Books on remedies law in Australia are generally located at KN 395.1 K1.
Remedies cases and materials in Australian private law by
Remedies Cases and Materials in Australian Private Law presents a selection of cases and legislation to introduce students to the remedies available under Australian law. It offers the depth and context required to understand and analyse the application of private law remedies. Developed to accompany the second edition of Remedies in Australian Private Law, and following its accessible and systematic structure, this casebook contains carefully curated extracts from landmark cases, legislation and secondary sources. The selected extracts offer a comprehensive yet concise guide to the application of remedies. Each chapter includes clear explanations of topics and links to material in the principles text, along with flowcharts and diagrams to summarise complex cases and concepts. Review questions encourage students to analyse decisions from important cases and test their knowledge. Written by an expert author team, Remedies Cases and Materials in Australian Private Law is an invaluable resource which enables students to understand remedial law.
Remedies : commentary and materials by
Remedies: Commentary and Materials, 7th Edition provides comprehensive treatment of both judicial and non-judicial remedies in Australian private law. Fully updated to reflect recent developments, this casebook provides extensive coverage of common law damages for breach of contract and tort, of equitable remedies and of statutory remedies under the Australian Consumer Law. The book combines carefully selected extracts from leading cases with expert commentary. Taken together, these materials elucidate the principles relating to the assessment of all forms of damages under common law and statute as well as to money remedies in equity, and the judicial approaches to the grant of injunctions and other non-monetary relief.
Remedies : commentary and materials by
Remedies: Commentary and Materials, 7th Edition provides comprehensive treatment of both judicial and non-judicial remedies in Australian private law. Fully updated to reflect recent developments, this casebook provides extensive coverage of common law damages for breach of contract and tort, of equitable remedies and of statutory remedies under the Australian Consumer Law. The book combines carefully selected extracts from leading cases with expert commentary. Taken together, these materials elucidate the principles relating to the assessment of all forms of damages under common law and statute as well as to money remedies in equity, and the judicial approaches to the grant of injunctions and other non-monetary relief.
Principles of the Australian law of remedies by
This book attempts to correctly increase the status of the remedy. Further, three themes are apparent with the current status of the Australian law of remedies. They are;
the traditional nature of Australian remedies
the waning persuasiveness of modern English decisions on Australian remedies
The rise of statutes
Although these themes are discrete, these three themes do overlap and thee three themes intersect. The first theme with Australian remedies is it is extremely traditional. But it is not frozen but it is quite conservative. To understand this, it is essential to appreciate the current operation of the law of remedies in Australia. A lot of remedies books ignore the current law in Australia, and are structured to present the law as it should be and not as it is.
This book avoids this temptation and present the law as it is. The second main theme of Australian remedial law is its continued, gradual divergence form English remedial law. This book recognises this fact. A major reason for this divergence is the plethora of statutes in each country which are worded quite differently and so reach a different remedial result. Connected to this, is the third theme recognised in this book. Statutes are the dominant source of law today. Essentially, what is the relationship between statutory remedies and the traditional law of remedies? But there is a further issue with this Age of Statutes. This is statutory interpretation.
The importance of statutes today is why this book devotes such attention to statutory remedies. Just discussing the traditional law of remedies, with statutory remedies as simply an addendum, is simply inadequate.
Remedies in equity by
Remedies in Equity – The Laws of Australia is a comprehensive reference for practitioners and students regarding the power of courts to award equitable relief in Australia.
Remedies in Australian private law by
The second edition of Remedies in Australian Private Law offers readers a clear and detailed introduction to remedies and their functions under Australian law. Clearly structured, with a strong black-letter law focus, the text provides a complete treatment of remedies in common law, equity and statute and develops a framework for understanding the principles of private law remedies and their practical application. This edition has been significantly revised and offers up-to-date coverage of case law and legislation, including the Australian Consumer Law. Building on the detailed treatment of remedies and their broad functions across a range of private law categories, the new edition also offers expanded coverage of vindicatory damages, debt, specific restitution and coercive remedies. With its systematic and accessible approach, this text enables students and practitioners to develop a coherent understanding of remedial law, and to analyse legal problems and identify appropriate remedial solutions.
Remedies in Australian private law by
The second edition of Remedies in Australian Private Law offers readers a clear and detailed introduction to remedies and their functions under Australian law. Clearly structured, with a strong black-letter law focus, the text provides a complete treatment of remedies in common law, equity and statute and develops a framework for understanding the principles of private law remedies and their practical application. This edition has been significantly revised and offers up-to-date coverage of case law and legislation, including the Australian Consumer Law. Building on the detailed treatment of remedies and their broad functions across a range of private law categories, the new edition also offers expanded coverage of vindicatory damages, debt, specific restitution and coercive remedies. With its systematic and accessible approach, this text enables students and practitioners to develop a coherent understanding of remedial law, and to analyse legal problems and identify appropriate remedial solutions.