Books on property law in Australia are generally located at KN 50 K1 and KN 60 K1.
Australian Property Law by
Australian Property Law: Principles to Practice is an engaging introduction to property law in Australia. Covering substantive law and procedural matters, this textbook presents the law of personal and real property in a contemporary light. Australian Property Law details how property law practice is transformed by technology and provides insights into contemporary challenges and risks. Taking a thematic approach, the text covers possession of goods and land, land tenure, estates and future interests, property registration systems, Indigenous land rights and native title, social housing, Crown land and ethics. Complex concepts are contextualised by linking case law and legislation to practical applications. Each chapter is supported by digital tools including case and legislation boxes with links to the full source online, links to useful online resources, multiple-choice questions, review questions and longer narrative problems. Australian Property Law provides an essential introduction to the principles and practice of property law in an ever-changing technological environment.
Property law : concepts and doctrine by
Property Law Concepts and Doctrine provides an authoritative yet accessible analysis of property law in New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia. It includes comprehensive coverage of all key principles, combining clear explanations of fundamental concepts with critical appraisal and evaluation of its doctrines. The well-structured discussion and analysis make it an ideal resource for law students and the authoritative commentary is an essential reference for practitioners in the area
Australian property law : cases, materials and analysis by
This important book introduces the conceptual framework of interests in real and personal property. Carefully selected case and legislation extracts from across Australian jurisdictions are discussed in detail and relevant principles highlighted. The commentary evaluates the area of law, the status and effect of important decisions, and subsequent judicial and legislative developments. References to further secondary materials are provided. Each chapter contains review questions and answer guides, outlining how to approach questions and apply relevant case law and legislation.
The fifth edition has been fully revised and updated throughout to incorporate relevant recent developments in case law and legislation. New discussion on electronic conveyancing covers repudiation of a digital signature, priority notices and the decision in Astell v ACT (2016) on damages for fraud. New case extracts and commentary include: Northern Territory v Griffith (2019) (assessment of compensation for extinguishment of native title rights); Pipikos v Trayans (2018) (part performance); Boensch v Pascoe (2019) (caveats); Deguisa v Lynn (2019) (obligation of Torrens land purchasers to search other titles as to whether land subject to building scheme).
Sackville and Neave Australian property law by
The book retains the structure adopted in the ninth edition and incorporates various innovations, including an increased focus on the transactional context within which the substantive law operates. Chapter 1 deals with conceptual issues that underpin and define the ambit of property law. Later chapters examine four broad issues with which the law of property is concerned: the fragmentation of proprietary interests (Ch 2, 3 & 6); the acquisition and transfer of proprietary interests (Ch 4); and the enforceability of proprietary interests and related priority issues (Ch 4 & 5). The book also examines the rules regulating the creation and enforcement of particular interests in land, including leases, easements, restrictive covenants and mortgages.
Sackville & Neave Australian property law by
Sackville & Neave Australian Property Law provides a comprehensive review of property law covering the creation, transfer and enforceability of interests in real and personal property in all Australian jurisdictions. The conceptual issues that underpin and define the ambit of property law are clearly explained in the opening chapters to provide a sound foundation for understanding this complex area. The book then examines four broad issues with which the law of property is concerned: the fragmentation of proprietary interests, the acquisition and transfer of proprietary interests, the enforceability of proprietary interests, and related priority issues. The rules regulating the creation and enforcement of particular interests in land, including leases, easements, restrictive covenants and mortgages, are also analysed and explained.
Australian real property law by
For close to 25 years, Australian Real Property Law has been a preeminent land law text for students within university property law units and the practising profession. The 6th edition continues to provide coverage of all states and territories and remains a first point of reference for any person with a land law problem. This latest edition continues the chapter order of earlier editions, but with extensive restructuring of areas such as defeasible transactions, easements, dispositions, and mortgages. All chapters have been edited to highlight new case-law authority, legislative change, and where appropriate, secondary authority such as the resources associated with the introduction of electronic conveyancing and the Australian Law Reform Commission Report on Native Title, Connection to Country.
Australian real property law by
For close to 25 years, Australian Real Property Law has been a preeminent land law text for students within university property law units and the practising profession. The 6th edition continues to provide coverage of all states and territories and remains a first point of reference for any person with a land law problem. This latest edition continues the chapter order of earlier editions, but with extensive restructuring of areas such as defeasible transactions, easements, dispositions, and mortgages. All chapters have been edited to highlight new case-law authority, legislative change, and where appropriate, secondary authority such as the resources associated with the introduction of electronic conveyancing and the Australian Law Reform Commission Report on Native Title, Connection to Country.
