Finding Journal Articles on South East Asian Law
Articles on South East Asian law may appear in many journals, not just Asian law journals, and not just law journals. To find articles on your legal topic or SE Asian jurisdiction, irrespective of the journal in which they appear, we recommend the following law and inter-disciplinary journal databases.
Law Journal Database
- Gale OneFile: LegalTrac(UniMelb access) Indexing for approx 875 journals, some full text. Multijurisdictional. Coverage:1980+
- HeinOnlineLaw Journal Library (UniMelb access) - multijurisdictional. Includes over 2,300 law journals and reviews - all from the first volume. The best source for older articles.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals(UniMelb access) Multilingual index to 470 legal journals from all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada and Australia. Also indexes yearbooks and published collections of legal essays. Coverage: 1985+
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full(UniMelb access) - multijurisdictional. Contains over 1,200 full-text journals, and indexes and abstracts for hundreds of law journals, law reviews, yearbooks, bar association publications and university publications.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective : 1908-1981(UniMelb access) - indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
- Westlaw UK(UniMelb access) - includes Legal Journals Index and full-text Law Journals. Index of more than 430 UK and European legal journals. Coverage: 1986+
- WestlawWorld Journals (UniMelb access) - from the Westlaw home page, select International Materials, then World Journals from the right-hand menu.
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit)(UniMelb access) - indexing and full-text database of over 140 Australasian and Asia-Pacific scholarly law journals. Includes many articles written about Asian jurisdictions. An Coverage: Index from 1975+. Full text journals from 1995+.
- Asian Law Online (Melbourne Law School)(Open access) - regularly updated English language materials on Asian law, including books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.
- SSRN(Open access) - multijurisdictional. The best source of very recent scholarship. Includes research papers, and forthcoming journal articles and book chapters.
Inter-disciplinary Databases
- BERITA - Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database (Informit)(UniMelb access) - extensive coverage of articles on Southeast Asian countries, including education, business, law, science, and politics. Coverage from 1990 to current.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies(UniMelb access) includes articles on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) about East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide, since 1971.
- East & South Asia Database(UniMelb access) includes 160 full-text academic journals. Topic coverage includes business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)(UniMelb access) - a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Individual South East Asian Interdisciplinary Journals
You will find articles from all the journals below by using the interdisciplinary journal article databases listed above.
- Asian Journal of Social Sciencee-journal. Vol 1 (1973) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Austrian Journal of South - East Asian StudiesVol 1 (2008) to current (open access)
- Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International and Strategic Affairse-journal. Vol 1 1979 to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Critical Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 33 (2001) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Crossroads: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Southeast Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 1-19 (1983 - 2008) (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Journal of Asian and African Studiese-journal vol 1 (1965) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Journal of Asian Studiese-journal. vol 1 (1941) to current (UniMelb staff & student access). Formerly entitled Far Eastern Quarterly (1941-1956)
- Journal of Contemporary Asiae-journal. Vol 1 (1970) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Journal of Current Southeast Asian Affairse-journal. Vol 28 (2009) to current (open access)
- Journal of Southeast Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 1 (1970) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Modern Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 1 (1967) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Sojourn: Social Issues in Southeast Asiae-journal. Vol 1 (1986) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- South East Asia Researche-journal. Vol 1 (1993) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Southeast Asian Affairse-journal. 1974 to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
- Southeast Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 1 (2012) to current (open access)
- Southeast Review of Asian Studiese-journal. Vol 27 (2005) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
Individual Asian Law Journals
Asia Pacific Journal of Environmental LawPublication Date: vol 1 (1996) to current- Asia-Pacific Journal on Human Rights and the Lawvol 1 (2000) to current
- Asia Pacific Law ReviewVols 1 (1992) to current
- Asian American Law JournalVol 1 (1994) to current. From 1994 to 2005 this journal was known as the Asian Law Journal.
- Asian American Pacific Islands Law JournalVol 1 (1993) to current
Asian Journal of Comparative LawVol 1 (2006) to current- Asian Journal of WTO and International Health Law & PolicyVol 1 (2006) to current
- Asian Pacific American Law JournalVol 1 (1994) to current
- Asian Pacific Law & Policy Journalvol 1 (2000) to current
Asian Yearbook of International Law
- vols 1-20 (1991-2014) on HEIN (UniMelb staff & student access)
- vols 16-18 (2010-2012) on open access on the DILA website
- vol 21 (2015) on open access on the BRILL platform
- Columbia Journal of Asian Lawvol 1 (1987) to current
vols 1 (1987) - 9 (1995) called Journal of Chinese law
Recent Open Access Legal Articles on SSRN
Recent South East Asian law print and eBooks
For general and legal books on ASEAN, see the Regional & Comparative Resources page in this Guide.
The Oxford Handbook of International Law in Asia and the Pacific by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: OUP, 2019
Constitutional Courts in Asia: A Comparative Perspective by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: CUP, 2018
Power Broking in the Shade: Party Finances and Money Politics in Southeast Asia by Call Number: KT 2692.6 SACHPublication Date: World Scientific, 2018
Making Copyright Work for the Asian Pacific: Juxtaposing Harmonisation with Flexibility by Call Number: Open Access E-bookPublication Date: ANU Press, 2018
International Security in the Asia-Pacific: transcending ASEAN towards transitional polycentrism by Call Number: BA 355.03301823 INTEPublication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018
Asia-Pacific Judiciaries: independence, impartiality and integrity by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: OUP, 2018
International Relations and Asia's Southern Tier: ASEAN, Australia and India by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Development by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2018
Investment Protection in Southeast Asia: a country-by-country guide on arbitration laws and bilateral investment treaties by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Brill, 2016
Making Disability Rights Real in Southeast Asia: implementing the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in ASEAN by Call Number: KT 2692.4 MAKIPublication Date: Lexington Books, 2017
Sex Trafficking in Southeast Asia: A History of Desire, Duty and Debt by Call Number: BA 306.362095 JACOPublication Date: Routledge, 2017
ASEAN product liability and consumer product safety law by Call Number: KT 2699.4 ASEAPublication Date: Winyuchon Publication House, 2016
Politics and Constitutions in Southeast Asia by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2017
Drugs Law and Legal Practice in Southeast Asia by Call Number: KT 2693.2 D7 LINDPublication Date: Hart Publishing, 2016.
Asian Conflict of Laws: East and South East Asia by Call Number: KC 2030 A75 ASIAPublication Date: Kluwer, 2015
Central-Local Relations in Asian Constitutional Systems by Call Number: KB 183 CENTPublication Date: Hart, 2015
Comparative Constitutional Law in Asia by Call Number: High Use KT 18 COMPPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2014
