Skip to Main Content

Which review is that? A guide to review types.

A typology of literature reviews

Rapid Review

 
“A rapid review is a form of knowledge synthesis that accelerates the process of conducting a traditional systematic review through streamlining or omitting specific methods to produce evidence for stakeholders in a resource-efficient manner.” (Garritty et. al, 2020)

Rapid reviews target high quality and authoritative resources for time-critical decision-making or clinically urgent questions. Yet like a systematic review they aim to identify the key concepts, theories and resources in a field, and to survey the major research studies.  Less time may be spent on critical appraisal as systematic reviews, evidence briefs and clinical guidelines are sought in preference to exhaustive coverage of primary studies.

Resources/Further Reading


Guidelines

Garritty C, Gartlehner G, Kamel C, King VJ, Nussbaumer-Streit B, Stevens A, Hamel C, Affengruber L. Cochrane Rapid Reviews. Interim Guidance from the Cochrane Rapid Reviews Methods Group. March 2020. Full Text PDF

Other


Cochrane Rapid Review Methods
Link

Grant MJ, Booth A.  A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies.  Health Information and Libraries Journal.  2009; 26(2):91-108. Full Text

Haby, M.M., Chapman, E., Clark, R. et al. What are the best methodologies for rapid reviews of the research evidence for evidence-informed decision making in health policy and practice: a rapid review. Health Res Policy Sys 14, 83 (2016). Full Text


Schünemann, H. (Ed.). (n.d.). Advances in rapid reviews. www.biomedcentral.com. Retrieved June 21, 2022, from https://www.biomedcentral.com/collections/arr 
Link

Dobbins, M. (2017). Rapid review guidebook. Natlonal Collaborating Centre for  Methods and Tools, 13, 25.  Full Text PDF


Pandor A, Kaltenthaler E, Martyn-St James M, Wong R, Cooper K, Dimairo M, O’Cathain A, Campbell F, Booth A. (2019), Delphi consensus reached to produce a decision tool for SelecTing Approaches for Rapid Reviews (STARR), Journal of Clinical Epidemiology 
Link

Ganann R, Ciliska D and Helen T.  Expediting systematic reviews: methods and implications of rapid reviews. Implementation Science. 2010; 5:56.
Full Text

Tricco AC, Antony J, Zarin W, et al. A scoping review of rapid review methods.  BMC Medicine. 2015;13:224.
Full Text

Khangura, S., Konnyu, K., Cushman, R., Grimshaw, J., & Moher, D. (2012). Evidence summaries: the evolution of a rapid review approach. Systematic reviews, 1(1), 1. Full Text

Examples


Abboah-Offei, M., Salifu, Y., Adewale, B., Bayuo, J., Ofosu-Poku, R., & Opare-Lokko, E. (2021). A rapid review of the use of face mask in preventing the spread of COVID-19. International journal of nursing studies advances3, 100013. Full Text


Nussbaumer-Streit, B., Mayr, V., Dobrescu, A. I., Chapman, A., Persad, E., Klerings, I., ... & Gartlehner, G. (2020). Quarantine alone or in combination with other public health measures to control COVIDÔÇÉ19: a rapid review. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (9). Full Text

References
Garritty C, Gartlehner G, Kamel C, King VJ, Nussbaumer-Streit B, Stevens A, Hamel C, Affengruber L. Cochrane Rapid Reviews. Interim Guidance from the Cochrane Rapid Reviews Methods Group. March 2020. Full Text PDF