Books on Australian insurance law are generally located at KN 290 K1.
Australian insurance law : a first reference by
Now in its fourth edition, Australian Insurance Law: A First Reference is a clear and concise treatment of general insurance law in Australia. It covers all the key concepts associated with general insurance law, including the unique insurance perspective on the duty of utmost good faith, conditions and warranties, causation, mitigation, subrogation and double insurance, and contribution. This text is a valuable resource for law and business students, as well as insurance lawyers and those in the wider insurance industry.
Mann's annotated Insurance Contracts Act by
Mann’s Annotated Insurance Contracts Act, 7th edition provides the full text of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 accompanied by clear and concise annotations, explaining the operation of the Act. Accompanying the annotated Insurance Contracts Act, the work also contains related legislation and materials. Celebrating 30 years since the commencement of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 on 1 January 1986, this 7th edition of Mann’s Annotated Insurance Contracts Act marks an important milestone in the Act’s history. It incorporates all the amendments made to the ICA by the Insurance Contracts Amendment Act 2013 (ICAA 2013) and its significant regime of changes. There changes covered the areas of: utmost good faith, electronic communication, the powers of ASIC, disclosure and misrepresentations, remedies under contracts of life insurance, the rights of third party beneficiaries and subrogation. Various tranches of the amendments came into effect on four separate dates which included the date of assent, that is, 28 June 2013, 28 December 2013, 28 June 2014 with the final amendments becoming operative on 28 December 2015. The 2013 amendments generally apply to contracts of insurance entered into, or renewed, or varied after the respective commencement date. Mann’s Annotated Insurance Contracts Act will assist practitioners, when determining whether the pre amendment “old” section or the post amendment “new” section applies to a particular contract of insurance. Since the publication of the 6th edition, commentary on sections 13 (utmost good faith), 21 (disclosure) and 54 (remedies) have been revised and over 20 additional cases have been incorporated into the annotations including the High Court decision in Maxwell v Highway Hauliers. Mann’s 7th edition is an essential publication for insurance lawyers, insurance professionals including underwriters, claims managers, insurance brokers, loss adjusters , academics and students as it provides a practical guide to the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 with annotations that discuss and analyse the provisions of this Act. Contents Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (annotated) Insurance Contracts Regulations General Insurance Code of Practice Insurance Brokers’ Code of Practice Index.
Sutton on insurance law by
This new edition of Sutton on Insurance Law makes a welcome return to the Thomson Reuters insurance practitioners' library in 2014. The 4th edition builds on the authority and reputation of earlier editions of Sutton while covering the sweeping Australian developments in legislation, regulation and case law since the last edition was published in 1999. As with previous editions, the text contains discussion of the most important English and Australian cases, thereby emphasising that the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) is far from a comprehensive code and that many issues of principle as well as of interpretation remain firmly within the province of the common law. The partnership of Professor Robert Merkin and Ian Enright, under the Honourable Michael Kirby's consulting editorship, gives authoritative structure and detail to this account of modern Australian insurance law. The background and credentials of the authors infuse the work with insights into Australian issues from a contrast and comparison of current Australian and English law. The ordered structure reflects the issues that arise in a modern insurance contract, integrating legislation, regulation and case law around current commercial issues. The clear and practical style makes the work a rich resource for lawyers and insurance market practitioners. Taking a new approach which will assist readers, the authors have attempted to focus the discussion on the practical implications of regulatory and judicial development.
Sutton on insurance law by
This new edition of Sutton on Insurance Law makes a welcome return to the Thomson Reuters insurance practitioners' library in 2014. The 4th edition builds on the authority and reputation of earlier editions of Sutton while covering the sweeping Australian developments in legislation, regulation and case law since the last edition was published in 1999. As with previous editions, the text contains discussion of the most important English and Australian cases, thereby emphasising that the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) is far from a comprehensive code and that many issues of principle as well as of interpretation remain firmly within the province of the common law. The partnership of Professor Robert Merkin and Ian Enright, under the Honourable Michael Kirby's consulting editorship, gives authoritative structure and detail to this account of modern Australian insurance law. The background and credentials of the authors infuse the work with insights into Australian issues from a contrast and comparison of current Australian and English law. The ordered structure reflects the issues that arise in a modern insurance contract, integrating legislation, regulation and case law around current commercial issues. The clear and practical style makes the work a rich resource for lawyers and insurance market practitioners. Taking a new approach which will assist readers, the authors have attempted to focus the discussion on the practical implications of regulatory and judicial development.
Insurance : the laws of Australia by
Insurance - The Laws of Australia provides insurance practitioners, insurance companies and students with a principles-based, practical guide to insurance law in Australia.
This text provides comprehensive coverage and analysis of common law principles relating to, and the statutory regulation of, insurance contracts and the operation of an insurance business. The common law and statutory provisions are dealt with in the contexts of marine, life and general insurance. This second edition covers recent significant amendments to this area of law under the Insurance Contracts Amendment Act 2013 (Cth), including the effect of those final amendments due to commence at the end of 2015.