Library Guides: Comparative Indigenous Law: Books &amp; Journals

Individual Journal Titles

Recent Open Access Articles & Book Chapters

First Nations Authors

Congressional Power and Sovereignty in Indian Affairs
Steele, Michalyn, 'Congressional Power and Sovereignty in Indian Affairs' (2018) Utah Law Review

Ally Authors

AALL 2023 Recap: “Researching the Implementation of Foreign and International Law on International Indigenous Peoples”
Capps, Meredith, 'AALL 2023 Recap: “Researching the Implementation of Foreign and International Law on International Indigenous Peoples” ' (August 3, 2023)
Justice for Native Nations: Insights from Legal Pluralism
Hendry, Jennifer and Melissa L Tatum, 'Justice for Native Nations: Insights from Legal Pluralism' (2018) 60 Arizona Law Review 91
Reading Indian Law: Evaluating Thirty Years of Indian Law Scholarship
Christensen, Grant and Melissa L Tatum, 'Reading Indian Law: Evaluating Thirty Years of Indian Law Scholarship' (2018) 54 Tulsa Law Review
Tribal Sovereignty and the Recognition Power
Sorenson, Lance, 'Tribal Sovereignty and the Recognition Power' (November 6, 2017)

Journals & Journal Articles

To find scholarly articles on your Native American Law topic, irrespective of the journals in which they appear, we recommend the following general law indexes to journal literature:

Index to Legal Periodicals (UniMelb staff & student access)
Indexes over 1000 legal journals and law reviews (many in full text), mostly from the early 1980s
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908–1981
SSRN (open access)
For very up to date full text unpublished and forthcoming scholarship
National Indian Law Library website (open access)
Specialist collections of scholarly articles on Native American Law include the Law Reviews/Bar Journals Bulletin on the National Indian Law Library website. The links are to mostly open access full text articles. Articles from 1988 to current are included.
Secondary Sources Research
For more journal article databases, refer to our Secondary Sources Research guide. This will recommend databases that index articles from hundreds of journals, which can be searched at the same time.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with millions of pages of legal history available in an online, fully searchable, image-based format. The collection features legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries in addition to a vast collection of current-day law journals. Each collection can be searched separately, or cross-searched from the HeinOnline homepage.