Books and ebooks
Books and eBooks
Use the catalogue to search for University of Melbourne Library books. You can restrict your search to include items held in the Law Library. The call number for books on Japanese law is KT 4621. We suggest you start with a subject search on Law - Japan. Access to e-books held by the University is restricted to University of Melbourne staff and students.
Making We the People: democratic constitutional founding in postwar Japan and South Korea by Call Number: KT 4092 HAHMPublication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2015
Non-Formal Education and Civil Society in Japan by Call Number: KT 4657 NONFPublication Date: Taylor & Francis Group, an Informa business, 2016
Medical Law in Japan by Call Number: KT 4658 KAIPublication Date: Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, [2014]
Second-Best Justice: the virtues of Japanese private law by Call Number: KT 4637 RAMSPublication Date: University of Chicago Press, 2015
Going to Court to Change Japan by Call Number: KT 4627 GOINPublication Date: The University of Michigan, 2014
Health Inequalities in Japan by Call Number: KT 4658 HEALPublication Date: Trans Pacific Press, 2010
Cyber Law in Japan 2nd ed. by Call Number: KT 4675.5 YANAPublication Date: Kluwer Law International ; [2014]
Japanese Laws in English: An Index to the EHS Law Bulletin Series by Call Number: KT 4621 BRITPublication Date: 2000
The Origins of Japanese Credentialism by Call Number: KT 4657 AMANPublication Date: Trans Pacific Press, 2011
Locating journal articles on Japanese Law
Locating journal articles on Japanese Law
The following are some useful sources which will help you find journal articles on topics related to Japanese law. These sources include print and online indexing and abstracting services as well as full text resources.
Japan specific:
- Asian Law OnlineAsian Law Online is a bibliographic database of Asian law materials. The database is offered to the public as a free service to assist students, scholars and practitioners of Asian legal systems. It is a collection of English language materials on Asian laws available throughout the world and includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. It does not include newspapers, magazines or unpublished articles.
- The Australian Network for Japanese Law (ANJeL)ANJeL is an initiative of the College of Law at the Australian National University, the Faculty of Law at Bond University and the Faculty of Law at the University of Sydney. The core aim of ANJeL is to promote scholarly engagement with Japanese law. The website includes a variety of research publications A variety of research papers, both abstracted and in full-text, by ANJeL members and associates.
- CiNii Articles (CiNii)Database service that enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Open access.
- JSTORConduct an advanced search on your keywords restricting your search to the 'Law' subject.
- National Diet Library Japanese Periodical IndexFree general index to Japanese legal periodicals. Open access.
- J-STAGE FreeJapan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic (J-STAGE), developed by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), is a free database that publishes digitized scholarly journals in the field of Japan's science and technology research.
General legal databases
General legal databases
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with millions of pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The collection features legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries in addition to its vast collection of current day law journals. Each collection can be searched separately, or cross-searched from the HeinOnline homepage.
The following are general legal databases, all require University of Melbourne login.
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsProduced by the American Association of Law Libraries, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books FullIndex to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text™ is a resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, providing complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Full text is available for over 400 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed, as far back as 1994.
- Gale OneFile: LegalTracLegalTrac provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
- Lexis Advance US Research (International)Lexis is an online legal research tool which offers US federal public laws and the US Code Service, as well as US state codes, federal and state registers and state constitutions; over 900 full-text US legal journals and law reviews; and the Shepard's Citator service. The database also contains material from over 150 countries.
- Westlaw (Thomson Reuters)Westlaw (previously known as Westlaw International and Westlaw Next), contains an extensive collection of U.S. state and federal materials, and selected international content from other jurisdictions including Canada, European Union, Hong Kong, Korea, United Kingdom, and more.
Locating journals on Japanese Law
Locating journals on Japanese Law
Specific journals provide current scholarly opinion and analysis of specific aspects of your topic. To find particular journal titles in your area of interest use the following:
- UlrichsWeb : global serials directory (ProQuest)UlrichsWeb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
- Washington & Lee Law School Current Law JournalAn indexing (not full-text) database of legal periodicals. It contains table of contents information primarily for English language law journals from 2005 onwards.
- Catalogueuse the Library catalogue to search for journals, limit your search to 'magazine, serial or periodical'.
- DiscoverySelect 'e-Journal' and then select 'subject' and 'law'. This will list electronic journals relevant to law. If you are looking for e-Journals in other subject areas, omit the subject selection step.
Journals and ejournals
Journals and eJournals
Note that journal articles are mainly in Japanese.
- Chūō rō jānaru = Chuo law journalCall Number: UniM Law P CHUOISBN: 1349-6239Publication Date: 2004-current
- Hitotsubashi journal of law & politicsCall Number: Electronic resource
- Hōgaku (Journal of Law and Political Science)Call Number: UniM Law P HOGAISBN: 0385-5082Publication Date: 2004-current
- Hōsei kenkyū (Journal of Law and Politics)Call Number: UniM Law P HOSEISBN: 0387-2882Publication Date: 2005-current
- Hōsei ronshū (The Nagoya Journal of Law and Politics)Call Number: Electronic resource
- Journal of Japanese Law / Zeitschrift für japanisches Recht : zugleich DJJV MitteilungenCall Number: UniM Law P ZEITISBN: 1431-5726Publication Date: 1996-current
- Social science Japan journalCall Number: Electronic resource
- Yokohama kokusai keizai h'ogaku (Yokohama law review)Call Number: UniM Law P YOKOPublication Date: 1993-current