Books on Australian criminal law and procedure are generally located at KM 526.
Criminal processes and investigative procedures: Victoria and Commonwealth by
Focusing on the Criminal Procedure Act 2009 (Vic), this text also explains the other key aspects of the criminal processes and investigative procedures that are now extant in the Victorian and Commonwealth jurisdictions. The wide-ranging topics include the hierarchy of courts in Victoria, commencement of criminal proceedings, bail, search and seizure, forensic procedures, police questioning, identification evidence, pleas, the parameters of double jeopardy and the jury system. Expert commentary and extracts from case law and legislation are combined to develop the reader's understanding of these important matters. The revised and updated fifth edition also includes: the statutory requirements under Victorian law governing the issuance of search warrants the test to be applied at common law for recusing a trial judge on the ground of perceived bias against the Crown or the accused the issues on which the trial judge must instruct a jury the procedures to be applied by a trial judge where a jury is deadlocked on one or more of the counts charged an analysis of the scope of the prosecutor's duty of fairness statutory updates about judge-alone trials
Ross on crime by
Ross on Crime Ninth Edition is a unique, renowned and indispensable point of reference for all criminal law practitioners. It covers more than 350 terms and principles relating to criminal law practice in an easy-to-use A-to-Z format. As well as a succinct statement of the law on a particular subject, there is a summary of the leading case law in the area. It is the only Australian work that considers all aspects of criminal justice - substantive criminal law, criminal procedure, evidence and sentencing - and which does so across all Australian jurisdictions.
Commonwealth criminal law by
Now in its third edition, Troy Anderson's Commonwealth Criminal Law is the only text that seeks to provide both the student and practitioner with an overview of how Commonwealth criminal law intersects with State and Territory criminal law. It details the general principles of criminal responsibility created under the Criminal Code 1995 (Cth) and contains chapters dealing with the most commonly prosecuted offences. These include fraud against the Commonwealth, child exploitation, money laundering, drug importation, terrorism and corporate crime. Each of these chapters also sets out the relevant sentencing principles applicable to these offences.
Criminal law elements by
The seventh edition has been fully revised and updated with new leading cases from principal appellate courts in Australia and new legislative provisions that have effected significant changes to the criminal law. This includes rape law reform in each jurisdiction, judicial decisions on the extreme provocation defence in NSW, and recent reforms to mental impairment. The book clarifies and simplifies complex areas of law, for example, in relation to property offences and offences extending criminal liability.
Waller & Williams criminal law : text and cases by
Waller & Williams Criminal Law provides a critical yet accessible analysis of criminal law in New South Wales and Victoria. It includes comprehensive coverage of all key principles, combining selected principal sources of the criminal law with critical appraisal and evaluation of its doctrines. Current legal and policy debates in criminal justice are highlighted and comparative and policy insights into legal developments of the two common law jurisdictions are provided. The clear discussion and analysis of criminal law concepts makes it an ideal resource for law students and the authoritative discussion is an essential reference for practitioners in the area. The 14th edition includes new leading cases from the principal appellate courts in New South Wales, Victoria and the High Court of Australia, as well as the latest legislative provisions.
Waller & Williams criminal law : text and cases by
Waller & Williams Criminal Law provides a critical yet accessible analysis of criminal law in New South Wales and Victoria. It includes comprehensive coverage of all key principles, combining selected principal sources of the criminal law with critical appraisal and evaluation of its doctrines. Current legal and policy debates in criminal justice are highlighted and comparative and policy insights into legal developments of the two common law jurisdictions are provided. The clear discussion and analysis of criminal law concepts makes it an ideal resource for law students and the authoritative discussion is an essential reference for practitioners in the area. The 14th edition includes new leading cases from the principal appellate courts in New South Wales, Victoria and the High Court of Australia, as well as the latest legislative provisions.
Indictable offences in Victoria by
Indictable Offences in Victoria 5th Edition, is an invaluable resource for legal practitioners and police, assisting those who have responsibility for charging defendants and for prosecuting and defending them in the Victoria's criminal justice system. The work comprehensively and clearly sets out all matters relevant to the prosecution of indictable offences in Victoria utilising a succinct alphabetical catalogue of all indictable offences. Expert commentary by eminent barrister and academic, Dr Ian Freckelton SC, is accompanied by the text of the relevant legislative provisions. The fifth edition is revised to incorporate new offences from the Crimes Act 1958. It also deals with offences under a range of other legislation including the Occupational Health and Safety Act 2004, the Infertility Treatment Act 1995, the Environmental Protection Act 1970 and the Marine Act 1988. References to textbooks, looseleaf services, articles and caselaw are all significantly updated to ensure Indictable Offences in Victoria continues to provide an excellent practical guide to criminal justice in Victoria, while ensuring the work is also accessible to students of law and legal studies. Indictable Offences in Victoria 5th Edition is an essential resource for anyone practicing, enforcing or studying criminal law in Victoria.
