International Law
Books on international law are generally located at KC 80 (covering both public & private international law) and KC 100 (public international law).
- Link to International Law - Australia catalogue resultsBelow is a list of our recommended items from the catalogue.
Essentials of international law : an Australian context by
Essentials of International Law: An Australian Context provides a comprehensive guide to the basic rules and sources of international law. Designed as a concise and accessible reference for both students and practitioners, it offers Australia-specific examples to contextualise international law concepts for Australian readers. Key principles, cases, legislation, treaties and other international instruments are identified and explained succinctly.
Call Number: KC 123 A82 NOORPublication Date: 2023
Private international law in Australia by
Private International Law in Australia is highly regarded book provides a clear and comprehensive analysis of the principles of private international law and the methods by which such principles are applied to cross-border legal problems in Australia.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2023- Public International Law by
Public international law is a global legal system which regulates the conduct of countries and other actors. Public International Law offers Australian students a comprehensive and accessible introduction to international law. Covering the fundamental topics of international law - including treaties, use of force and dispute settlement - this text also discusses specialised branches such as humanitarian law, criminal law and environmental law. The key principles and theories of international law are clearly explained and analysed, and their application is illustrated by succinct, carefully chosen extracts from cases and materials. These sources strike a balance between key international cases and important cases from domestic legal systems. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter encourage students to apply and test their understanding of each topic, while a glossary of key terms clearly explains complex concepts. Written by an expert author team, Public International Law is a fundamental resource for Australian students of international law. Australian students of international law. Australian students of international law. Australian students of international law.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781009052696Publication Date: 2023
International human rights Law by
The only introductory, straightforward textbook on International Human Rights Law: Broad in scope, concise in approach.International Human Rights Law, ninth edition, provides a concise and wide-ranging introduction for students new to the subject. Written with newcomers in mind, the book's concise and direct approach enables students with no legal background to develop a good understanding of International Human Rights Law.Coverage includes regional systems of protection, the role of the UN, and a variety of substantive rights. The author skilfully guides students through the complexities of the subject, and then prepares them for further study and research. Key cases and areas of debate are highlighted throughout, and a wealth of references to cases and further readings are provided at the end of each chapter.NEW TO THIS EDITIONThe discussion topics and examples have been updated and a new overview of international law has been added to the introductionIncludes a new chapter on sustainable development and human rights, with particular focus on the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable DevelopmentExpanded coverage of freedom of expression in the digital age and of the challenges posed by non-state actors.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
Call Number: KC 200 SMITPublication Date: 2020
Principles of international law by
Principles of International Law provides a clear, succinct and accessible guide to the cardinal concepts of public international law by covering its structure, systematic requirements and major substantive topics.
Each chapter contains a clear statement of objectives, a list of key instruments and authorities, a lucid statement of the law, original analysis and commentary, extracts from treaties and other legal instruments, and helpful case summaries and extracts. Problem questions with suggested responses and further discussion questions are provided. An appendix of basic documents is included for convenient quick reference.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2019- Principles of international law by
Principles of International Law provides a clear, succinct and accessible guide to the cardinal concepts of public international law by covering its structure, systematic requirements and major substantive topics.
Each chapter contains a clear statement of objectives, a list of key instruments and authorities, a lucid statement of the law, original analysis and commentary, extracts from treaties and other legal instruments, and helpful case summaries and extracts. Problem questions with suggested responses and further discussion questions are provided. An appendix of basic documents is included for convenient quick reference.
The sixth edition is updated and revised to incorporate the most recent developments in international law across a wide range of areas. Recent decisions of the International Court of Justice, the International Criminal Court and other international and domestic tribunals have been added. The extended coverage includes:
Call Number: High Use KC 80 HALLPublication Date: 2019
Brownlie's principles of public international law by
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 50 years. Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research. Authored by James Crawford, the ninth edition further secures the work as the essential international law text for students and practitioners.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2019- Brownlie's principles of public international law by
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law has been shaping the study and application of international law for over 50 years. Serving as a single-volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book is one of the classic treatises on international law, now fully updated to order to take account of recent developments. It includes extensive references in order to provide a solid foundation for further research. Authored by James Crawford, the ninth edition further secures the work as the essential international law text for students and practitioners.
