Books on health law and medical ethics law in Australia are generally located at KN 185 K1.
Regulation of doctors in Australia : general and cosmetic procedures by
Regulation of Doctors in Australia: General and Cosmetic Procedures is reference [book] on how the law and the medical profession itself regulates doctors in Australia. It focuses on the regulation of general as well as cosmetic medical and surgical procedures in each jurisdiction. It covers in detail the structure and operation of the National Law; the unique features of cosmetic procedures and resultant challenges for the law; recent amendments to the National Law; up-to-date tribunal and court decisions regarding immediate action powers and professional misconduct; appeal rights under the National Law; and the role of State/Territory health complaints bodies.
Health law in Australia by
Health Law in Australia is Australia's leading text in this area and was the first book to deal with health law on a comprehensive national basis. In this important field that continues to give rise to challenges for society, the book takes a logical, structured approach to explain the breadth of this area of law across all Australian jurisdictions. By covering all the major areas in this diverse field, Health Law in Australia enhances the understanding of the discipline as a whole. The book begins by situating health law in its wider context with chapters on medical ethics, human rights and how the health system as a whole is regulated. It then explores the general principles of health law, including chapters on 'Negligence', 'Children and Consent to Medical Treatment', and 'Medical Confidentiality and Patient Privacy'. The book goes on to consider beginning-of-life and end-of-life issues, before concluding with chapters on emerging areas in health law, such as medical research, genetic technologies and biotechnology.
Pandemics, public health emergencies and government powers : perspectives on Australian law by
Pandemics, Public Health Emergencies and Government Powers: Perspectives on Australian Law explores the multi-layered and multi-faceted ways in which Australia's laws, regulations and law-makers have engaged with the COVID-19 pandemic. What emerges from the 21 chapters from leading scholars in this edited collection is that there have been both successes and failures. The virus keeps evolving and we as a nation need to continue to learn from international developments and what has, and has not, worked in Australia. Law is an integral part of the public health framework that protects the community during a pandemic. A significant component of Australia's legal response to COVID-19 has been to give extensive powers to State and Territory governments to manage the crisis. This has involved imposition of limits on individuals' rights and liberties in relation to quarantine arrangements, border control, lockdowns, curfews and face masks, as well as requirements to use QR codes. At times these measures have been controversial, both legally and within the general community. Our workplaces, our clinical services, our research processes and our legal system will emerge changed after COVID-19. This requires ongoing evaluation and reflection.
Australian medical liability by
A comprehensive handbook on medical liability law
This fourth edition of Australian Medical Liability was mostly written during 2020, a difficult year that provided many challenges for the medical profession, the legal profession and of course for society as a whole in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic.
As before, this book seeks to provide a comprehensive overview of medical liability law in Australia with some international comparisons where necessary useful. The civil liability legislative framework remains central to the book's analysis. Despite it now being almost 20 years since the civil liability legislation came into effect, judicial interpretation of it in many new cases provides new further insights into its effects, as described and these have been incorporated in this fourth edition.
Topics incidental to medical liability law are again addressed, including confidentiality, expert evidence, professional conduct and the role of the Coroner in deaths following medical treatment.
LexisNexis questions and answers : medical law by
LexisNexis Questions and Answers: Medical Law is designed to facilitate both continuous review and preparation for assignments and examinations. This book provides a clear and concise revision guide for each of the major topics covered in the typical health law course. It provides an understanding of medical law in each Australian jurisdiction and gives a clear and systematic approach to analysing and answering problem and essay questions. Each chapter commences with an identification of the key issues, including a summary of the relevant cases and legislation. Each question is followed by a suggested answer plan, a sample answer and comments on how the answer might be assessed by an examiner. The author also offers advice on common errors to avoid and practical hints and tips on how to achieve higher marks.
Law and ethics for health practitioners by
Law and Ethics for Health Practitioners will appeal to undergraduate nursing and allied health students seeking to understand and comply with the legal, ethical and regulatory requirements of their profession. The text addresses law and ethics across eight health science disciplines, presenting discipline-specific scenarios to support students in their clinical decision making. Introduces the fundamental concepts and frameworks of Australia's legal and health systems with clear examples Discusses essential healthcare issues, including advance care planning, child and elder abuse and professional registration Focuses on models of ethical decision making Outlines professional codes of practice and guidelines to help meet professional regulatory requirements Encourages reflection on clinical practice through review questions and activities Includes an eBook with all print purchases Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Student and instructor resources Multiple choice questions Weblinks Instructor resources PowerPoints Image Library
Law and ethics for health practitioners by
Law and Ethics for Health Practitioners will appeal to undergraduate nursing and allied health students seeking to understand and comply with the legal, ethical and regulatory requirements of their profession. The text addresses law and ethics across eight health science disciplines, presenting discipline-specific scenarios to support students in their clinical decision making. Introduces the fundamental concepts and frameworks of Australia's legal and health systems with clear examples Discusses essential healthcare issues, including advance care planning, child and elder abuse and professional registration Focuses on models of ethical decision making Outlines professional codes of practice and guidelines to help meet professional regulatory requirements Encourages reflection on clinical practice through review questions and activities Includes an eBook with all print purchases Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Student and instructor resources Multiple choice questions Weblinks Instructor resources PowerPoints Image Library
Australian health law by
Australian Health Law combines detailed discussion and critical analysis of Australian health law as it relates to individual and public health matters. It offers a cohesive, in-depth examination of health law at local, state and national levels, while also reflecting upon broader global considerations. The comprehensive coverage includes discussion of the underpinning influences and principles relevant to health law, the law regulating Australia's health care system, health care practitioner regulation, key legal principles relevant to the patient-practitioner relationship, and health law in the context of the beginning of life, throughout the life course, and ending of life. Meticulously researched, this book is an invaluable resource for scholars, students and practitioners on Australian health law.
Tensions and traumas in health law by
This book builds upon the successful Controversies in Health Law (1999) and Disputes and Dilemmas in Health Law (2006). Under the same editorship, it is substantially larger (37 chapters instead of 18 and 30 respectively) and correspondingly more comprehensive. It retains the lively analysis and the focus on controversial and cutting-edge problems in health law.The chapters are broken up into 10 parts covering Human Rights Issues; Ethico-Legal Issues; Global Health Issues; Consent Issues; Privacy and Confidentiality Issues; Reproductive Technology Issues; Health Research Issues; Death and Dying Issues; Legal Liability Issues; and Reform and Regulatory Issues.They consider issues raised by new technologies, changing legislation and altering community expectations; by new regulatory processes for medicine and all of the health professions; by important changes to civil liability for medical negligence; by likely changes to the legality of assisted dying/euthanasia law; by biobanking and embryo research.Tensions and Traumas in Health Law covers questions on property in human tissue and on the ethical and legal aspects of the genetics revolution; provides a modern take on 'old' issues such as reproductive law and on refusal of treatment for seriously ill minors; takes account of changes relating to the delivery of health services such as global and public health law policies, and by health tourism; reviews the dilemmas posed by regulation of unregistered health professions, research misconduct and the forensic role of health practitioners; and discusses how difficult cases in relation to informed consent, lost chance litigation, mental harm claims and wrongful birth cases have pushed compensability to its edges.