Criminal law in Australia by
Criminal Law in Australia provides a clear and accessible introduction to the substantive criminal law in all states and territories of Australia. It encompasses general principles of criminal liability, the major categories of criminal offences, liability for attempts and accessorial liability and concludes with a discussion of the major defences. Interesting scenario problems with suggested responses demonstrate the application of the law in practice. Although primarily written for students, this book is a useful resource for anyone seeking to understand criminal law in Australia. The second edition has comprehensively updated coverage for all Australian jurisdictions, including the following developments: ¿ Sexual assault and cognate offences, including affirmative consent provisions ¿ Homicide, including supply of drugs causing death ¿ Drug Offences, including reforms allowing for the use of medicinal cannabis ¿ Defences, including self-defence in Victoria ¿ Reforms to the law of complicity
Criminal law in Australia by
Criminal Law in Australia provides a clear and accessible introduction to the substantive criminal law in all states and territories of Australia. It encompasses general principles of criminal liability, the major categories of criminal offences, liability for attempts and accessorial liability and concludes with a discussion of the major defences. Interesting scenario problems with suggested responses demonstrate the application of the law in practice. Although primarily written for students, this book is a useful resource for anyone seeking to understand criminal law in Australia. The second edition has comprehensively updated coverage for all Australian jurisdictions, including the following developments: ¿ Sexual assault and cognate offences, including affirmative consent provisions ¿ Homicide, including supply of drugs causing death ¿ Drug Offences, including reforms allowing for the use of medicinal cannabis ¿ Defences, including self-defence in Victoria ¿ Reforms to the law of complicity
Criminal laws : materials and commentary on criminal law and process of New South Wales by
The 7th edition of Criminal Laws maintains the distinctive features which have established the book as a leading Australian work for 30 years. The new edition features an expanded author team with expertise across criminal law, criminalisation theory, policing, criminology and crime policy. Criminal Laws has been completely updated to take account of important new legislation, case law and policy. It incorporates insights from the latest research on the impact of criminal laws and the associated practices of police, prosecutors, courts and prisons.As one review put it, this text is simultaneously a "textbook, casebook, handbook and reference work". As such it is ideal for criminal law and criminal justice courses as a teaching text, combining as it does primary sources with extensive critical commentary and a contextual perspective.
Criminal investigation and procedure in Victoria by
This third edition covers all significant developments in the law relating to criminal investigation and criminal procedure in Victoria over the last 4 years. This new edition covers: Extensive reform to bail laws (2017) including new Schedule offences for "exceptional circumstances" and "compelling reason", sharper focus on protecting victims of family violence, and updated case law; Reforms to the Juries Act 2015 including new directions regarding identification, post-offence conduct, inferences from silence, and the introduction of "ground rule hearings"; Extensive reform to sentencing law including abolition of baseline sentencing-replaced with the "Sentencing Standards" regime (2017), expansion of offences with minimum sentences and minimum non-parole terms, reform to use of Community Corrections Order. Discussion of High Court clarification of use of "current sentencing practices," Victoria's first Guideline Judgement (Boulton v The Queen [2014] VSCA 342, and extension of "Verdins" principles
Criminal law and procedure in New South Wales by
Hayes & Eburn Criminal Law and Procedure in New South Wales explains and discusses the principles underpinning New South Wales criminal law and procedure. It provides the fundamental source material required to develop a working understanding in both students and practitioners. It examines the substantive law in a procedural and evidentiary context. The authors provide a thorough grounding in the basic principles of the criminal justice system before discussing the detail of their application in a range of discrete contexts. The book also introduces and examines the principal authorities and statutory provisions governing the practice of criminal law in New South Wales. The fully revised sixth edition includes the following developments: ¿ a new chapter on Drug Offences ¿ expansion of discussions on police powers, causation, and criminal responsibility ¿ changes to sexual assault offences as a result of the Criminal Legislation Amendment (Child Sexual Abuse) Act 2018 ¿ a consideration of the effects of the right to a fair trial and the use of abuse of process in criminal procedure ¿ changes to committal proceedings effected by the Justices Legislation Amendment (Committal and Guilty Pleas) Act 2017
Principles of federal criminal law by
Principles of Federal Criminal Law Fourth Edition is a comprehensive examination of the general principles of federal criminal law outlined in Chapter 2 of the Commonwealth Criminal Code.
Stephen Odgers SC provides commentary on specific terms and phrases used in Chapter 2 as well as examples of how each principle may be applied.
As both the significance of the Code and number of offences under it continue to increase, practitioners must contend with its principles and language. This title guides the reader through the principles and makes them accessible both to criminal lawyers dealing with a widening range of criminal offences, and to commercial lawyers who must grapple with criminal penalties for commercial crime.