Property law by
LexisNexis Questions and Answers: Property Law is designed to facilitate both continuous review and preparation for examinations on a comprehensive range of topics within the property law curriculum. This book provides an understanding of property law and gives a clear and systematic approach to analysing and answering problem and exam questions.
Each chapter commences with a summary of the key issues. Each question is followed by a suggested answer plan, a sample answer and comments on how the answer might be assessed by an examiner. The ‘Keep in Mind’ sections provide advice on potential errors to avoid when answering questions.
A new chapter on personal property securities is included in this fourth edition.
Focus land law by
Focus: Land Law provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the principles of land law in Australia. The book is designed to develop greater understanding of land law by identifying and explaining the key areas of study using a straightforward, structured approach and written in plain English. Referencing cases and legislation in all states and territories, book covers basic land law concepts, successive interests, concurrent interests, leases and licence, native title, the Torrens system and encumbrances under the Torrens system. The fifth edition has been extensively revised and includes new chapters on real property transactions and the Australian Consumer Law and Strata and Community titles. Sample problems and guided answers in each chapter are designed to test knowledge by reference to hypothetical scenarios calling for legal analysis.
Legal and equitable property rights by
This book provides a precise understanding of legal and equitable property. John Tarrant sets out a unifying theory of legal and equitable property rights and shows how property rights fit within private law.
Commercial and personal property law : selected issues by
A custom publication for students studying Commercial and Personal Property Law at QUT.
This 3rd edition includes two new original chapters on the Personal Property Securities Act 2009 (Cth) written by Associate Professor Bill Dixon, as well as current material sourced from the Thomson Reuters portfolio.
This publication is also available to other institutions.
An introduction to property law in Australia by
This new work provides a concise, yet comprehensive, explanation of personal & real property law & is constructed in a very clear logical style giving students the means to deal with the complexity of this subject. Covering all aspects of real & intangible property, the book opens with an explanation of the fundamental concepts of property & introduces the law step-by-step, building on the complexity of the discussion as the reader progresses through the text.
An introduction to property law in Australia by
This new work provides a concise, yet comprehensive, explanation of personal & real property law & is constructed in a very clear logical style giving students the means to deal with the complexity of this subject. Covering all aspects of real & intangible property, the book opens with an explanation of the fundamental concepts of property & introduces the law step-by-step, building on the complexity of the discussion as the reader progresses through the text.
Nutshell: real property law by
The essence of the law. Lawbook Co. Nutshells are the essential revision tool: they provide a concise outline of the principles for each of the major subject areas within undergraduate law. Written in clear, straight-forward language, the authors explain the principles, and highlight key cases and legislative provisions for each subject.
Butt's land law by
This edition continues the approach of previous editions. It traces the development of land law from its English origins, but in the context of local conditions that led to the emergence of a uniquely Australian land law. Also, this edition broadens the focus of the chapters on general land law to include all Australian jurisdictions.
All chapters have been completely revised to incorporate the many recent statutory developments and case law. Areas of significant change extend to co-ownership, leases, easements, mortgages, strata title, Torrens title, Crown lands, and Indigenous rights to land, including native title and statutory land rights. This edition concludes with a new chapter on compulsory acquisition of land.
The book is written both for students seeking a structured and accessible approach to land law, as well as for practitioners and researchers looking for detailed coverage and references to secondary literature.
Butt's land law by
Comprehensive coverage of all areas and jurisdictions of contemporary land law.
Land Law, 7th edition provides a comprehensive coverage of all areas and jurisdictions of contemporary land law.
This edition continues the approach of previous editions. It traces the development of land law from its English origins, but in the context of local conditions that led to the emergence of a uniquely Australian land law. Also, this edition broadens the focus of the chapters on general land law to include all Australian jurisdictions.
All chapters have been completely revised to incorporate the many recent statutory developments and case law. Areas of significant change extend to co-ownership, leases, easements, mortgages, strata title, Torrens title, Crown lands, and Indigenous rights to land, including native title and statutory land rights. This edition concludes with a new chapter on compulsory acquisition of land.
The book is written both for students seeking a structured and accessible approach to land law, as well as for practitioners and researchers looking for detailed coverage and references to secondary literature.