Employment Law
Books on Australian employment law are generally located at KN 190 K1 and KN 192 K1.
Macken's Law of Employment by
Australia's most established & respected book on the area, The Law of Employment offers students a comprehensive, thorough & scholarly analysis of the law pertaining to the relationship between employers & employees. Each chapter examines the important cases & developments, reflecting the changing nature of employment law.
Macken's law of employment by
Australia's most established & respected book on the area, The Law of Employment offers students a comprehensive, thorough & scholarly analysis of the law pertaining to the relationship between employers & employees. Each chapter examines the important cases & developments, reflecting the changing nature of employment law.
Fair work legislation 2021-22 by
Fair Work Legislation 2021-2022 comprises the Federal Workplace legislation including the Fair Work Act 2009 and Regulations, Independent Contractors Act and Regulation and Paid Parental Leave Act 2010 and Rules and associated Acts and legislation, capturing the latest amendments up to August 2021. Key benefits of Fair Work Legislation 2021 - 2022: Consolidated version of the core federal workplace legislation in one handy volume. Details of any future commencements Cross-references indicating where a particular regulation or rule affects a section of the Fair Work Act 2009 Editor's notes providing information about transitional, application and savings provisions and notification of amendments which have received assent but which commence on a future date Modification and application notes, where relevant Key section annotations Annual review highlighting the developments since the previous edition.
Labour law: an introduction to the law of work by
The text offers a principled and thematic approach to the law relating to the relationships under which people perform work in a contemporary society. It will be concise, and will resist the temptation to include too much technical detail, and too much historical material.It will present a critical understanding of the regulation of working relationships in a social and economic context. Material will be arranged under broad themes to encourage students to develop a deep understanding of the subject. It will include the essential elements of the syllabus for both alaw school and business school elective in employment and labour law, but will avoid too much technical detail, preferring to explain the underlying concepts.Key Features/Key Selling Points of the book- The text will place the subject in its contemporary context and provide a broad, thematic approach to understanding the subject, rather than a narrowly technical approach.- While it will cover the essential principles of law, it will do so in way that explains the role and significance of these rules and principles - and directs readers to other sources for more technical detail.- It will be written from the perspective of the intelligent and critical student approaching the subject for the first time, and seeking to understand the present world of work, and future directions.- The text is concise, readable and affordable resource for students, to frame their own wider reading in primary sources.- The IRM will include PowerPoint summaries, ice breaker questions with suggested solutions and short answer questions with suggested solutions.
Labour law : an introduction to the law of work by
The text offers a principled and thematic approach to the law relating to the relationships under which people perform work in a contemporary society. It will be concise, and will resist the temptation to include too much technical detail, and too much historical material. It will present a critical understanding of the regulation of working relationships in a social and economic context. Material will be arranged under broad themes to encourage students to develop a deep understanding of the subject. It will include the essential elements of the syllabus for both a law school and business school elective in employment and labour law, but will avoid too much technical detail, preferring to explain the underlying concepts. Key Features/Key Selling Points of the book - The text will place the subject in its contemporary context and provide a broad, thematic approach to understanding the subject, rather than a narrowly technical approach.- While it will cover the essential principles of law, it will do so in way that explains the role and significance of these rules and principles - and directs readers to other sources for more technical detail.- It will be written from the perspective of the intelligent and critical student approaching the subject for the first time, and seeking to understand the present world of work, and future directions.- The text is concise, readable and affordable resource for students, to frame their own wider reading in primary sources.- The IRM will include PowerPoint summaries, ice breaker questions with suggested solutions and short answer questions with suggested solutions.
Stewart's guide to employment law by
Stewart’s Guide to Employment Law is renowned for its succinct and accessible coverage of this complex area of the law. The author’s unique expertise and experience make this a high-quality book with a clear and cohesive style. This is a highly regarded, dependable choice of book for anyone needing an introduction to employment law.Stewart’s Guide to Employment Law is renowned for its succinct and accessible coverage of this complex area of the law. The author’s unique expertise and experience makes this a highly regarded book, and its clear and cohesive style makes it essential reading for anyone needing an introduction to employment law.