Criminal law of Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia by
Criminal Law of New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia is a comprehensive text which explains and examines the fundamental principles of criminal law. It is the only book which discusses and analyses in detail the criminal law in all common law jurisdictions in Australia. The book contains a carefully crafted mix of commentary, legislative extracts and case extracts and covers all of the main criminal offences, including homicide, assault, sexual and property offences. Each chapter contains review questions to facilitate in depth discussion and analysis of seminal issues in the criminal law. The main defences to crime, including self-defence, mental impairment, necessity and duress are discussed in detail. The fundamental doctrines which underpin and inform the development and content of the criminal law, including theories of culpability and the justification of the criminal law are set out in a clear and comprehensive manner. The historical, social, cultural, political and normative considerations which underpin and influence the reform of the criminal law are also discussed in order to facilitate a high level understanding of the law. Criminal Law of New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia is an outstanding resource for criminal law practitioners and a seminal teaching resource for undergraduate and postgraduate criminal law students.
Criminal procedure in Australia by
This important text combines commentary with primary sources to provide a contextualised approach to the legal principles underpinning criminal procedure in Australia. It offers a unified and comprehensive analysis of the law relating to policing, criminal prosecutions, pre-trial and trial issues, sentencing and criminal appeals. In addition, the book examines the extensive Commonwealth and state and territory legislation and case law in the fields of police investigation and Crown prosecutor¿s powers and duties across all jurisdictions. The fully revised and extensively updated second edition includes developments in search and seizure, criminal infringement notices, and reforms in the areas of bail, committals and early guilty pleas, jury directions and sentencing (including expansion of Intensive Correction Orders in NSW). Important new cases include North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency Ltd v Northern Territory (2015, HCA) ¿ detention of intoxicated persons; Prior v Mole (2017, HCA) ¿ reasonable suspicion; Lee v NSW Crime Commission (2013, HCA); Strickland v DPP (Cth) (2018, HCA) ¿ permanent stay of prosecution; Kalbasi v Western Australia (2018, HCA) ¿ the proviso; Rodi v Western Australia (2018, HCA) ¿ fresh evidence; AB v CD (2018, HCA) ¿ prosecutor's duty of disclosure; Pell v R (VSCA, 2019) ¿ unreasonableness appeal ground; and DPP Reference No 1 of 2017 (2019, HCA) ¿ Prasad directions. This comprehensive and accessible book is of practical assistance to practitioners, police, prosecutors and anyone involved or interested in the criminal prosecution process, while the contextualised and critical approach to legal doctrine provides academics, students and researchers with reliable guidance in this complex area
Sentencing in Australia by
The Seventh Edition of this national work strengthens its position as the preferred treatment of the subject. Sentencing matters consume most court of appeal work and this title provides a thorough, coherent and much-needed treatment of this complex subject, which involves a wide range of interacting factors.
The Seventh Edition evaluates the many and diverse developments in sentencing matters over the past year, including High Court and other superior court decisions. On the basis of its currency, national scope and authoritative content, Sentencing in Australia Seventh Edition is the logical choice in each Australian jurisdiction, for law students and practitioners alike.
Modern criminal law of Australia by
Modern Criminal Law of Australia, 2nd edition is a comprehensive guide to interpreting and understanding every statutory offence provision in every Australian jurisdiction. The text takes a unique approach to explaining Australian criminal law, emphasising the importance of statutory interpretation, official discretion, element analysis and sentencing, in order to appreciate the meaning and effect of any offence provision. This book sets out the rules and skills needed to advise clients on the potential application of criminal law throughout Australia. Its scope extends to both serious and minor regulatory regimes, as well as the entire contemporary breadth of criminal law, ranging from pollution to public order, traffic to trafficking, and domestic violence to work safety. It covers the common law, traditional code and model code systems, and includes detailed examples from all states. As such, this unique book provides students with the skills to practice law anywhere in Australia.
Modern criminal law of Australia by
Modern Criminal Law of Australia, 2nd edition is a comprehensive guide to interpreting and understanding every statutory offence provision in every Australian jurisdiction. The text takes a unique approach to explaining Australian criminal law, emphasising the importance of statutory interpretation, official discretion, element analysis and sentencing, in order to appreciate the meaning and effect of any offence provision. This book sets out the rules and skills needed to advise clients on the potential application of criminal law throughout Australia. Its scope extends to both serious and minor regulatory regimes, as well as the entire contemporary breadth of criminal law, ranging from pollution to public order, traffic to trafficking, and domestic violence to work safety. It covers the common law, traditional code and model code systems, and includes detailed examples from all states. As such, this unique book provides students with the skills to practice law anywhere in Australia.