and easily scalable, providing opportunity to substitute any data source, trading algorithm, or brokerage. This book will: Provide a flexible alternative to common strategy automation frameworks, like Tradestation, Metatrader, and CQG, to small funds and retail traders Offer an understanding of the internal mechanisms of an automated trading system Standardize discussion and notation of real-world strategy optimization problems What You Will Learn Understand machine-learning criteria for statistical validity in the context of time-series Optimize strategies, generate real-time trading decisions, and minimize computation time while programming an automated strategy in R and using its package library Best simulate strategy performance in its specific use case to derive accurate performance estimates Understand critical real-world variables pertaining to portfolio management and performance assessment, including latency, drawdowns, varying trade size, portfolio growth, and penalization of unused capital Who This Book Is For Traders/practitioners at the retail or small fund level with at least an undergraduate background in finance or computer science; graduate level finance or data science students
ISBN: 9781484221778Publication Date: 2016-09-29
Discrete Data Analysis with R by
An Applied Treatment of Modern Graphical Methods for Analyzing Categorical Data Discrete Data Analysis with R: Visualization and Modeling Techniques for Categorical and Count Data presents an applied treatment of modern methods for the analysis of categorical data, both discrete response data and frequency data. It explains how to use graphical methods for exploring data, spotting unusual features, visualizing fitted models, and presenting results. The book is designed for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in the social and health sciences, epidemiology, economics, business, statistics, and biostatistics as well as researchers, methodologists, and consultants who can use the methods with their own data and analyses. Along with describing the necessary statistical theory, the authors illustrate the practical application of the techniques to a large number of substantive problems, including how to organize data, conduct an analysis, produce informative graphs, and evaluate what the graphs reveal about the data. The first part of the book contains introductory material on graphical methods for discrete data, basic R skills, and methods for fitting and visualizing one-way discrete distributions. The second part focuses on simple, traditional nonparametric tests and exploratory methods for visualizing patterns of association in two-way and larger frequency tables. The final part of the text discusses model-based methods for the analysis of discrete data. Web Resource The data sets and R software used, including the authors' own vcd and vcdExtra packages, are available at http://cran.r-project.org.
ISBN: 9781498725835Publication Date: 2015-12-17
Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R by
Emphasizing the inductive nature of statistical thinking, Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition, connects applied statistics to the environmental and ecological fields. Using examples from published works in the ecological and environmental literature, the book explains the approach to solving a statistical problem, covering model specification, parameter estimation, and model evaluation. It includes many examples to illustrate the statistical methods and presents R code for their implementation. The emphasis is on model interpretation and assessment, and using several core examples throughout the book, the author illustrates the iterative nature of statistical inference. The book starts with a description of commonly used statistical assumptions and exploratory data analysis tools for the verification of these assumptions. It then focuses on the process of building suitable statistical models, including linear and nonlinear models, classification and regression trees, generalized linear models, and multilevel models. It also discusses the use of simulation for model checking, and provides tools for a critical assessment of the developed models. The second edition also includes a complete critique of a threshold model. Environmental and Ecological Statistics with R, Second Edition focuses on statistical modeling and data analysis for environmental and ecological problems. By guiding readers through the process of scientific problem solving and statistical model development, it eases the transition from scientific hypothesis to statistical model.
ISBN: 9781498728720Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Extending the Linear Model with R by
Start Analyzing a Wide Range of Problems Since the publication of the bestselling, highly recommended first edition, R has considerably expanded both in popularity and in the number of packages available. Extending the Linear Model with R: Generalized Linear, Mixed Effects and Nonparametric Regression Models, Second Edition takes advantage of the greater functionality now available in R and substantially revises and adds several topics. New to the Second Edition Expanded coverage of binary and binomial responses, including proportion responses, quasibinomial and beta regression, and applied considerations regarding these models New sections on Poisson models with dispersion, zero inflated count models, linear discriminant analysis, and sandwich and robust estimation for generalized linear models (GLMs) Revised chapters on random effects and repeated measures that reflect changes in the lme4 package and show how to perform hypothesis testing for the models using other methods New chapter on the Bayesian analysis of mixed effect models that illustrates the use of STAN and presents the approximation method of INLA Revised chapter on generalized linear mixed models to reflect the much richer choice of fitting software now available Updated coverage of splines and confidence bands in the chapter on nonparametric regression New material on random forests for regression and classification Revamped R code throughout, particularly the many plots using the ggplot2 package Revised and expanded exercises with solutions now included Demonstrates the Interplay of Theory and Practice This textbook continues to cover a range of techniques that grow from the linear regression model. It presents three extensions to the linear framework: GLMs, mixed effect models, and nonparametric regression models. The book explains data analysis using real examples and includes all the R commands necessary to reproduce the analyses.
