Skip to Main Content

Comparative Indigenous Law

Treaties ​


The British extended its sovereignty in Canada in the 18th century. In doing so, it did not deny the legal rights of the Canadian Aboriginal peoples to continue to occupy their traditional lands. A royal proclamation of 1763 expressly reserved to Aboriginal peoples as their hunting grounds such parts of British territories that had not been ceded to or purchased by the British. The proclamation also recognised that where Aboriginal lands were to be settled, they had to be purchased by agreement with the Crown. During the 18th century through to the early 20th century, Aboriginal peoples entered into treaties that ceded large tracts of lands in return for reserve lands and other benefits. Much of Canada's land mass is covered by treaties. Currently, there are approximately 70 recognised treaties that form the basis of the relationship between 364 First Nations and the Crown.

Finding historic treaties 

Claims and Modern 


For more detail on specific claims, see the following book:


Ally Author


First Nation Authors

Ally Authors