Books on legal ethics in Australia are generally located at KL 82 K1.
Leading works in legal ethics by
This volume reviews and takes stock of legal ethics, at a time when the legal profession globally is experiencing considerable change and challenges, through a re-evaluation of writings that are in some way foundational to the field. Legal ethics, understood here as the study of the ethics and professional regulation of lawyers, has emerged as a novel and important field of study over the last 50 years. It is also one that displays considerable diversity in its scholarship, with distinctive philosophical and interdisciplinary approaches emerging over the years to underpin and supplement the doctrinal 'law on lawyering'. With contributions from leading and emerging scholars from the United States, Australia, Canada, the Netherlands, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this collection offers not just critical insights into the authors' chosen texts, but a thought-provoking commentary on the current state of legal ethics scholarship and its future directions. In addition to being an essential resource for scholars and students of legal ethics theory, it will also be of interest to academics and researchers in legal theory, the philosophy of law, and applied ethics.
Leading works in legal ethics by
This volume reviews and takes stock of legal ethics, at a time when the legal profession globally is experiencing considerable change and challenges, through a re-evaluation of writings that are in some way foundational to the field. Legal ethics, understood here as the study of the ethics and professional regulation of lawyers, has emerged as a novel and important field of study over the last 50 years. It is also one that displays considerable diversity in its scholarship, with distinctive philosophical and interdisciplinary approaches emerging over the years to underpin and supplement the doctrinal 'law on lawyering'. With contributions from leading and emerging scholars from the United States, Australia, Canada, the Netherlands, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this collection offers not just critical insights into the authors' chosen texts, but a thought-provoking commentary on the current state of legal ethics scholarship and its future directions. In addition to being an essential resource for scholars and students of legal ethics theory, it will also be of interest to academics and researchers in legal theory, the philosophy of law, and applied ethics.
Parker and Evans's Inside Lawyers' Ethics by
Parker and Evans's Inside Lawyers' Ethics provides a practical and engaging introduction to ethical decision-making in legal practice in Australia. Underpinned by four theoretical concepts - adversarial advocacy, responsible lawyering, moral activism and ethics of care - this text analyses legal and professional frameworks, highlighting relevant parts of the Australian Solicitors' Conduct Rules. Case studies and discussion questions offer contemporary, practical examples of the application of ethics. The book also addresses the challenge of ethical action and offers techniques to deal with ethical conflicts.This edition has been comprehensively updated and discusses the implications of advances in legal technology, mental ill-health in the profession and the complexities of government legal practice. A new chapter covers lawyers' ethical obligation to address the legal challenges posed by climate change. Written by an expert author team, Parker and Evans's Inside Lawyers' Ethics empowers readers to identify ethical challenges and resolve them through good decision-making practices.thical challenges and resolve them through good decision-making practices.thical challenges and resolve them through good decision-making practices.thical challenges and resolve them through good decision-making practices.
Lawyers' professional responsibility by
LAWYERS' PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY, fifth edition has been updated throughout. It remains a detailed yet accessible treatment of lawyers' professional and ethical responsibilities suitable for students and practitioners alike. This edition includes commentary on the impending attempts to procure uniformity in statutory regulation of lawyers across Australia. Relevant provisions in the proposed Legal Profession National Law are cited, and the avenues whereby the national model is proposed to be achieved are identified and explained. This edition contains references to the most recent national model professional rules for barristers (which have already seen implementation in four jurisdictions) and to the Australian Solicitors Conduct Rules. Although the latter currently apply only in South Australia and Queensland, they are slated for introduction elsewhere in due course. Changes to professional rules in other jurisdictions are noted, including the new United Kingdom rules, for comparative purposes. As always, the book is comprehensive, with detailed footnoting of relevant provisions and rules in each Australian jurisdiction, and evincing a truly comparative perspective with other common law countries.
Lawyers' professional responsibility by
Lawyers’ Professional Responsibility, seventh edition is a detailed yet accessible treatment of lawyers’ legal and professional responsibilities, suitable for students and practitioners alike.
This comprehensive book contains detailed footnoting of relevant provisions and rules in each Australian jurisdiction. Lawyers’ Professional Responsibility’s content and commentary are not confined to developments across Australia, but where relevant includes comparative coverage from the main common law jurisdictions, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, Hong Kong and Singapore.
