Recent Books on Malaysian Law
Criminal law in Malaysia and Singapore by Call Number: KT 2693 YEOPublication Date: LexisNexis, 3rd ed, 2018
Corporate Islam: sharia and the modern workplace by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Cambridge Univ Press, 2017
Constitutions, Religion and Politics in Asia: Indonesia, Malaysia and Sri Lanka by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: CUP, 2017- Defamation principles and procedure in Singapore and Malaysia by Call Number: KT 3677.2 CHIAPublication Date: Lexis Nexis, 2016
Law and Society in Malaysia: Pluralism, Religion and Ethnicity by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Routledge, 2018- Misplaced democracy : Malaysian politics and people by Call Number: KT 3232.2 MISPPublication Date: 2014
The Politics of Islamic Law: local elites, colonial authority, and the making of the Muslim state by Call Number: Bail 340.59 HUSSPublication Date: Univ of Chicago Press, 2016- Regime resilience in Malaysia and Singapore by Call Number: KT 3231.1 P6 REGIPublication Date: Strategic Information and Research Development Centre, 2018
- The tort of defamation: concepts and cases on libel & slander in Malaysia & Singapore by Call Number: KT 3241.2 SINGPublication Date: Lexis Nexis, 2016
Individual Malaysian Law Journal Titles
The Malayan Law Journal contains both law reports and scholarly articles. It is an important source of scholarship on Malaysian law. It is available:
- In print: on Level 4 of the Law Library 1932 - 2014
- Online on Lexis + Australia (UniMelb staff & student access): Malayan Law Journal Articles 1992 - current.
Shariah Law Reports Articles (online on Lexis + Australia (UniMelb staff & student access) 2004 to current.
Note: the articles in these journals are not indexed in the major legal indexing databases such as Index to Legal Periodicals. So to search comprehensively for journal articles on Malaysian law, we advise you to search these journals in addition to using the databases recommended in the box below.
Finding Journal Articles on Malaysian Law
To search for journal articles on Malaysian law, irrespective of the journal in which the articles appear, see the Finding Journal Articles on South East Asian Law box on the Books & Journals page under the Regional Resources tab in this Guide. The databases listed in this box allow you to search hundreds of journals at the same time.
Most online journal article databases begin coverage in the 1980s. To find earlier articles, use the print Index to Singapore/Malaysia Legal Periodicals 1932-1984 (1986)
The CLJ Law database (UniMelb staff & student access) includes an up to date full text Journal Article Index, comprising articles from 1981 to current written in Malaysian Current Law Journal publications and the Legal Network Series. This database can be browsed or searched.
- CLJ Law(UniMelb staff & student access) includes an up to date full text Journal Article Index, comprising articles from 1981 to current written in Malaysian Current Law Journal publications and the Legal Network Series. This database can be browsed or searched.
Recent Open Access Articles & Book Chapters on SSRN
- SSRN eLibraryNaz, Safia and M Ehteshamul Bari, 'The Enactment of the Prevention of Terrorism Act, 2015 in Pursuance of the Constitution of Malaysia: Reincarnation of the Notorious Internal Security Act, 1960?' (2018) 41(1) Suffolk Transnational Law Review
Subramaniam, Yogeswaran and Colin Nicholas, 'The Courts and the Restitution of Indigenous Territories in Malaysia' (2018) 11(1) Erasmus Law Review
Kourabas, Steve and Ian Ramsay, 'Equity Crowdfunding in Malaysia' (2017) 39(6) Company Lawyer 187-196