Scoping Review
Scoping Reviews are..
“exploratory projects that systematically map the literature available on a topic, identifying key concepts, theories, sources of evidence and gaps in the research” (2020, Canadian Institutes of Health Research)
Arksey and O’Malley (2005) originally introduced a framework for conducting scoping reviews. It has since been further developed and added over time with the changes and adaptions addressing the need for a more rigorous and transparent process to be applied to scoping review methodology (Aromataris., & E, Munn Z, 2020). Scoping reviews can also be referred to as 'mapping reviews' or 'scoping studies' in the literature.
See our dedicated guide for Scoping Reviews
Further Reading/Resources
Aromataris E, Munn Z (Eds). (2020) JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis. JBI, 2020. https://doi.org/10.46658/JBIMES-20-01 Full text
Arksey, H., & O'Malley, L. (2005). Scoping studies: towards a methodological framework. International journal of social research methodology, 8(1), 19-32. Full Text
Munn, Z., Peters, M. D. J., Stern, C., Tufanaru, C., McArthur, A., & Aromataris, E. (2018). Systematic review or scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approach. BMC Medical Research Methodology, 18(1), 143. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12874-018-0611-x Full text
Pollock, D., Davies, E. L., Peters, M. D., Tricco, A. C., Alexander, L., McInerney, P., ... & Munn, Z. (2021). Undertaking a scoping review: A practical guide for nursing and midwifery students, clinicians, researchers, and academics. Journal of advanced nursing, 77(4), 2102-2113. Full Text
Peters, M. D., Godfrey, C. M., Khalil, H., McInerney, P., Parker, D., & Soares, C. B. (2015). Guidance for conducting systematic scoping reviews. JBI Evidence Implementation, 13(3), 141-146. Full text
Peters, M. D., Marnie, C., Tricco, A. C., Pollock, D., Munn, Z., Alexander, L., ... & Khalil, H. (2020). Updated methodological guidance for the conduct of scoping reviews. JBI evidence synthesis, 18(10), 2119-2126. Full Text
Tricco, A., Oboirien, K., Lotfi, T., Sambunjak, D., (2017). Scoping reviews: what they are and how you can do them. Cochrane Training. Link
PRISMA for Scoping Reviews, (2020) Link
Tricco, AC, Lillie, E, Zarin, W, O'Brien, KK, Colquhoun, H, Levac, D, Moher, D, Peters, MD, Horsley, T, Weeks, L, Hempel, S et al. (2018). PRISMA extension for scoping reviews (PRISMA-ScR): checklist and explanation. Annals of Internal Medicine. 169(7):467-473. doi:10.7326/M18-0850. Full text
Pham, M. T., Rajić, A., Greig, J. D., Sargeant, J. M., Papadopoulos, A., & McEwen, S. A. (2014). A scoping review of scoping reviews: advancing the approach and enhancing the consistency. Research synthesis methods, 5(4), 371–385. https://doi.org/10.1002/jrsm.1123 Full text
Example
Hladkowicz, E., Dumitrascu, F., Auais, M., Beck, A., Davis, S., McIsaac, D. I., Miller, J., (2022). Evaluations of postoperative transitions in care for older adults: a scoping review. BMC Geriatrics 22, 329. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12877-022-02989-6 Full text
Aromataris E, Munn Z (Eds). (2020) JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis. JBI, 2020.https://doi.org/10.46658/JBIMES-20-01 Full text
References
Arksey, H., & O'Malley, L. (2005). Scoping studies: towards a methodological framework. International journal of social research methodology, 8(1), 19-32. Full Text