This edition includes content and commentary on the Legal Profession Uniform Law, to date as implemented in New South Wales and Victoria, together with the various uniform rules, for both solicitors and barristers.
Lawyering and positive professional identities by
Lawyering and Positive Professional Identities is designed to help law students successfully navigate the demands of law studies and legal practice through the development of positive professional legal identities. It focuses on the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary for law students to be motivated and engaged learners, and psychologically healthy individuals. Positive lawyering knowledge and practice are central themes, with a particular emphasis on lawyers' roles as upholders of the rule of law, as dispute resolvers and as ethical professionals. The diverse range of topics includes lawyering, dispute resolution, ethics, resilience and self-management, addressing the threshold learning outcomes for the Australian law curriculum. Throughout, the authors provide practical, experience-based advice on the development of core skills for legal education and practice. The second edition of this book has been fully revised and offers a refreshed take on the themes of the original edition, reflecting the dynamic and fluid nature of legal education and practice. This book is an essential companion for law students wishing to establish a strong foundation for a successful legal career in the contemporary legal profession.
Lawyering and positive professional identities by
Lawyering and Positive Professional Identities is designed to help law students successfully navigate the demands of law studies and legal practice through the development of positive professional legal identities. It focuses on the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary for law students to be motivated and engaged learners, and psychologically healthy individuals.
Ethics and legal professionalism in Australia by
Ethics and Legal Professionalism in Australia is a contemporary approach to professional conduct and introduces students to the ethics and professional responsibilities that they will encounter in practice. The text outlines the concepts, rules and conflicts relating to legal ethics in addition to exploring the ambiguous ethical aspects associated with being a lawyer. It offers a thematic approach, with each chapter focusing on one theme and how it relates tolawyers' professional obligations.SummaryBL A contemporary approach to professional conductBL Ethics and Legal Professionalism in Australia introduces students to the ethics and professional responsibilities that they will encounter in practiceBL Outlines the concepts, rules and conflicts relating to legal ethics in addition to exploring the ambiguous ethical aspects associated with being a lawyerBL Offers a thematic approach, with each chapter focusing on one theme and how it relates to lawyers' professional obligationsComponentsBL TextbookBL Lecturer Support - Instructors Resource Manual with:BL Chapter SummariesBL Chapter objectivesBL Key termsBL Tutorial activitiesBL Short-answer questions and answersBL Sample essay and suggested list of criterionBL Test bank, with: Multiple choice questions with answers
Ethical legal practice and professional conduct by
Ethical Legal Practice and Professional Conduct is designed to develop an understanding of the core principles and issues specific to ethical legal practice in the modern world, to and equip readers with a mindset to conduct their professional behaviour in an ethical way.
The first section of the book provides a context for ethical thinking and behaviour. It covers the foundation stones of legal ethics theory upon which ethical legal practice can be built. The remainder of the book places that ethical framework into the legal professional context.
Good conduct guide : professional standards for Australian barristers by
The second edition of the Good Conduct Guide has been fully updated to incorporate the significant changes in the regulation of practice as a barrister following commencement of the Legal Profession Uniform Law which came into effect on 1 July 2015. The scope of the guide has also been expanded to cover material integral to the good practice of all Australian barristers. Authored by Ms Róisín Annesley QC, a practising member of the Victorian Bar, this is a guide for barristers by barristers. It is designed to supplement a barrister’s working knowledge of the Barristers’ Conduct Rules and the ethical principles of good practice so that any ethical issues that arise in the course of practice can be resolved swiftly. The comprehensive, illustrative and engaging content ensures that the rules of conduct and ethics are more easily understood. This is an essential tool for all Australian barristers who must uphold the high ethical and professional standards required by the courts and the clients they serve.
Legal practice and ethics by
Each chapter of this useful book commences with a clear discussion of key principles and issues, including a summary of relevant cases and legislation for effective revision. Comparative tables of legislative provisions for each state and territory are included. Examples of written questions with fact scenarios follow, each with a suggested answer plan, sample answer and comments on how the answer might be viewed by an examiner.
Readers are provided with advice on common errors to avoid when answering questions and practical hints and tips on how to achieve higher marks.
The commentary and the questions and answers in the third edition have been fully revised to include current issues affecting lawyers. Recent case law is discussed and State and Territory rules and legislation have been updated to capture recent developments.
Features