Consumer Law
Books on consumer law in Australia are generally located at KN 284 K1.
Corones' Australian consumer law by
Corones' Australian Consumer Law, explains in a detailed yet accessible treatment the substantive rights and remedies of consumers, and the obligations of traders under the Australian Consumer Law
Corones' Australian consumer law by
Corones' Australian Consumer Law, explains in a detailed yet accessible treatment the substantive rights and remedies of consumers, and the obligations of traders under the Australian Consumer Law
Miller's Australian competition and consumer law annotated by
Miller's Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated has established itself as the essential resource on the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth).
Australian consumer law : commentary and materials by
Now in its Seventh Edition, Australian Consumer Law: Commentary and Materials contains an up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of all key provisions in the Australian Consumer Law. Areas covered include the general prohibition of misleading or deceptive conduct, specific protections against unfair practices, unconscionable conduct and unfair contract terms, consumer guarantees and product safety and liability. There is also detailed coverage of private and public remedies and enforcement powers. The careful selection and curation of cases, combined with detailed expert commentary, makes the book an essential resource for students of Australian Consumer Law as well as practitioners in this area.
This edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to incorporate new developments such as: The expansion of the protection of the ACL's unconscionable conduct provisions to public corporations; The increased protection for consumers and businesses resulting from the raising of the monetary threshold to $100,000 for determining who is a ٢consumer٣; The implementation of key recommendations from the 2017 Australian Consumer Law Review, including higher maximum penalties for a contravention and wider powers for the ACCC to obtain information; and Landmark new cases including Gill v Ethicon, ACCC v Fuji Xerox, Moore v Scenic Tours, ACCC v Employsure, Vautin v BY Winddown Inc and Capic v Ford Motor Company of Australia Pty Ltd.
Australian consumer law : commentary and materials by
Now in its Seventh Edition, Australian Consumer Law: Commentary and Materials contains an up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of all key provisions in the Australian Consumer Law. Areas covered include the general prohibition of misleading or deceptive conduct, specific protections against unfair practices, unconscionable conduct and unfair contract terms, consumer guarantees and product safety and liability. There is also detailed coverage of private and public remedies and enforcement powers. The careful selection and curation of cases, combined with detailed expert commentary, makes the book an essential resource for students of Australian Consumer Law as well as practitioners in this area.
This edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to incorporate new developments such as: The expansion of the protection of the ACL's unconscionable conduct provisions to public corporations; The increased protection for consumers and businesses resulting from the raising of the monetary threshold to $100,000 for determining who is a ٢consumer٣; The implementation of key recommendations from the 2017 Australian Consumer Law Review, including higher maximum penalties for a contravention and wider powers for the ACCC to obtain information; and Landmark new cases including Gill v Ethicon, ACCC v Fuji Xerox, Moore v Scenic Tours, ACCC v Employsure, Vautin v BY Winddown Inc and Capic v Ford Motor Company of Australia Pty Ltd.
Annotated competition and consumer legislation by
Fully revised and updated this 2021 edition of Annotated Competition and Consumer Legislation provides an essential guide to key competition and consumer law legislation accompanied by authoritative annotations and relevant case law.
Consumer protection law in Australia by
Consumer Protection Law in Australia provides a clear and detailed explanation of the application and effect of consumer protection and product liability law in Australia, fostering a sound understanding of the legislative landscape in force since the introduction of the single regulatory scheme. The author explains the mechanism under which the federal and state and territory laws operate and provides a ’road map’ to all aspects of the consumer regime, including regulation and public and private enforcement. Key areas such as consumer guarantees, unfair contract provisions and product liability are comprehensively discussed. The book is an invaluable guide for legal practitioners, academics and students.
Consumer protection law in Australia by
Consumer Protection Law in Australia provides a clear and detailed explanation of the application and effect of consumer protection and product liability law in Australia, fostering a sound understanding of the legislative landscape in force since the introduction of the single regulatory scheme. The author explains the mechanism under which the federal and state and territory laws operate and provides a ’road map’ to all aspects of the consumer regime, including regulation and public and private enforcement. Key areas such as consumer guarantees, unfair contract provisions and product liability are comprehensively discussed. The book is an invaluable guide for legal practitioners, academics and students.
The law of misleading or deceptive conduct by
The Law of Misleading or Deceptive Conduct 5th edition focuses exclusively on examining the scope of the prohibition, the consequences of its breach, the applicability of defences and the availability of remedies. This singular focus allows for a detailed commentary on the legislation and lucid explanations of the enormous volume of case law. No other text provides an in depth treatment of the law concerning claims based on s 18 of the Australian Consumer Law and its equivalents. This book is indispensable for the commercial and corporate practitioner and allows the law student to delve deeper into this area.
Unconscionable conduct in Australian consumer and commercial contracts by
Written by Dr Michelle Sharpe, Unconscionable Conduct in Australian Consumer and Commercial Contracts provides legal practitioners with a detailed and practical guide through the often murky and confusing law relating to unconscionable advantage-taking by one contracting party over another.
Contracts for the supply of goods and services form the basis of our modern free economy. The pervading policy of modern contract law is that parties are free to contract for the supply of goods and services on whatever terms they think fit. This freedom of contract may appear to be curtailed by certain contract law doctrines and consumer protection legislation. This book provides a detailed and up-to-date account of the law including current cases and legislation, as well as explaining how the relevant common law and equitable doctrines fit within contract law and the pervading policy of freedom of contract, and the rationale behind the relevant consumer protection legislation.