Annotated Fair Work Act and related legislation 2021 by
This book, extracted from Workplace Law - Fair Work (looseleaf service), provides extensive coverage of key employment law legislation accompanied by authoritative annotations written by an expert author team. This 2021 edition includes the latest legislative amendments current as at 1 October 2020, including, inter alia, those arising from the Coronavirus Economic Response Package (Omnibus Measures No. 2) Act 2020, Coronavirus Economic Response Package (Jobkeeper Payments) Act 2020, Fair Work Amendment (Jobkeeper Payments) Regulations 2020, Paid Parental Leave Amendment (Flexibility Measures) Act 2020, Paid Parental Leave Amendment (Flexibility Measures) Rules 2020, Paid Parental Leave Amendment (Coronavirus Economic Response) Rules 2020, and more
The contract of employment by
The Contract of Employment, 2nd edition offers Australian lawyers the most comprehensive, systematic and intellectually rigorous treatment of the contract of employment. With more Australian cases and less UK content, it focuses more on the law as it now stands rather than the historical development of the common law. It explains general principles articulated in appellate courts, particularly the High Court. It provides more references to the statutory context of employment and places the discussion of doctrines within the ongoing academic debates about the nature, functions and operation of the employment contract.
General protections under the Fair Work Act by
The general protections provisions of the Fair Work Act (Part 3-1) are intended to protect workplace rights, promote freedom of association and provide protection from workplace discrimination. Written by lawyers experienced in the field, General Protections Under the Fair Work Act is a single volume resource uniquely focused entirely upon Part 3-1 and providing guidance for legal practitioners and HR professionals who deal with proposing, issuing or responding to claims under the Act. The authors give detailed consideration to examine the legislative provisions underpinning each of the causes of action which exist under Part 3-1; examine the relevant case law; and analyse the relief available under the Act. Features ¿ A single resource on employment law protections ¿ Provides analysis and guidance ¿ Practical focus.
General protections under the Fair Work Act by
The general protections provisions of the Fair Work Act (Part 3-1) are intended to protect workplace rights, promote freedom of association and provide protection from workplace discrimination. Written by lawyers experienced in the field, General Protections Under the Fair Work Act is a single volume resource uniquely focused entirely upon Part 3-1 and providing guidance for legal practitioners and HR professionals who deal with proposing, issuing or responding to claims under the Act. The authors give detailed consideration to examine the legislative provisions underpinning each of the causes of action which exist under Part 3-1; examine the relevant case law; and analyse the relief available under the Act. Features ¿ A single resource on employment law protections ¿ Provides analysis and guidance ¿ Practical focus
Nutshell: employment law by
Lawbook Co. Nutshells are the essential revision tool: they provide a concise outline of the principles for each of the major subject areas within undergraduate law.
Written in clear, straight-forward language, the authors explain the principles, and highlight key cases and legislative provisions for each subject.
Australian anti-discrimination and equal opportunity law by
This new edition of Australia's most comprehensive book on anti-discrimination law has been fully revised and updated, re-written and reformatted to enhance its accessibility. It continues to offer both a substantial text for a specialist audience, and a powerful critique of anti-discrimination law in Australia.
The authors support their analysis and explanation of legislation and case law with carefully-selected extracts from a broad range of decisions, law reform reports, and academic writers and commentators.Key Features of the New EditionRevised introduction to and overview of Australian anti-discrimination law.
Collective bargaining under the Fair Work Act by
Is the system of collective bargaining under the Fair Work Act broken? Both employers and unions think that it is, and that the legislation requires significant amendment. Are they right? This collection answers this question by examining the operation, effects and impact of the framework for enterprise bargaining established by the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth) nine years after it was enacted. The legislation, introduced by the Rudd Labor Government, was ostensibly intended to restore a collectivist focus to the system of industrial regulation following the Howard Coalition Government's 'Work Choices' experiment. The 'Fair Work' model is now sufficiently mature to permit an informed examination of its practical operation, including its response to continuing rapid social, economic, structural and labour market change, and an evaluation of how it can and should respond to these changes in the future.Comprising contributions from leading Australian scholars in the fields of law and industrial relations, and critical reflections on the operation of the Australian model from North American and United Kingdom contributors, this collection provides that evaluation, exploring the critical successes and failures of the Fair Work Act and setting out directions for future change.
Collective bargaining under the Fair Work Act by
Is the system of collective bargaining under the Fair Work Act broken? Both employers and unions think that it is, and that the legislation requires significant amendment. Are they right? This collection answers this question by examining the operation, effects and impact of the framework for enterprise bargaining established by the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth) nine years after it was enacted. This legislation, introduced by the Rudd Labor Government, was ostensibly intended to restore a collectivist focus to the system of industrial regulation following the Howard Coalition Government’s ‘Work Choices’ experiment. The ‘Fair Work’ model is now sufficiently mature to permit an informed examination of its practical operation, including its response to continuing rapid social, economic, structural and labour market change, and an evaluation of how it can and should respond to these changes in the future. Comprising contributions from leading Australian scholars in the fields of law and industrial relations, and critical reflections on the operation of the Australian model from North American and United Kingdom contributors, this collection provides that evaluation, exploring the critical successes and failures of the Fair Work Act and setting out directions for future change.
