Library Guides: Which review is that? A guide to review types.: Review of Reviews

Review of Reviews

An overview of reviews (also known as a 'review of reviews') collates multiple reviews with the aim to demonstrate conclusive evidence for clinical decision making.

Further Reading/Resources

Checklist
Aromataris, E., Fernandez, R., Godfrey, C., Holly, C., Khalil, H., & Tungpunkom, P. (2014). The Joanna Briggs Institute reviewers’ manual 2014: methodology for JBI umbrella reviews. University of Adelaide: Joanna Briggs Institute. Full Text PDF

Critical Appraisal

Shea, B. J., Grimshaw, J. M., Wells, G. A., Boers, M., Andersson, N., Hamel, C., ... & Bouter, L. M. (2007). Development of AMSTAR: a measurement tool to assess the methodological quality of systematic reviews. BMC medical research methodology, 7(1), 1-7. Full Text

Whiting, P., Savović, J., Higgins, J. P., Caldwell, D. M., Reeves, B. C., Shea, B., ... & Churchill, R. (2016). ROBIS: a new tool to assess risk of bias in systematic reviews was developed. Journal of clinical epidemiology, 69, 225-234. Full Text

Other

Pollock, M., Fernandes, R. M., Becker, L. A., Pieper, D., & Hartling, L. (2020). Chapter V: overviews of reviews. Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions version, 6.v Full Text

Pollock, M., Fernandes, R. M., Newton, A. S., Scott, S. D., & Hartling, L. (2019). A decision tool to help researchers make decisions about including systematic reviews in overviews of reviews of healthcare interventions. Systematic reviews, 8(1), 1-8. Full Text

Fusar-Poli, P., & Radua, J. (2018). Ten simple rules for conducting umbrella reviews. Evidence-based mental health, 21(3), 95-100. Full Text

Example

Marco, D. J. T., Thomas, K., Ivynian, S., Wilding, H., Parker, D., Tieman, J., & Hudson, P. (2022). Family carer needs in advanced disease: systematic review of reviews. BMJ Supportive & Palliative Care, 12(2), 132-141. Full Text