Books on Australian public law are generally located at KM 26.
Australian public law by
Australian Public Law provides a foundation for understanding the ideas and principles that underpin Australian public law and develops a concept of public law through analysis of the mechanisms of power and control. Now in its third edition, this text provides students with a theoreticalframework for investigating and interpreting the Australian Constitution while introducing them to the core concepts that are required for the study of constitutional and administrative law.
The foundations of Australian public law by
In The Foundations of Australian Public Law, Anthony J. Connolly brings together the two traditionally discrete areas of constitutional and administrative law to present Australian public law as a single, integrated body. Exploring the themes of state, power and accountability in Australia, the text also makes reference to the law of international jurisdictions, where students are informed by contemporary public law theory. Particular attention is also given to the rise of global public law and the increasingly cosmopolitan nature of the subject in Australia. A comprehensive companion website complements the theory and discussion throughout the text and includes chapter summaries, further readings and discussion questions to encourage extended student learning. Written by a leader in the field, The Foundations of Australian Public Law is a key text for students looking to gain a comprehensive understanding of public law across Australia's federal, state and territory jurisdictions.
The foundations of Australian public law by
In The Foundations of Australian Public Law, Anthony J. Connolly brings together the two traditionally discrete areas of constitutional and administrative law to present Australian public law as a single, integrated body. Exploring the themes of state, power and accountability in Australia, the text also makes reference to the law of international jurisdictions, where students are informed by contemporary public law theory. Particular attention is also given to the rise of global public law and the increasingly cosmopolitan nature of the subject in Australia. A comprehensive companion website complements the theory and discussion throughout the text and includes chapter summaries, further readings and discussion questions to encourage extended student learning. Written by a leader in the field, The Foundations of Australian Public Law is a key text for students looking to gain a comprehensive understanding of public law across Australia's federal, state and territory jurisdictions.
Key issues in public law by
This collection of papers by some of Australia's leading judges and practitioners focuses on issues that have received insufficient attention in the published literature. It begins with four Spigelman Orations, delivered to the Public Law Section of the NSW Bar: Justice Stephen Gageler on deference, Chief Justice James Allsop on values in public law, Justice Virginia Bell on judicial legitimacy and the limits of review, and Chief Justice Bathurst on the limits of judicial review of integrity bodies. Papers on lawyerly skills then follow: David Jackson QC, one of the finest appellate advocates of our generation, on appellate advocacy; and Neil Williams SC, Chloe Burnett and Surya Palaniappan on statutory construction. The final section is a collection of papers on critical but much neglected subjects: Justice Mark Leeming on constitutional aspects of Commonwealth and State application laws; Justin Gleeson SC and Anna Mitchelmore on Chapter II of the Australian Constitution; Bret Walker SC and David Hume on broadly framed powers; Kristina Stern SC and Matthew Sherman on review of findings of fact; and Tim Game SC and Julia Roy on unifying principles in administrative law.
Introduction to Australian public law by
Introduction to Australian Public Law provides an account of contemporary Australian Public Law for students in Australian Law Schools. The book covers current issues such as the recognition of Indigenous Australians as well as key concepts that apply to both the Commonwealth and State jurisdictions such as the rule of law and the separation of powers. Areas of law covered include the role of public international law in Australian public law, Election law, the Ombudsman office, human rights as well as state legislative power and executive power. Each chapter has suggested study questions and a select list of further reading.
Public law in the age of statutes : essays in honour of Dennis Pearce by
Inspired by and honouring the contribution to Australian public law of Dennis Pearce, this collection of essays by some of Australia's most influential legal thinkers explores how the ascendency of statutes over the past few decades has come to influence the development of Australian public law. A range of current issues relating to statutory interpretation, judicial review, delegated legislation, law reform, and the culture of government are addressed here through an examination of the role of courts, tribunals, inquiries, Ombudsman offices, and freedom of information agencies.The collection provides a thorough and topical study of the role played by statutes in defining the scope of government authority and in holding that authority to account. It will serve as an invaluable resource for legal practitioners, academics, students, and others interested in the challenges confronting Australian public law and the regulation of government in "the age of statutes."Contributing authors include Margaret Allars, AJ Brown, Stephen Gageler, Susan Kenny, John McMillan, Linda Pearson, Cheryl Saunders, and Daniel Stewart.
Principles of Australian public law by
This book provides an account of Australian public law with an emphasis on the Constitutions of the Australian states. The most recent legislative developments are comprehensively covered. New in this second edition is a chapter on Freedom of Information.