Employment, labour and industrial law in Australia by
Employment, Labour and Industrial Law in Australia provides a comprehensive, current and accessible resource for the undergraduate and Juris Doctor student. With a social and political background to the law, this text provides insightful legal analysis underscored by practical business experience, while exploring key principles through a close evaluation of laws and lively discussion of prominent cases. Recognising the multi-faceted nature of the subject, the authors have included content on employment, labour and industrial law in the one text, while also presenting critical topics not often dealt with, namely: * current and in-depth analysis of trade union regulation * public work including the public sector, the judiciary and academics * workplace health and safety including worker's compensation, bullying, anti-discrimination and taxation * emerging issues including topics such as transnational and international employment law, migration and employment, as well as volunteers and work experience. To maintain currency within this rapidly changing area of law, the text has a website which will include updates for any major developments in the field as well as responses to end-of-chapter questions. Written by respected academics and practicing lawyers in the field, this book is a relevant and contemporary guide to this fascinating area of law.
Employment, labour and industrial law in Australia by
Employment, Labour and Industrial Law in Australia provides a comprehensive, current and accessible resource for the undergraduate and Juris Doctor student. With a social and political background to the law, this text provides insightful legal analysis underscored by practical business experience, while exploring key principles through a close evaluation of laws and lively discussion of prominent cases. Recognising the multi-faceted nature of the subject, the authors have included content on employment, labour and industrial law in the one text, while also presenting critical topics not often dealt with, namely: * current and in-depth analysis of trade union regulation * public work including the public sector, the judiciary and academics * workplace health and safety including worker's compensation, bullying, anti-discrimination and taxation * emerging issues including topics such as transnational and international employment law, migration and employment, as well as volunteers and work experience. To maintain currency within this rapidly changing area of law, the text has a website which will include updates for any major developments in the field as well as responses to end-of-chapter questions. Written by respected academics and practicing lawyers in the field, this book is a relevant and contemporary guide to this fascinating area of law.
Labour and employment compliance in Australia by
Detailed attention to compliance with labour and employment laws is crucial for success in setting up business in a foreign country. This book - one of a series derived from Kluwer's matchless publication International Labour and Employment Compliance Handbook - focuses on the relevant laws and regulations in Australia. It is thoroughly practical in orientation. Employers and their counsel can be assured that it fulfills the need for accurate and detailed knowledge of laws in Australia on all aspects of employment, from recruiting to termination, working conditions, compensation and benefits to collective bargaining. The volume proceeds in a logical sequence through such topics as the following: written and oral contracts interviewing and screening evaluations and warnings severance pay reductions in force temporary workers trade union rights wage and hour laws employee benefits workers' compensation safety and environmental regulations immigration law compliance restrictive covenants anti-discrimination laws employee privacy rights dispute resolution recordkeeping requirements A wealth of practical features such as checklists of do's and don'ts, step-by-step compliance measures, applicable fines and penalties, and much more contribute to the book's day-to-day usefulness. Easy to understand for lawyers and non-lawyers alike, this book is sure to be welcomed by business executives and human resources professionals, as well as by corporate counsel and business lawyers.
Principles of employment law by
Principles of Employment Law, 5th Edition opens the world of work regulation to students and practitioners by offering astute explanations of key topics. Traversing issues such as identification employment relationships, the position of contractors and casual employees, duties of employment, enterprise agreements and awards, unfair dismissal and discrimination, the latest edition is the last word on work and law.
Principles of employment law by
Principles of Employment Law, 5th Edition opens the world of work regulation to students and practitioners by offering astute explanations of key topics. Traversing issues such as identification employment relationships, the position of contractors and casual employees, duties of employment, enterprise agreements and awards, unfair dismissal and discrimination, the latest edition is the last word on work and law.
This edition adds to analysis of key statutory regimes fresh insights on workplace safety, the current approach to unfair dismissal, the provisions on adverse action, and bullying. New coverage also includes employee mental health disclosure and obligations in their use of social media outside of work.
One of the leading texts in the field, Principles of Employment Law is a seasoned, up-to-date and timely exposition of the rules of work and their contexts in policy and politics.
The shaping of labour law legislation : underlying elements of Australia's workplace relations system by 
Creighton & Stewart's labour law by
The latest edition of this leading text features a new and expanded team of authors, who explain and analyse Australia's complex system of labour regulation.
The book has been substantially restructured and updated to cover the many statutory amendments introduced or proposed over the past five years, especially to the Fair Work legislation, but also on matters such as work health and safety.