ISBN: 9781498720960Publication Date: 2016-03-24
A Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using R, Third Edition by
Like the best-selling first two editions, A Handbook of Statistical Analyses using R, Third Edition provides an up-to-date guide to data analysis using the R system for statistical computing. The book explains how to conduct a range of statistical analyses, from simple inference to recursive partitioning to cluster analysis. New to the Third Edition Three new chapters on quantile regression, missing values, and Bayesian inference Extra material in the logistic regression chapter that describes a regression model for ordered categorical response variables Additional exercises More detailed explanations of R code New section in each chapter summarizing the results of the analyses Updated version of the HSAUR package (HSAUR3), which includes some slides that can be used in introductory statistics courses Whether you're a data analyst, scientist, or student, this handbook shows you how to easily use R to effectively evaluate your data. With numerous real-world examples, it emphasizes the practical application and interpretation of results.
ISBN: 9781482204582Publication Date: 2014-06-25
The R Book by
The high-level language of R is recognized as one of the most powerful and flexible statistical software environments, and is rapidly becoming the standard setting for quantitative analysis, statistics and graphics. R provides free access to unrivalled coverage and cutting-edge applications, enabling the user to apply numerous statistical methods ranging from simple regression to time series or multivariate analysis. Building on the success of the author's bestselling Statistics: An Introduction using R, The R Book is packed with worked examples, providing an all inclusive guide to R, ideal for novice and more accomplished users alike. The book assumes no background in statistics or computing and introduces the advantages of the R environment, detailing its applications in a wide range of disciplines. Provides the first comprehensive reference manual for the R language, including practical guidance and full coverage of the graphics facilities. Introduces all the statistical models covered by R, beginning with simple classical tests such as chi-square and t-test. Proceeds to examine more advance methods, from regression and analysis of variance, through to generalized linear models, generalized mixed models, time series, spatial statistics, multivariate statistics and much more. The R Book is aimed at undergraduates, postgraduates and professionals in science, engineering and medicine. It is also ideal for students and professionals in statistics, economics, geography and the social sciences.
ISBN: 9780470510247Publication Date: 2007-06-19
R in a Nutshell by
If you're considering R for statistical computing and data visualization, this book provides a quick and practical guide to just about everything you can do with the open source R language and software environment. You'll learn how to write R functions and use R packages to help you prepare, visualize, and analyze data. Author Joseph Adler illustrates each process with a wealth of examples from medicine, business, and sports. Updated for R 2.14 and 2.15, this second edition includes new and expanded chapters on R performance, the ggplot2 data visualization package, and parallel R computing with Hadoop. Get started quickly with an R tutorial and hundreds of examples Explore R syntax, objects, and other language details Find thousands of user-contributed R packages online, including Bioconductor Learn how to use R to prepare data for analysis Visualize your data with R's graphics, lattice, and ggplot2 packages Use R to calculate statistical fests, fit models, and compute probability distributions Speed up intensive computations by writing parallel R programs for Hadoop Get a complete desktop reference to R
ISBN: 9781449312084Publication Date: 2012
Statistics by
"...I know of no better book of its kind..." (Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Vol 169 (1), January 2006) A revised and updated edition of this bestselling introductory textbook to statistical analysis using the leading free software package R This new edition of a bestselling title offers a concise introduction to a broad array of statistical methods, at a level that is elementary enough to appeal to a wide range of disciplines. Step-by-step instructions help the non-statistician to fully understand the methodology. The book covers the full range of statistical techniques likely to be needed to analyse the data from research projects, including elementary material like t--tests and chi--squared tests, intermediate methods like regression and analysis of variance, and more advanced techniques like generalized linear modelling. Includes numerous worked examples and exercises within each chapter.
ISBN: 9781118941096Publication Date: 2014-11-24