Call Number: High Use KC 100 BROWPublication Date: 2019
LexisNexis workbook : public international law by
LexisNexis Workbook: Public International Law is an invaluable resource for assessment and exam preparation in international law
Call Number: KC 100 HEATPublication Date: 2019
International law : cases and materials with Australian perspectives by
Now in its third edition, International Law: Cases and Materials with Australian Perspectives remains an authoritative textbook on international law for Australian students. With a strong focus on Australian practice and interpretation, the text examines how international law is developed, implemented and interpreted within the international community and considers new and developing approaches within this field. This edition has been comprehensively updated to address recent developments in international law. The selection of cases and materials provides a thorough coverage of core areas and addresses a range of contemporary challenges, including climate change, human rights, nuclear proliferation and the South China Sea. A new chapter on international trade law reflects the growing importance of this body of law in Australian practice. Guiding commentary provides a rigorous analysis of key principles. Written by a team of experts with substantial experience in this field, International Law is an essential resource for students.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2018- International law : cases and materials with Australian perspectives by
Now in its third edition, International Law: Cases and Materials with Australian Perspectives remains an authoritative textbook on international law for Australian students. With a strong focus on Australian practice and interpretation, the text examines how international law is developed, implemented and interpreted within the international community and considers new and developing approaches within this field. This edition has been comprehensively updated to address recent developments in international law. The selection of cases and materials provides a thorough coverage of core areas and addresses a range of contemporary challenges, including climate change, human rights, nuclear proliferation and the South China Sea. A new chapter on international trade law reflects the growing importance of this body of law in Australian practice. Guiding commentary provides a rigorous analysis of key principles. Written by a team of experts with substantial experience in this field, International Law is an essential resource for students.
Call Number: High Use KC 123 A83 ROTHPublication Date: 2018
International law in Australia by
International Law in Australia is the third edition in a landmark series that since 1965 has tracked the development and significance of international law for Australia. With eminent contributors from academia, government and the profession, International Law in Australia provides an exhaustive and contemporary account of Australia's interactions with international law in the 21st century. The work divides into analysis of critical aspects of Australia's international law engagement with international organisations, treaty making, dispute resolution and the interaction of international law with Australian law. Consideration is also given to Australian state practice and engagement in traditional areas of international law such as law of the sea, international criminal law, international human rights, and international trade law, while areas of international legal practice and engagement particular to Australia such as international resources law, and Australia's external territories are also addressed. Finally, Australia's contributions to the development of international law in areas such as international humanitarian law, and international aviation law are assessed.
Call Number: KC 123 A83 INTEPublication Date: 2017
Cases and materials on international law by
Cases and Materials on International Law is a topical and engaging companion for study, offering broad coverage on public international law and placing disputes directly within the context of contemporary debate. The book contains the essential cases and materials that students need in orderto fully understand and analyse the international legal system, drawing on a truly global range of jurisdictions and sources. Expert author commentary and notes place selected extracts within the wider legal framework and explain the complexities of the principles of law to students.The sixth edition includes expanded discussion of developing areas, including UN resolutions on climate change and international environmental law, new material from the International Law Commission, and coverage of major events, such as the annexation of Crimea, the legal context for Scottishindependence and the UK's exit from the European Union, and the United Nations Security Council's Resolution on Malaysia Airlines MH17.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2016- Cases and materials on international law by
Cases and Materials on International Law is a topical and engaging companion for study, offering broad coverage on public international law and placing disputes directly within the context of contemporary debate. The book contains the essential cases and materials that students need in orderto fully understand and analyse the international legal system, drawing on a truly global range of jurisdictions and sources. Expert author commentary and notes place selected extracts within the wider legal framework and explain the complexities of the principles of law to students.The sixth edition includes expanded discussion of developing areas, including UN resolutions on climate change and international environmental law, new material from the International Law Commission, and coverage of major events, such as the annexation of Crimea, the legal context for Scottishindependence and the UK's exit from the European Union, and the United Nations Security Council's Resolution on Malaysia Airlines MH17.
Call Number: High Use KC 100 DIXOPublication Date: 2016
